RYLAND HOMES Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical corporate builder
Superintendent, BuildPro Manager (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVDecember 23, 2017
High expectations, you are expected to do your work in a timely and accurate manner. Office staff is friendly, helpful and a joy to work with. Company is quick to get you anything you need to perform your job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love helping 1st homeowners
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Cincinnati, OHDecember 21, 2017
Great Company. Sales is long hours, great pay, nice variety of floor plans, lovely communities. Additional training. Rewarding working with clients through building process & loving living in their new home!
Pros
Great communities
Cons
Sales grueling long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ryland homes
Pride Staff (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXNovember 17, 2017
a typical day at work greeting customers
I learned the process of selling homes
management was very helpful
workplace culture everyone is included with making decisions
the hardest part of the job making sure the customer and the company is satisfied
the most enjoyable greeting customers
Pros
filing
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace with beautiful product
Site Manager / Real Estate Agent (Former Employee) –  North Wilmington, DEOctober 12, 2017
Loved selling houses but the hours are very hard to manage. I ended up leaving Ryland to start my family. I went back int oRE very briefly after my first was born but it was hard to manage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed Ryland Homes, it was unfortunate I was laid off.
Design Consultant (Former Employee) –  Carlsbad, CASeptember 14, 2017
My typical day was to make sure my scheduled appointments were taken care of.
I made future appointments with new clients.
I made trips to Tile stores for tile selection if we didn't have it in our stock.
I mainly worked solo at a remote modular office.
I attended sales meetings in Carlsbad monthly with other designers and sales teams.
Hardest part of this job was walking away after early 4 years of a wonderful position.
Pros
Medical benefits, worked independently, made my own appointments on my own time line.
Cons
Remote design center, so not all selections of tile, carpets were at my disposal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible company
Construction Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 4, 2017
Management was terrible. Ran business with fear tactics. Management would consistently threaten your job. Saw guys fired because management didn't like him.
Pros
None
Cons
everything. stay away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The product was one to be proud of
Realtor/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCSeptember 3, 2017
I loved working for Ryland. I was a single mom at the time a left and needed to be home on weekends with my both. They have since grow up. The work environment was always encouraging and helpful. Always looking for a better way to serve the buyer.
Pros
People and product
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company and Great homes
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 29, 2017
I can't say enough good things about working at Ryland Homes. They took care of their employees and home buyers. The staff from administrative, to Sales Consultant and Builders are all caring and qualified. Everyone takes great pride in their contribution to delivering lovely homes.
Pros
Many
Cons
Few
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managment not paying attention
Purchasing Agent (Former Employee) –  Corona, CAJuly 29, 2017
I was excited to make a move to Ryland homes but was disappointed that Management let the new employee be so disrespectful and hostile, It became unbearable after a short time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Land Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 18, 2017
Great Company with good benefits and evironment. The company had a very clear direction and gave the local group a great deal of control over their company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Lead Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Inland Empire, CAJune 23, 2017
Loved working there the management was spectacular. I really enjoyed going to work there. best job I ever had employees were so fun to work with. Super great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it here!
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 31, 2017
Great company to work for. Very rewarding. Very supportive of staff. Great pay. Amazing culture. Loved it here! Everything about the company was amazing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company
Division Accounting Manager (Former Employee) –  Englewood, COMay 16, 2017
Was a victim of the home building collapse. Great group of people to work with and great managers to work for. Would return if openings existed in KC area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace
Marketing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 2, 2017
Coordinated organizing & assistance for Sales Team & VP Sales & Marketing. it's a small office so communication is constant. Management was timid and advancement questionable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Purchasing Administrator II (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TX. 78258May 1, 2017
Great workplace culture. Good corporate support and management . It was good to work with construction professionals and the company offered many events and outings.
Pros
Great workers
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
General Contractor in Weatherproofing (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INApril 28, 2017
Ryland is a good company to work for. Never an issue with payment. Always on time and accurate for each job I did for them. Management is very fair and I liked working for them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple job met many nice people
Secretary/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Savage, MNMarch 7, 2017
The main part of my job was filling in for people when they were unable to be at the open houses for their model homes. I would get there and find information about how to open the houses and how they should look. I would get everything ready and then greet people and took down questions as they looked at the homes.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Not a lot of things to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team and excellent company to work for.
Land Acquisition Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Tempe. Az/January 5, 2017
Position of Land Acquisition Project Manager was extremely fulfilling working with a positive and cohesive team. Great company to work for and working envirornment was super.
Pros
One of the top home builders at that time.
Cons
No notable cons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization within company and contractors.
Weatherproofer (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INOctober 25, 2016
Ryland is very organized and the daily operations run smoothly. The homes are well-built, which makes it easier to work on them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressfull job, pay will compensate
Assistant superintendent (Current Employee) –  Chino Hills, CAMay 29, 2016
used to be a good paying company. after merger with standard pacific homes the pay decreased but the responsibility's increased. not worth the stress now.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RYLAND HOMES. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 60 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8