Find companies:
San Juan Unified School District
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

San Juan Unified School District Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun work place
Noon Aid (Current Employee), Carmichael, CADecember 4, 2014
supervising up to 160 students, utilized strong problem solving skills and dispute resolution. I learned how to build a relationship with students and teachers, my co-workers i work with 3 staff. The hardest part is when you have a student that is really out of control and does not listen. I the most enjoyable part of my job is the kids seeing grow – more... and teaching the kids new things about the world and life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun in the Sun with Children!
Yard Supervisor (Former Employee), Orangevale, Ca. 95662October 14, 2014
Pros: smiling faces, big hugs, and gratitude.
Cons: my children grew up and moved on, as did i.
Myself and three other women were responsible for the safety and supervision of about 450 students, spread out over two lunch periods. I learned patience, listening skills, problem solving, and how to manage a large number of students.
The hardest part was conflict resolution between students at times. The most enjoyable part was being there for my – more... children, building relationships with students, and staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meaningful and fun job
Recreation Aide (Former Employee), Sacramento, CASeptember 9, 2014
Pros: friendly and safe environment
I loved this job, co-workers were fantastic, the children amazed me, we stayed up to par with bi-weekly meetings. Overall a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the older school districts in Sacramento area.
Para Educator (Current Employee), Carmichael, CASeptember 3, 2014
In working for San Juan School district for the past 10 years, I had good times and not so good times. Each of the four school I worked for had different personalities, different principals with different leading styles. My favorite school to work for was Casa Roble High School in Orangevale, California. The teachers are friendly and easy to work with; – more... they made you feel like you were a part of their team. Another school was not so nice. This made my job difficult. When teachers gossip about other teachers and treat each other as the enemy the work place can be treacherous and leave you stressed, Hence; looking for other work. My favorite part of the job was working with students and making a difference in their lives! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I wasn't being given the job that I wanted
Substitute Child Development Assistant (Former Employee), Carmichael, CAJuly 21, 2014
I wasn't being given the jobs that I thought I was hired to do.

I supervised children in the classroom and on the playground.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substitute Teacher
Guest Teacher (Former Employee), SacramentoJune 2, 2014
Pros: enjoying the children and being asked to come back to certain schools, i am able to travel and get to meet different people all of the time.
Cons: short breaks, children who are more difficult than others.
I would go into a classroom and review the lesson plans the teacher has set for me to do that day. I would be in charge of the students and follow the school and classroom rules. I would follow through with each task the teacher has required me to do for the day. I learned that most schools are similar and the teachers require you to be flexible with – more... their daily schedules. The management is fairly nice because I am at different schools throughout the year. My co-workers are helpful and make me feel welcomed. The hardest part of the job is classroom management in the upper grades because once they see a substitute they feel the need to challenge me. The most enjoyable part of the job is being able to create a relationship and speak with the children during our free time during the day. It is very often that I have children come up to me and tell me that I am their favorite substitute teacher. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place With Students
Hall Monitor (Former Employee), Citrus Heights, CAApril 24, 2014
Amazing People To Work. The Students Are Amazing. Definetly A Job I Would Consider Doing Again
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fine
Educator, Guest Teacher (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: supportive community
Cons: little opportunity for advancement, improvement
Great place to work, enjoy El Camino High School. Very positive atmosphere. Great student body, excellent teachers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut throat employment system
Substitute Intermediate Clerk Typist (Current Employee), On-call for the whole districtJanuary 28, 2014
San Juan Unified School District has a large rehire list that makes it next to impossible to get hired unless you were previously laid off in a previous year budget cut. I have been in a few positions that a Director wanted to hire me specifically but couldn't because the rehire list of employees has priority over "new hires".
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Instructional Assistant II (Former Employee), Earl Legette ElementaryDecember 11, 2013
Pros: a very large district with many programs.
Cons: often there should have been less students per classroom..
San Juan Unified School District has many interesting programs including adult education... They tried very hard to meet the needs of their students.. The programs in different areas were as diverse as the people who attended them.. I thoroughly enjoyed my time with them.
