S&D Coffee Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Route Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Raleigh, NCJanuary 11, 2018
Management lets you run your route like it is your business. Does not micro manage you. Your route is as good as you make it because the company is constantly growing.
Pros
Great Management
Cons
Having to load your own truck
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, Co-worker are like family
Equipment Associate (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCJanuary 9, 2018
In a typical day at S&D Coffee, I would make all gift baskets for their Retail Market Center for the holiday season. It's a team of four ladies that pack, wrap, and ship gift baskets to customers or to corporate. I enjoy this job and hate that it a seasonal job
Pros
Discounts, Free tea and coffee every month
Cons
seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Route Manager (Former Employee) –  North Charleston, SCJuly 18, 2017
Bad management at every level. Disrespectful to employees openly belligerent in front of other employees and customers. BAD BAD BAD BAD situation all around!!!!
Pros
Pay benefits
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very miss managed place to work
Coffee Packer (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCJuly 6, 2017
No concern for their employees, treats employees with major disrespect, a very drama filled enviroment fueled by management. Typical work day is very stressful here, the hardest part of this job is dealing with the supervisors and their lack of knowledge of the specific job. Constantly changing work days, so you work every weekend without ot.
Pros
Can't think of any pros
Cons
Work days modified to have employees working weekends without ot
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Company
Logistics Associate (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCMay 9, 2017
Great company to work for. Handled warehouse duties and orders for customers and business facilities. Management and co-workers were like family. Family owned and operated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free coffee was nice
Quality Assurance Technician (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCApril 20, 2017
Great to enjoy free coffee, not so great smelling like coffee when you left the place. Sadly this company works far too much overtime. No good work, home life balance.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
worked too much overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding
Human Resource Generalist (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCMarch 27, 2017
HR was not a good department to work for, they are not very open minded and are set in their ways. The employees were awesome though, I loved working for them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a learning experience on every level
Beverage Shop Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCAugust 13, 2015
Certain Management did not treat employees well at this location. certain benefits were outstanding for employees, company outings, ice cream socials, health prevention.
Pros
excellent health benefits
Cons
Management not professional
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
route driver
Route Sales (Current Employee) –  Charleston, SCJuly 12, 2015
Sells and delivers product to stores over an established route to regular customers, including convenience and gas stations, small supermarkets, drug stores, etc.
• Drives the delivery vehicle and brings product into the store as it is sold.
• Responsible for ongoing rotation and stocking of product on store shelves and displays, and in coolers and vending equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast growing company
Shipping Clerk (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCMay 28, 2015
S&D suffers from rapid growing pains, which complicates the process. Although it offers excellent job security as a result. The work environment is stressful and unfriendly due to lack of management and guidance. Once the company completes its restructuring I am sure it will be a fine employer.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable job
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCJuly 30, 2014
nice work environment
learned customer service skills
ok management
stress of customer compaints
phones
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed my time at S&D Coffee
Route Salesman (Former Employee) –  Greer, SCFebruary 27, 2014
I was at S&D Coffee for 10 years it started out a great place to work great work life balance, then management changed we had to start working 6-7 days a week, no family life at all. Was given an opportunity to work with another company and have more family time.
Pros
good company, good pay
Cons
increase hours no family life
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced job with lots of overtime.
Machine Operator/Assembler (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCNovember 29, 2013
I would constantly check bags of coffee for quality. I would come in and set up my machine according to schedules and product avaliabilty. I learned how to set up my machine and keep it fixed. I also learned what the customers expected and to get the product out in a speedy matter. The management was strict about quality and being on your job but was willing to work with you in some areas if you had personal problems or problems with your job, Most of my co-workers were hard working and we would work as a team, helping each other but there were a few there just for a pay check. The hardest part was working lots of overtime, months on end without a day off. It was hard to even take a vacation day off even though you have 4 weeks to take. The most enjoyable things were the benefits, free coffee, cookouts, and ice cream socials.
Pros
Free coffee, sometimes cookouts
Cons
To much overtime. The money was ok but need family time also. They didn't understand this.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure Company
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Concord, NCMarch 5, 2013
Very secure company and knowledgeable Upper Management however, there is very little room for advancement.
Pros
stable company
Cons
some supervisors lack the qualifications to be in their positions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Collection Specialist (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCFebruary 26, 2013
Good company-only left for husband's out of state work relocation
Pros
na
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy and productive.
Customer Service Phone Operator (Former Employee) –  Concord, NCJuly 27, 2012
Taught me great organizational skills and helped me learn to use the multi-line phone systems and develop and refined organizational skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at S&D Coffee. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 17 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
2.9
Culture
3.3