Find companies:
San Diego Union-Tribune
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 reviews

San Diego Union-Tribune Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company if you are in sales
Account Manager (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 28, 2014
Pros: free water
Cons: terrible leadership and horrible comp plan
Commission only plan means the company always wins and you rarely do. No vacation time, no sick days, no 401K, and no commission unless you hit your goals which rise every month.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked graveyard
Custodian/Building Maintenance (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 20, 2014
Pros: with complete benefits & retirement
There's a lot of cleaning to do during graveyard shift.
But it was done with ease because most of the staffs are gone for the day in the office.
I learned proper use of chemicals for cleaning & trained to operate machines, equipment & forklift, too.
It was fun to work also at the publication house with all the noise from the publication machineries.
Management gave full support at the time of reduction of workforce/layoff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Newspaper Carrier (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 25, 2014
Pros: great people and conversation
Cons: hours of operation
Great people easy enviorment alot of fun would go back if i lived in san diego
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
news paper carrier
carrier (Former Employee), Chula Vista, CAFebruary 15, 2014
ITS A PART TIME JOB I START AT 2AM DELIVER PAPERS TO ABOUT 300 HOUSES DAILY M-SUNDAY AND KEEP TRACK OF ALL STOP AND STARTS .I MEMERISED ALL THE ADDRESSES WITH IN 1 MONTH .MANAGEMENT WAS OK BUT SOMETIMES THEY DIDN'T HAVE ALL THE STUFF WE NEEDED LIKE THEY WERE SHORT ON PAPERS AND SOMETIMES THE TRUCK DELIVERY GUY WAS LATE AND WE HAD LITTLE TIME TO DELIVER BUT I JUST WORKED A LITTLE FASTER AND GOT THINGS DONE.I THINK THE HARDEST PART WAS HOPEING THE GAS PRICES WIILL DROP I ENJOYED MAKEING CUSTOMERS HAPPY THAT WAS MY GOAL ALL THE TIME
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A little old school
Marketing (Former Employee), San Diego, CAApril 23, 2013
I worked there many years ago and the passion for peoples jobs was lacking. Many good people. Maybe just a little burned out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work place
Packer/Machine Operator (Former Employee), San Diego, CAApril 13, 2013
Clock in go to your hopper and keep up with the speed of the hopper. Gotta make sure that the inserts are going in the right pockets.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional business oriented.
CAGE CASHIER (Former Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 11, 2013
Pros: always room for advancement.
Cons: working against the clock.
Check in with the Renewal Retention manager. Collected stack of work load (customers) and started reviewing there account balances. Called customers to talk about there accounts. Scheduled an appointment to explain their outstanding balance. If need be, drive to customer's resident to collect their payment. At the end of the day I would process all accounts i have received payment on and adjust there information by logging into the system. Then i would extend there accounts to accommodate their renewal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun place to work. Incredible marketing department and art department.
Account Executive-Outside Sales Retail (Former Employee), San Diego, CADecember 13, 2012
Pros: when owned by copley it was a fantastic place to work.
Cons: new owners
Creative place to work
Great people to work with
Very numbers driven company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work. Has a ping pong table for the employees.
Advertising (Current Employee), San Diego, CASeptember 14, 2012
Help to meet the deadlines.
Co-workers are a great group of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard place to succeed
Retention Manager (Former Employee), San Diego, CAJune 10, 2012
Pros: i'm no longer there
Cons: all the rest.
Circulation is a great place to stall your career. Management enjoyed screwing employees out of bonuses and took particular care to make sure that morale was as low as possible. In my time there as a manager, I constantly fought my superiors on how to take care of employees and got sick of conflicting demands.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working here
Pressperson (Former Employee), San Diego Ca.March 6, 2012
I loved working at the U.T. The pressman were great men to work with

About San Diego Union-Tribune

The San Diego Union-Tribune, the result of a merger in 1992 between The San Diego Union  (founded in 1868) and the Evening Tribune – Read more