San Jacinto College Employee Reviews

Showing all 64 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and interactive
Orientation Leader (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 25, 2016
Boss are understanding and everyone works well as a team. They provide a hefty amount of training so you are well prepared.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer oriented
Enrollment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 9, 2016
•Provided assistance to future and current students including faculty.Added and dropped students from classes, TSI status, transfer and transcript evaluations .Involved with campus student registration, new orientation .Assisted with planning and implementation of commencement ceremony
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
Lab Assistant for Robotics Club (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 2, 2016
I help built robots, assist students, proctor exams, etc. I have flexible hours and it is very convenient to work on campus where I take my classes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College
Full Time Student (Former Employee) –  La Porte, TXJuly 29, 2016
It was an amazing experience and thoroughly enjoyed my time at SJC and highly recommend student here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work a very professional culture.
Clinical Instructor (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 7, 2016
A typical day involved a lot of teaching to future nursing students who were motivated to learn which I found rewarding. The management was very supportive and always friendly. The job was very enjoyable and the hardest part of the job was being pay once a month instead of biweekly or weekly.
Pros
The benefits were good
Cons
none really, I found the job very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well organized College
Adjunct Psychology Professor (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TXMay 28, 2016
Motivated in helping students accomplish their goals by assisting them in every aspect of their lives.

The students there are various ages. They sometimes need that push to get over the hump, so to speak.

Some have never been to college, and San Jacinto College provides that help through various offices on camplus.
Pros
Have a passion for helpng students
Cons
Adjunct Professors have to work several years to work full time
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a good school to go to
Student trainer (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 22, 2016
i volunteered with the head athletic trainer.
it was great, and i learned a lot
there were good days and bad day but mostly good.
people i worked with were nice and ready to work.
the hardest part of the job would be when someone got injured and i needed to know exactly what to do without mistakes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Computer Information Department at San Jacinto College
Computer Information Technology Assistant (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, TXMay 20, 2016
I love my current job Professors and coworkers with who I work with.
A typical day at work is making sure all the Computer in the lab are working, if not then we fix them, and we also repair student computers for free, by the college. I will graduate this fall in Network Admin Associates, and I'm so exited to experience a new job and ready to learn more and more every day.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Director of Housekeeping Operations (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 2, 2016
Good environment. My upper management is very supportive.
I received adequate training to perform efficiently my tasks
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Study
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 15, 2016
I was a student work study in the VA office and would work there again. Flexible hours and easy job. I only worked there one semester.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, TXDecember 27, 2015
Great place to work. Management is a phone call away, although rarely seen. Could improve on communication with adjucts. Students are always eager and willing to learn.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 12, 2015
I feel valued by the institution. You are constantly equipped through training to be engaged with institutional mission and vision.
Pros
Nil
Cons
Nil
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place, great staff, and supportive management
Enrollment Specialist (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 9, 2015
Fun work place with lots of skill development activities offered. Great work hours and vacation on all major holidays. Most of the daily activities are based on helping students so, it is really rewarding. there is plenty of great colleagues that give advice and help with learning procedures.
Pros
no direct management, great pay, holiday vacations
Cons
short work days, not many work hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
Professor- Anatomy/Physiology and Pathophysiology (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, TXNovember 12, 2015
Very nice place to work and grow as a professional. I have enjoyed my 10 years of service and work-related opportunities but it is time to grow by broadening my horizons.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An all inclusive community college
Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee) –  Pasadena, TXNovember 9, 2015
San Jacinto College is a community of faculty, staff and instructors who strive to help every student succeed towards their desired degree and future endeavor.
Pros
learning enviroment is great
Cons
not enough convienent parking
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
this was college
Intern Respiratory Care Program (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TXNovember 4, 2015
this was college.I was a full time student I was enrolled as a student. I was enrolled in the Respiratory Care Program at this college
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I truly enjoying teaching our future.
Adjunct Health Information Management Instructor (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 25, 2015
I enjoy giving back to the community. Teaching is my way of giving back. I truly enjoy lecturing and teaching the students how to apply all their courses to be productive in the work field.
Pros
The hours.
Cons
Nothing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work study positon
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 18, 2015
Great positon avalible for student but long term careers are not typically given, even to those with a history with the school. Loved the atmosphere but was not given a chance for a real future with the company.
Pros
worked with schedule
Cons
not much opportunity for growth within the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment and supportive administrative teams
Adjunct Instructor (Former Employee) –  Houston TXAugust 31, 2015
Great work environment and supportive administrative teams in every aspect. Staff training and learning activities were outstanding. On every level adequate support and supervision was given to ensure success for students and staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed workplace
Mathematics Tutor (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, TXMay 5, 2015
First 3 years of work was enjoyable until management changed. Hardest part of the job was to deal with the manager. She was very rude and made the work environment too strict. Many co-workers left the job because of the new management. I learned great time management skills from this job. Switching between 20 students was a difficult task at first, then I was able to get used to it.
Pros
Love to help people prosper in what they struggle
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 64 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.8
Culture
4.4