Find companies:
RYLAND HOMES
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

RYLAND HOMES Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and professional environment
Purchasing Administrator (Former Employee), Midvale, UTFebruary 19, 2014
I enjoyed working with state agencies and sub contractors. I learned invaluabel ways to deal with people in the construction industry
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
highly effective work environment
Office Administrator (Current Employee), Orlando, FLFebruary 11, 2014
Everyone is highly productive in this office environment. There is little interaction between coworkers. Everyone has their job and works efficiently to complete their assigned tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good group of professional people. Easy to wrok with and for; enjoyed my time there
Executive Assistant to the Area President (Former Employee), Carmel INJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: full autonomy
Cons: no co-workers; i am a people person
supported the Area President and the Controller inland acquisitions for ten divisions. Built the office and presented a turnkey work environment for my executives. Managed office space and needs

Utilized my people skills to bridge the gap between my IT department being in Arizona with a 3 hours time difference working with outside tech support for – more... various office needs; for example Ricoh tech, Geek Squad, AT&T, Brighthouse. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team and family oriented
Superintendent (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: good salary, bonuses, benefits, perks.
Cons: known to not re-hire
My over all experiences with Ryland were positive. The housing bubble burst caused a reduction in workforce that included me. Would work there again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic place to work
Accounting (Former Employee), Riverview, FLDecember 2, 2013
Pros: management and job description
Cons: darn economy, not ryland's fault
I loved everything about this job! The work and people were all great! If it was not for the economy hitting this company I would have loved to stay on with company until I could have retired. The best Controller there ever could be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job but it consumes your life
New Homes Sales Community Sales Manager (Former Employee), Columbia, MDNovember 1, 2013
* Very satisfying job that is loads of fun but the hours and weeks are long plus you work every weekend.
* Your work and co-workers become your family
* Management has a tendency's to get caught up in the numbers vs. reality
* Great group of people that become your best friends and family
* Hardest part of the job is accepting that you'll never have – more... a free weekend and the days can be very long.
* Most enjoyable part of the job is working with the people/customers to create and build there dreams. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you get paid for the results you sell.
Sales Counselor (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCOctober 17, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: too much paper pushing
just not very good at at the management level. my local manager was great, but the area manager, he was always at odds on what to do with us, always comparing our market to someone else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Young denvironment
CUSTOMER SERVICE ADMINISTRATOR (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILOctober 10, 2013
Pros: learned thne construction business
Cons: cublicle
Warranty Admin - answered phones, managed the Warranty Manager day -
To be part of a team and design a computer program for that company
Manager was a smart man
I have letters from co-workers - part of a team
Hardest part was sitting in a cubicle
Enjoyable was the many facets of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with wonderful people.
Receptionist/Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Fort Myers, FLOctober 2, 2013
Pros: co-workers were wonderful and great work atmosphere.
Cons: real estate market collapesed and we were in recession.
I helped people who were interested in building and buying a new home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closed up shop in Cincinnati
Production Assistant Supervisor (Former Employee), Mason, OHJuly 16, 2013
didn't take care of their people, laid of groups at a time.
checked jobs daily inspection reports. etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always Traveling
First and Second Level Support (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 11, 2013
Pros: in the field
Was in charge of maintaining IT inventory and imaging computers in the field. Loved the people and the work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place i worked for
Builder I (Former Employee), Orlando, FLMay 21, 2013
Pros: best place to work
they are good build good homes and train well have a great scheduling system and treat their vendors and clients well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
New Home Sales Counselor (Former Employee), Orlando, FLFebruary 1, 2013
Opened models, practiced product knowledge and competition standards. Mailed fliers to prospects and previous visitors. Walked homes under construction to ensure production was timely. Pointed out issues/concerns to the construction superintendent. Drove the community daily to ensure cleanliness. Greeted visitors and provided knowledge of the builders – more... history and assisted with new home selection. Requested plan revisions to the architect for possibilities and pricing. Wrote sales agreements, visited realtor offices and did presentations of our products and processes to promote a better working relationship with the realtors.
I learned the more you know about your competitor the higher your sales volume.
Co-workers are essential.
The hardest part of the job was when you were out of product and were trying to sell your new product sight unseen.
I enjoyed bringing families together as a community. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Top Houston Homebuilder
Onsite Sales Manager (Former Employee), Houston TexasJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: beautiful designs, great construction, high income, customer relationship building
Cons: weekends and holidays working/recession and income highs and lows/lack of lot availability
Onsite Sales Manager for Top Houston Homebuilder selling exceptional built production homes over $300,000.00 from contract to close of escrow including finance and all phases of design and construction. Proactive approach works best with weekly meetings with coworkers and construction working in tandem with corporate and management. The best part of – more... this position is helping customers find their dream homes and adjusting to moves from out of state or across town and helping them settle into the new home with new neighbors, new sites, and new beginnings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for and grow with
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJanuary 17, 2013
Pros: there was no ceiling to the amount of money a sales person could make.
Cons: the cost to making lots of money came with long hours.
Ryland Homes Dallas was more than a job it was a family unit. The people were great and the bond last forever.

Risk taking was encourage at the lowest possible level and many times demanded.

Ryland employed people with entrepeneurial spirits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company who puts a lot into there product because they believe in it
Superintendent, Construction Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 13, 2012
one fo the best well ran companys i have ever seen. send there people on training seminars pay them very well and have year end bonus to give back what profit they to have made. great job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy place
Warranty/Customer service specialist (Former Employee), Eden Prairie, MNNovember 12, 2012
Pros: not micro managed
Cons: expectations changed daily
the hardest part of the job was trying to figure out what needed to be done first. Changed daily with little or no direction.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expected to do more with less.
Sales (Current Employee), charlotte ncSeptember 25, 2012
Pros: excellent benefits.
Cons: unstable. poor leadership in charlotte.
Management is a joke. No guidance. No support. Easy to feel left out. Sink or swim attitude from local management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Company as well to work for.
Trim Superintendent (Former Employee), Dundee, ILAugust 16, 2012
learned how to run a scheduled and how to keerp it. Learned alot of. skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun and staff
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Dallas, TXMay 11, 2012
Pros: each day was something different, fun, loved talking with people
Cons: worked every weekend
Managed all phases of the purchasing process, from client prospecting to customer settlement. Vast experience in relationship building with realtors and real estate offices.
- Managed both the building and closing process in cooperation with the superintendents.
- Developed a comprehensive follow-up program to work closely with the clients and the mortgage – more... company to secure financing and follow-up before, during, and after the sale.
- Managed first-time homebuyer and to move up/move down neighborhoods
- Created presale, post-sale and realtor follow-up and marketing program
- Maintained high customer service scores and Ryland Mortgage capture rate
- Set proper expectations for the buying process – less

About RYLAND HOMES

Building the American dream is home sweet home for The Ryland Group. The homebuilder, founded by James Ryan and Bob Gaw in 1967,¬†constructs – Read more