Find companies:
San Francisco State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
50 reviews

San Francisco State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for SF State
Lab Assistant (Former Employee), San Francisco, CANovember 14, 2013
Pros: being my own boss
Cons: federal work study
I couldn't stay at SF State because it was federal work study and also because I graduated college. I enjoyed the freedom to be my own boss as well as the skills I learned at this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Teaching Assistant at Digital Design Laboratory
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAOctober 26, 2013
Pros: knowledge
Cons: number of teaching hours in a week
A good place to teach students and learn a lot in the process. Tutored students, prepared assignments and solution materials for classwork. Administered examinations and assessed students performance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Harmonious workplace
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee), San Francisco, CASeptember 28, 2013
Pros: felixible hours, nice co-workers, clear division of work
My job is to assist professor in developing teaching materials and hold office hours. My co-workers are all friendly and easy-going. It has helped me develop my communication skills and taught me how to handle emergency situations that require fast response. I have also learned a lot of international business strategies and structures by doing this – more... job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work, good benefits and possibility for advancement
Assistant Professor (Former Employee), San Francisco, CASeptember 27, 2013
Pros: very good place to work, good benefits and possibility for advancement
Cons: city very expensive
Responsible for teaching 3 courses, doing research and advising students
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good university & good company
Computer Consultant (Former Employee), San Francisco, CASeptember 9, 2013
good university & good company, good people, good management, good benefit
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
--
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAAugust 9, 2013
Tell us about:
•a typical day at work
•what you learned
•management
•your co-workers
•the hardest part of the job
•the most enjoyable part of the job

DO NOT include any personally identifiable information, such as names.
A lot of flexibility between work and classes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience for working with young children
Jumpstart Corps Member (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAJuly 21, 2013
- Worked one-to-one to prepare preschool children from low-income neighborhoods for school success.
- Implemented early childhood curriculum, supported family involvement, and promoted skill building.
- Collaborated with a team of 6 corps members to plan biweekly in-classroom activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for student positions.
Assistant (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAJuly 16, 2013
Works around your schedule and allows you to still be a student while working.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
Computer Systems Specialist (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAJuly 8, 2013
Worked at the SFSU career center, supported around 20 users including the director. Fun place and a learned alot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Time With Chemicals
Instructional Support Technician II (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAJuly 6, 2013
It is a typical day at work when my manager does not come to work. I will take care of his responsibilities, too. In addition, we are already short of 1/2 position in our stockroom. I have learned about to work with people, chemicals and safety. I managed really well in organization all the work. My co-workers are nice and friendly. The hardest part – more... of the job is to take care of gases because gas tanks are big and heavy for delivering. The most enjoyable part of the job is to take care of chemistry labs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The go to Gal
Business Manager, Student Health Center (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAJune 15, 2013
Pros: good hours
Cons: no raise in 5 years
I did not have a typical day.
I learned a lot about health care, accreditation, credentialing, HIPAA, FERPA
Management in an union environment is challenging.
Fun co workers
Being the go to person in a busy clinic you never have down time you are always on.
The students who you are impacting
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok if you like public sector jobs
Academic Technology Consultant (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAMay 7, 2013
Pros: stability
Cons: salary not competitive
If you like stability this is a good place to work...
I like it as it is really close to where I live.
There are not too many career advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close sense of community
Mathematics Teacher (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAApril 8, 2013
As an instructor there, I have a lot of freedom and autonomy. Many of my co-workers are friendly and collaborate well with each other. This experience has developed me as a Mathematician.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pro-Active and self driven communication beyond expectation
Executive Administrator/ Accountant (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAApril 1, 2013
Pros: i was able to gain stronger internal management skills
Cons: the weather was un-variable
In addition to my extensive office experience, I have attended many business seminars on customer relations, and have obtained the skill set to maintain the diplomacy in customer satisfaction with mural and ethic boundaries. I have a background in Customer service, recently as an Administration assistant. In my most recent job description I was responsible – more... to maintain financial transactions inputting relevant data into a computer system, managing the data base files responding to inquires, preparing correspondence and drafts, document processing, accounting, administration support, (HR)assistance, Inventory, Delivery, customer satisfaction.
Coordinating daily activities, determining immediate attention to delegate matters without compromising quality. I’m more than capable to offer administration and managerial support in the proficiency in Microsoft Office programs and Pro-Tools. I’m a strong planner and problem solver who can adapt to change – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great ideas to be learned!
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAMarch 31, 2013
I was lucky enough to work side by side with the faculty who developed and fought for the Community Involvement Center on the San Francisco State University campus. Although he is an English professor, he is more of a philosopher and has dedicated his career to promotion of the learning process through service in the community.
I learned so much from – more... him, felt the most intellectually stimulation compared to any other job, and really enjoyed walking students through their challenging learning process while they volunteered at various agencies in the community. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great exposure to academic research
Computational Chemistry Researcher (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAMarch 15, 2013
The scientific research environment at SFSU is very stimulating. Despite the fact that it's not an ivy league school there are great opportunities to learn and work with excellent scientists.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Support for Tutors
Tutor (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAJanuary 14, 2013
I really enjoyed working for the ETC at San Francisco State. The staff was extremely supportive and provided plenty of tools for both new and seasoned tutors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice People
Office Assistant (Former Employee), San Francisco, CAJanuary 9, 2013
I was only temp there, people there are super nice, chill environemnt, great benefits
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SFSU review
Community Based Internship/Volunteer Coach/Mentor (Former Employee), San Francisco, CADecember 29, 2012
Pros: excellent teaching standards, great learning environment.
Cons: parking!!!
SFSU has created a great learning environment for me over the years of my studies. I have also learned great networking skills with the many aspiring business people, healthcare majors, and other fine arts majors. Most importantly I have gained many skills and experiences when working with the human body and its many functions. It is here at SFSU where – more... I earned my Bachelor's Degree in Kinesiology with an emphasis in Human Performance Analysis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, and friendly environment
Employment Coordinator (Current Employee), San Francisco, CADecember 21, 2012
Pros: potlucks with all the departments
My typical day of work as a human resource liaison is mostly maintaining all personnel paperwork and requests in addition to payroll transactions. Prepare new hires, changes, orientation, terminations mainly for student assistant but also assist my colleague with professional staff. The most enjoyable part of my job is interacting with all our staffs – more... (professional staff and student assistants) and making sure they are all paid on time. – less