RYLAND HOMES Employee Reviews

Found 41 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team and excellent company to work for.
Land Acquisition Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Tempe. Az/January 5, 2017
Position of Land Acquisition Project Manager was extremely fulfilling working with a positive and cohesive team. Great company to work for and working envirornment was super.
Pros
One of the top home builders at that time.
Cons
No notable cons.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressfull job, pay will compensate
Assistant superintendent (Current Employee) –  Chino Hills, CAMay 29, 2016
used to be a good paying company. after merger with standard pacific homes the pay decreased but the responsibility's increased. not worth the stress now.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many cooks in the kitchen
Construction (Current Employee) –  FloridaApril 19, 2016
This company does not know where it's head it at. There are different bosses telling you how to build a home with three different ways. One from Ryland, One from Standard Pacific and the other from Calatlantic. How can you perform well when you are always having everyone tell you to do it a different way. There is NO communication, NO back up from your management team with your trades, homeowners or workers. They throw you under the bus constantly when it is not even your fault. Poor management!
Pros
Nothing
Cons
No communication/Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
VP customer service Southern California (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAApril 5, 2016
A wonderful career experience

Promoted continued education

Provided career advancement from within

The day-to-day was ever changing and constantly challenging.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
to much coorperate involved at the local level
supervisor (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMarch 14, 2016
Got rid of experience for collage workers just because of money. to much involvement from coorperate at the local level
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the people
Accounts Payable Associate (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNFebruary 28, 2016
I work as a contractor and all of the people I work with are wonderful. There are short activities that happen on Fridays as a part of the company gatherings. Since I am a contractor I cannot comment on the prospects for advancement.

I would definitely recommend working here to anybody who asks.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great direct Manager , positive work enviroment
Design Consultant (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 8, 2016
Worked in the Design Studio with clients. My manager was a wonderful person to work for.
My co workers worked as a team which is important
One of the hardest parts of my job was to get all selections complete and signed off in 4 hours.
The most enjoyable part was seeing a happy and excited client when they left
Pros
Great management and team spirit
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes10No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Birthdays celebrated every month
Model Home Attendant (temp) (Current Employee) –  Dundee, ILOctober 26, 2015
Some good people to work for. Just merged with Pacific Standard. Now called CalAtlantic. Too early to tell what is to become of this new name.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits but stressful conditions.
Sales Counselor (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ColoradoSeptember 8, 2015
The Company has great benefits, but management makes this job very hard to love. You do no feel that you are part of a Team. You feel as if you are alone on an island without a lifeline.
Was this review helpful?Yes16No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Enviornment
Assistant Controller (Current Employee) –  Alpharetta, GaAugust 25, 2015
A wonderful place to work. A very fast paced and collaborative environment with great people and fulfilling work. Home building is fun, challenging and rewarding.
Pros
Flexible Enviornment. Great people.
Cons
Constantly changing focus
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
subcontractor
subcontractor (Former Employee) –  sorunding area of AtlantaJuly 29, 2015
My duties were too make sure homes that were being built, were being built on schedule, and to home owners specs. I learned too take great pride in building homes and customers demands. My co-workers were tradesman in their field while at the same time enjoying learning from them as they preformed their duties. Making sure the home owner was satisfied with their home at the end. The enjoyable part was learning from the many tradesman on the job site.
Pros
The education from being on the job.
Cons
Learning to deal with customers, but was helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work if you want to make money and work hard
community sales manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas-Fort Worth, TXJuly 13, 2015
fantastic company to work for. they give you a free hand to make decisions about your community. mgmt. takes an active role in marketing the community. The company responds to the needs of the buyers.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the Adams Family
Title Examiner (Former Employee) –  scottsdaleJune 11, 2015
very unprofessional, managed by people with no experience in field, although company thriving financially and I was awarded monthly production winner, no raise. Have planned company throw things at co worker events, causing personal injury
Pros
if u show up and kiss but u r good 2 go
Cons
unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Turn and Burn employee strategy
Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 28, 2015
Turn and Burn employee strategy

Company made record profits then gutted the employee benefits, and standard options in homes.

Not about the customer or the employees anymore. The stock holder is the only stakeholder that matters here.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with amazing people
Sr. Loan Processor/Underwriter (Current Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZFebruary 17, 2015
Very fast-paced builder environment with great people and support. You are expected to be a self-starter and be motivated to get as much done as possible.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & Outgoing Atmosphere
Human Resources Manager (Former Employee) –  Eden Prairie, MNJanuary 26, 2015
The most enjoyable part of the job was having a boss who was easy going and had a good sense of humor.

My co-workers and myself worked very hard but there was a good balance of fun and work load.

We had a good management team but some managers didn't have an open door policy which made approaching them a little bit awkward.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours, fast paced, heavy lifting
laborer (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, IllinoisJanuary 16, 2015
Great job, i love working outdoors, i had very fun but hard working co-workers. I love jobs that give me a bit of a workout.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunity
Purchasing/Insurance Administrator (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXJanuary 12, 2015
Enjoyed every minute of the ride. the people were great. The parties were a lot of fun. learned a lot. Acknowledged you work performance and awarded.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to make a good living
Sales Counselor (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCFebruary 19, 2014
Good place to work if you don't mind losing your weekends. Must have a prime location to have a lucrative income.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and professional environment
Purchasing Administrator (Former Employee) –  Midvale, UTFebruary 19, 2014
I enjoyed working with state agencies and sub contractors. I learned invaluabel ways to deal with people in the construction industry
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RYLAND HOMES. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 42 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.5
Culture
3.7