A typical day at work included interaction with the students.. discussions with – more... the classes.. There was always a positive attitude when teaching the kids and the needs were met accordingly.
I learned a lot about the individual needs of students... I worked with many students from mildly disabled to very severely disabled. Also with students from preschool aged to adult education.. I learned that people are amazing and resilient.
My co workers were very eager to teach.. friendly and professional.
The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the children grow and change.. I loved watching a child who didn't understand something light up when it all made sense.. Nothing better in life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning to Teach
ECE CDA Substitute (Former Employee), Carmichael, CANovember 2, 2013
Pros: great benefits, lots of room to move up
Cons: job security bassed on year state buget
I learned a lot working for the school district. How to use the skills I acquired at college, the importance of parent and teacher relationships, documenting everything and the inner workings that make the job worth it. What I learn there at the district, I will carry with me for the rest of my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful meaningful experiences
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 26, 2013
I thoroughly follow and implement teacher lesson plans and classroom management to the best of my abilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Bus Driver
Special Needs Bus Driver (Former Employee), Carmichael, CAJune 19, 2013
Pros: lived close.
Cons: hot at times.
My day: Arrive: 6am. Pre-trip bus. Get assistance if necessary at the yard. Any time brake down mechanics were right on time! Excellent dispatch! Arrival time/scheduling was good. Union. God bless.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot and loved working with the kids.
Substitute School Secretary (Former Employee), Sacramento CAApril 11, 2013
While working at the school district, I performed general office duties, data entry, answered phones, maintained the filing system and did a lot of computer work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding work with Special Education students
Instructional Assistant (Current Employee), Carmichael, CAMarch 4, 2013
Pros: rewarding and challenging
Cons: part-time only and no room for advancement
I assist different teachers throughout the day, helping 6th, 7th, and 8th graders in Math, English, History and Science. I have worked at Arden Middle School for seven years and enjoy the challenges that each day brings. The students in my program have a variety of learning disabilities and I have found that patience and understanding has made me a – more... good communicator and educator. Working with a great staff has made my job easier because everyone works as a team to best suit our student's individual learning needs. The hardest part of my current job is trying different ways to deal with students that have 'shut down' or are having an emotionally difficult day. The most enjoyable part of my job is the satisfaction I feel when a student learns something new or finishes a hard project because they can see for themselves that they can complete hard tasks. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant working conditions with ample office space
Fiscal Technician (Current Employee), Carmichael, CADecember 27, 2012
Pros: nice work area
Cons: located away from the district office
Working at San Juan Unified is a true eye opener. I knew very little about Special Education and have learned so much. My co- workers are fantastic and supportive. The hardest part of the job was learning the conplex budget.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful enviremnemt all around!
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), Sacramento, CANovember 14, 2012
This is the ideal place for teachers and students to thrive! Everyone is one the same page and student success is the main priority.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work / life balance if you have kids
Intermediate Clerk in Health Services Division (Current Employee), Carmichael, CANovember 9, 2012
Pros: schedule accommodates having a family
Cons: low compensation and morale
Working in the public sector takes a certain amount of dedication. You don't get a lot of positive feed back or monetary compensation. The culture does not encourage good work relationships and everyone is very resistant to change or innovation
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Instructional asst. II
Instructional Assistant II (Current Employee), Carmichael, CaNovember 6, 2012
Pros: love developmentally disabled population
Cons: this field isn't paid what with how important it is
working with students in a special education enviornment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace fulfilling job
❸ Instructional Assistant (Current Employee), Carmichael, Ca.October 10, 2012
Pros: such a balanced place of work
Cons: it is only 10 months out of the year i work.
A typical day at work is pretty rewarding. The type of children/adults I work with have many obstacles they are facing and when I see accomplishments by them, all the hard work pays off no matter how little the accomplishment is. All of my co-workers are superb, I am very fortunate to have such a fulfilling job as well as have people I enjoy working – more... with. Management is just as great. The hardest part of my job would be the emotional side of losing a student to their sickness. The most enjoyable part would be seeing the smiles of the students faces no matter how hard of day he or she has had. – less