San Diego Superior Court Employee Reviews

Showing all 12 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
superior worker
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 29, 2016
excellent job for the county of San Diego. Big and busy court house that has all the departments. Monday - Friday from 8am-5pm were my hours. Worked with attorneys, judges, paralegals...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first real job
Court Services Clerk (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 16, 2016
Working for Superior Court afforded me the opportunity to become familiarized with court documents and filings. I was able to start as a file clerk and work my up to the District Attorney's office. I worked in the court system for a period of about 11 years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Daily Operations
Court Operations Clerk (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 15, 2016
I arrive at work on time, check emails and voicemail messages. Sort through and prioritize my work. Help out where needed and take on extra tasks when short-staffed. I am a team player and work well individually.
Pros
Do not clock in or out for work, lunch or breaks
Cons
Only advancement is through promotions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Official Court Reporter (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 22, 2016
Nice working environment. Court staff very helpful. Court in a very beautiful city and walking distance to the ocean and shops.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here!
Accounting Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Vista, CASeptember 15, 2015
The people here were very frinedly and encouraging. Always pushed me to be better and move up into different departments.
Pros
Benefits and Compensation
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and busy work place
Court Operations Clerk II (Former Employee) –  Vista, CAMay 15, 2015
Typical day at the Court House is busy. Which is normal in this work environment. Loved my co-workers. We were like family. The most enjoyable part of the day was coming to work and seeing my co-workers who became close friends.
Pros
Co-workers, agencys that come in.
Cons
Once you reached the max on your pay no more raises unless you move to a different job title
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with children
Student Worker (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CASeptember 17, 2014
check children into the childrens waiting room
filed paperwork
informed management about incidents
communicated with law enforcement
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Intern (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 15, 2014
Help the San Diego community with all of their legal matters and issues.
Pros
Excellent coworkers
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community service in the Court Family Law Division.
Independent Calendar Court Clerk (Former Employee) –  El Cajon, CANovember 29, 2013
Processing Court Filings, collecting fees, pulling case files,
filing court documents into dockets.
Printing court calendar, court minutes, processing court orders after hearing.
Answering customer questions either by telephone, in person, or by
correspondence.
Co-workers are very friendly, professional.
Management was very professional.
Pros
Benefits, community service
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A well managed and employee focused organization that seeks to improve services.
Special Projects Unit (SPU) Manager (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAJanuary 25, 2013
The court's management strives to provide professional legal services to all filers whether represented by an attorney or self-represented. During California's budget crisis, this task became increasingly problematic. Management concentrated on operational services and did everything possible to support the employees.
Pros
management style and encouragement of initiative.
Cons
budget woes mandated layoffs that cut the staffing fat and the muscle of the organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exhausting, poor training and inept dept. managers
Traffic Division Court Operations Clerk (Former Employee) –  Vista, CAJune 2, 2012
Standing room only at San Diego Superior Court Traffic Division. Management prefer to hire and advance friends and family, preferential treatment and training. Learned that those in court operations can break employment and EEOC laws with no ramifications. Hardest part of the job was dealing with mean, tight-fisted department managers who should not be managing a department or hardworking employees.. Most enjoyable was helping the public with their traffic citations, traffic school and helping them save time and money on their citations, both English and Spanish speaking defendants. Helping defendants attain fairness is why I was forced out of my job by managers of most lucrative $$ income producing division.
Pros
helped defendants resolve their citations.
Cons
mean, tight-fisted managers, out of date technology, poor training.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at San Diego Superior Court. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.5
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
4.2
Management
4.3
Culture
4.4

San Diego Superior Court Reviews by Location