Find companies:
San Joaquin Community Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
39 reviews

San Joaquin Community Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
VOLUNTEER EXPERINCE (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAJuly 22, 2014
. Helping at front desk.
. It was a volunteer work
. Helping patients was fun
. Enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Led the Human Resources Division to a center of excellence
Executive Dir. of Human Resources & Leadership Dev (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAJuly 17, 2014
Pros: the impact made and positive changes in the organizational culture
• Effectively managed the integration of a 100-employee outpatient clinic, ensuring certifications and compensation plans were in place for all new hires within five weeks.
• Met 100% of compliance requirements with two external surveys: The Joint Commission (TJC) and CMS, through the implementation of quality processes and effective communication.
 – more... Delivered $440,000 in annual savings by reviewing, proposing and implementing changes in healthcare and dental plans, eliminating an underperforming plan.
• Reduced workers’ compensation costs $389,000, a 70% reduction from the previous year, by analyzing claims and adjusting vendor contracts.
• Created the Center for Management and Leadership Excellence, a leadership training institute.
• Spearheaded and collaborated in the development and deployment of the Living Our Values campaign.
• Led implementation of a Performance Management System, SuccessFactors.
• HRIS/ERP: AS400, SuccessFactors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with the best co-workers
Registered Nurse (Current Employee), Bakersfield, CAJuly 8, 2014
I've been at this hospital for years and I can say that I enjoy it here. My co-workers are great, my boss is approachable and kind. Although some days are "busy' and 'toxic', at the end of the day, I will go home knowing that I made a difference in someone's life whether it be an elderly, a child, an adult, or even inmates (we do get them too). And – more... wherever I may be I will surely be proud of what I have become because of what I learned working in this hospital. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and Professional
Ultrasound Technologist Externship (Former Employee), Bakrsfield, CAJune 4, 2014
I loved my externship experience at SJCH. I got to learn and perform so many different skills. Everyone was friendly and professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a productive and a fun place to work at
auditor (Current Employee), bakersfield californiaMay 15, 2014
Pros: got a job
Cons: not having a job
nice place to work at
you learn about working with patients, chart prep, validation, quilty control,
i manage the charts , getting validation done, qc done and put into the computer
i work well with everybody, help them when needed
the hardest thing about the job is getting the charts from the nurses
the most enjoyable part of the job is working with – more... people and co worker – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great foundation for anyone in the medical field
Certified Nurse Assistant (Current Employee), Bakersfield, CAMay 6, 2014
Pros: works with schedule, great employee morale
Cons: heavy patient to provider ratio
I came to the hospital from a nursing home that had a mundane work routine that didn't offer much room to learn new things. At SJCH there is plenty to learn and each department offers new challenges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice hospital to work for.
Registration and Billing (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAMarch 12, 2014
I enjoyed working here they have a lot of great employees and a very positive atmosphere. The benefits are great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and educational
OB Technician (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAFebruary 26, 2014
I learned so much from my coworkers, it is an ever changing environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing hospital that turned around it quality of care and reputation.
DIRECTOR OF CARDIAC CATHETERIZATION LAB (Former Employee), Cardiac Catheterization LabFebruary 6, 2014
Like working with a visionary leadership team that worked to grow the hospital and provide a good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy ER
Emergency Department Technician (Current Employee), Bakersfield, CAJanuary 28, 2014
One of the best hospitals in Kern County if not the best
People are very friendly
Very by the book kind of hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a very welcoming atmosphere to work at if you were not from that community.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAJanuary 7, 2014
My experience there was regrettable and forgettable. No concept of team work, especially if you were not from there. Nursing assistants left a lot to be desired. Hence the word Nurse assistant, can I get some assistance please? However that has been at half the facilities I have worked at in my nursing career; they are not alone in this description.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Plant Operations Clerk (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CADecember 15, 2013
Volunteer at hospital. Very friendly workers and dedicated to helping everybody.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work
Human Resource Department Assistant (Current Employee), Bakersfield, CAOctober 22, 2013
Has a great opportunity for growth. Created great relationships. Very caring and compassionate work enviroment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my experience.
Scrub Tech (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAOctober 17, 2013
Pros: they love their students.
Cons: i would have loved to do all my rotations there.
I enjoyed how the staff worked together. I loved working with some amazing doctors. My rotation there was truely a dream. Doing a rotation there allowed me to participate in miracles.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Experience
Emergency Dept Technician (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAOctober 2, 2013
Pros: busy
Cons: busy
I worked at SJCH for two years as a ED Tech(emergency department technician). Kind of like a high speed nurses aid. I loved this job! I enjoyed all the experience I gained treating patients in an acute setting. It was high speed, non stop, patient after patient after patiens, but we did our jobs and we did them well. I would recommend SJCH to anyone. – more... Top notch. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The GREATEST place I have ever worked!
RN Staff Nurse ICU (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CASeptember 4, 2013
Pros: $$$$ (california), self-scheduling, discounted lunches, double time if over 12 hrs/day or 40 hrs/week, on-line inservices, omnicell meds, respectful staff
Cons: can't think of one! i loved it there. i would never have left, but i needed to be back in indiana with my family (i couldn't get them to move out there! ha!)
From Housekeeping to Administration, I was treated like a "queen". I have worked a few places in my life, and have loved each job I've had and enjoyed each place I've worked. I have always been treated with respect and felt well-liked. But, I cannot say enough about San Joaquin - it was like I was treated "special" there; they acted as though I was – more... there mom, their sister, their friend. It was the most rewarding job I have ever had in my life, and I am so thankful that I was blessed to work there, with those wonderful people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful experience, learned many different skills
Student (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAAugust 30, 2013
Neonatal Intensive Care Unit & Floor treatments
Assisted in high risk deliveries
Monitored Mechanical Ventilation, CPAP, & High Flow Devices
Adult and Neonatal Bag/mask ventilation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going downhill
Floor RN Med/Surg/Remote Telemetry (Current Employee), Bakersfield, CAAugust 29, 2013
Pros: great co-workers, charge rns and house supervisors
Cons: poor overall upper management
Used to love working here and I still do for the most part. But management has gone downhill in the last year. Many of the upper management has (CEO, CNO, Directors, etc) been replaced in the last year. I used to feel valued as an employee but now just feel like an expendable cog. Everyone I work with feels like our new director is just looking for – more... reasons to fire people and is not at all interested in helping people improve. Very sad. I used to be willing to do whatever was necessary to help the hospital because I felt they would do the same, but no longer. Certainly hope they get a clue and turn things around soon! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steadily going downhill
RN (Former Employee), Bakersfield, CAAugust 2, 2013
Cons: management seems only concerned about "no overtime" instead of overall patient care
Very poor support from management. Unable to spend quality time /c pts due to tons of required computer charting. Threatened /c write ups if you clock out late.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very productive workplace
Document Imaging Specialist (Current Employee), Bakersfield, CAJuly 25, 2013
Pros: employment there looks great on a resume/application
Cons: employee payroll deduction
San Joaquin Community Hospital is a very productive work place. I've learned skills and training there that will be beneficial for my future. A day at work is filled with processing medical records, assisting physicians, and assisting patients with their medical information. Management are great people. They're awesome leaders and very learned in what – more... they do. My co-workers are the greatest group of people I've ever meet. They're supportive in the workplace and outside of the workplace. I think the most challenging part of my job is assisting the physicians with issues. – less

San Joaquin Community Hospital Photos