San Diego Community College District Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible administration
Dean (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJune 20, 2016
Great place to work if you interact with students, but if not you'll quickly realize administration thinks quite highly of their self-bloated importance. Adjuncts, retired profs and staff are treated awful by administrators, who are overly paid for their incompetent micromanaging. Great benefits if you can tolerate the top-down culture.
Pros
Insurance, pension, paid holidays
Cons
Condescending administrators
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encouraging employer!
Senior Clerical Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 8, 2016
Working for the San Diego Community College District is very rewarding, ensuring that the student body enjoys the benefits of our work. I highly recommend this employer to anyone. The benefits were great as was the working conditions. I worked in an office and benefited from interaction with a diverse group of people.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SDCCD fails to meet Veterans needs
Director Military Education (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 9, 2016
SDCCD is more concern with receiving Military Veterans benefits than in serving the Veteran community. The only reason they have a military education department is to win contracts and boost the image of the district as serving veterans
Was this review helpful?Yes7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great exprience, but not enough hours and no oppertunity to advance
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 16, 2015
My duties at the S.D.C.C.D. were opening the on campus Starbucks in the morning and supervising the staff throughout the day. Other duties also included making and serving beverages, cleaning, working the cash register, doing inventory and placing invoices. Always with excellent customer service!
Pros
Set schedule Monday-Friday with $6 daily lunch allowence
Cons
Not enough hours and no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes20No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The school's contract was well managed locally as well as from the central office.
ASSOCIATE DEAN (Former Employee) –  Pensacola Naval Air Station, FLDecember 4, 2014
San Diego Community College District is managed by people who know and understand their business. They also understand management of people through the strong points of the employee. Relationships between the Navy and the District were held close and controlled as not to put the contract in a situation where the instructor found problems with the instruction to be delivered. Great employer.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Environment with good co-workers and Skiill Challenges
Interpreter for the Deaf (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 14, 2013
I have enjoyed working for the College School District since before I was Certified. They took in a Pre-Certified Interpreter, and molded, mentored, and helped me become Certified. I care for my colleagues both personally and professionally, their development and professional growth is important to me, as is their feedback for my professional growth
Pros
Support- from colleagues, administration and support staff
Was this review helpful?Yes20No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an amazing place to work
ESL TEACHER (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJuly 29, 2014
Supported by staff. Every day is different and interesting. The students are so grateful and appreciative. They bring a positive energy to the class. They learn from me and I learn from them.
Pros
THE STUDENTS AND THEIR POSITIVE ENERGY
Cons
TOO LONG OF A SUMMER BREAK FROM TEACHING
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lively place to work for.
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAOctober 29, 2014
I find my work load to be very repetitious and enjoyable. I also have found that this position has taught me more of the inner workings of accounting.
Pros
50% lunch discounts
Cons
Not a permanent Position
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work-Study
Work Study-Student (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CADecember 18, 2012
• Teach Seminars
• Educate youth with resources and provide life skills.
• Created material to show illustrations of good judgment.
• Organize and demonstrate proper student character
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good part-time job
Adjunct Librarian (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 24, 2014
The working environment was great, and I learned a lot about librarianship in different disciplines. The downside is that funding is limited, and so was my time there.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work!
Senior Mathematics Tutor/Supplemental Instructor (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAApril 18, 2013
The co-workers are the most amazing people I have ever worked with. The environment is great, and the people are fantastic.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
ABE/GED Instructor (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 29, 2014
I enjoy the students and staff. Great place and diverse.
Great supportive staff
Diverse community.
Plenty of parking.
Pros
Good hourly pay
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes22No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a fun place to work
Office Assistant II (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAMay 1, 2012
I learned how to handle myself in a more proffesional way. My co-workers showed patience in teaching me proper work techniques.
Was this review helpful?Yes26No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place for work
Instructional Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 2, 2014
As any office work
Many thing
Co-workers they are wonderful
No hardest part
To see many people from different countries
Was this review helpful?Yes14No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this job
Student Services Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 1, 2013
The staff is great. Great benefits. Advancement is there. Pay is great.
Pros
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes25No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really good place to work
Fabricator (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAFebruary 6, 2013
good benefits, nice people, all different types of work, never had problems
Was this review helpful?Yes9No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable employer
Budget Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San DiegoApril 1, 2014
San Diego Community College focused on providing higher education.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No10Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at San Diego Community College District. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.9
Culture
4.1

San Diego Community College District Reviews by Job Title

San Diego Community College District Reviews by Location