Find companies:
SAS Institute
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

SAS Institute Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, SAS is a most wonderful place to work, but management should be guarded more closely.
Administrative Specialist II/Library Assistant (Former Employee), Cary, NCFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: most wonderful place in the world to work!
Cons: management needs to be watched more closely.
SAS is a most wonderful company to work for and Dr. Goodnight is a truly wonderful man/person. However, some of the management at SAS tends to make their own rules as they go along, mainly, because they feel the employees will be intimidated enough not to complain to anyone in HR or above their manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SAS
Data Processor (Former Employee), Cary, NCJanuary 17, 2014
Working for SAS was an extremely pleasant experience. They truly value their employees and it's obvious. Compensation and benefits are great. Had this not been a contract position for me, I would still be there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High pressure work environment
Sr. Account Manager, Financial Service Industry (Former Employee), Taipei TaiwanDecember 4, 2013
Learn Solution selling at data mining. Focus on banking industry to satisfy customer's analysis requirement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best place to work
Marketing Analyst Developer (Current Employee), Cary, NCNovember 15, 2013
This is hands-down the best place to work. 35-hour workweek, great insurance, and subsidized daycare. There is a lot of freedom given to each person. I hope it continues to grow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cutting edge technology and a great place to work!
Office Administrator (Former Employee), Cambridge, MaOctober 17, 2013
Great Company to work for, and the people are even greater! One of the best places I ever worked, if not the best place!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, free juice and snacks on every floor
Summer Intern (Former Employee), Cary, NCSeptember 5, 2013
Great place to work for, everyone there loves the company and very few ever leave. Just about everyone has their own office. There are weekly deliveries or M&Ms, muffins, and fresh fruit on every floor of every building.

There are numerous day cares on campus and you will often see parents having lunch with their kids. The company promotes health and – more... fitness. There is a Dr. office on site along with a gym with personal trainers, basketball and racquetball courts, swimming pools, softball and soccer fields, and even a hair dresser with scheduled times. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many free employee benefits to ensure mental and physical health
Software Tester (Former Employee), Cary, NCAugust 22, 2013
Pros: gym, daycare
Cons: long hours
Wonderful company. Great Perks. Gym, free breakroom, "mental health days"
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work life balance
Senior Associate Analytical Consultant (Current Employee), Cary, NCMay 6, 2013
Great work life balance. Low pay. In general management is not the strongest either.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with good co-workers
Contract Video Editor (Current Employee), Cary, NCMay 3, 2013
Pros: good people, easy walk to caffeteria
Cons: none for me, other than a bit of a drive on i-40
SAS let's ea. employee and contractor work at their pace and respects their individuality and ability to perform tasks given to complete.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
sales executive (Former Employee), austinApril 30, 2013
office with the best and lastest technology and sales tools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wall street work hours; main street pay
Staff Scientist (Current Employee), San Diego, CAFebruary 28, 2013
Long hours. Slow salary growth and slow promotion cycle. Good culture. Job security is great. Management terrible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best companies to work for if you are complacent in your job
Senior Market Research Manager/Senior Analyst (Current Employee), Cary, NCFebruary 25, 2013
Great work/life balance, nice people, terrific benefits and facilities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful employer with stellar benefits
Senior Solutions Engineer (Current Employee), Matthews, NCFebruary 16, 2013
Pros: extraordinary benefits, work/life balance
Cons: a flat organizational structure, few career advancement opportunities
SAS strives to ensure a productive work/life balance. The most enjoyable part of the job is the level of talent that one is surrounded by. The most difficult part of the job is keeping up with the aggressive pace of new product offerings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful employer with stellar benefits
Senior Solutions Engineer (Current Employee), Matthews, NCFebruary 16, 2013
Pros: extraordinary benefits, work/life balance
Cons: a flat organizational structure, few career advancement opportunities
SAS strives to ensure a productive work/life balance. The most enjoyable part of the job is the level of talent that one is surrounded by. The most difficult part of the job is keeping up with the aggressive pace of new product offerings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management did not give the clients the respect they deserved
Software Application Consultant (Former Employee), 100% travel as consultantJuly 4, 2012
Pros: adequate compensation
Cons: not enough respect for the clients
after hour SAS conversations centered on critiquing the current (and prior) client's system expertise and general retail knowledge. As a consultant committed to delivering value, I found it unprofessional that the conversations did not focus on how we can best help the client.

– January 15, 2013

Unfortunately, that happens in every IT department of every industry. Its a shame that it happens. The people that you speak of often forget that the client could blow THEM away in their own area of expertise.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't believe what you heard on Oprah or 60 Minutes!
Software Developer (Former Employee), Cary, NCMarch 20, 2012
Pros: pretty campus, free soda, free cookies, good benefits, some good managers
Cons: lots of bad managers, cult like mentality, overworked, underpaid
In a nutshell, SAS Institute is just another IT company with benefits that were once amazing back in the late 80s, but are now more in line with most other IT companies. The medical/vision/dental/whatever is pretty comparable to most software companies in the area.
They provide you with this pretty campus that contains such amenities as free soda and – more... cookies (which will result in you weighing more than you ever thought possible). There is a gym on campus, but with the work load, you'll find it tough to utilize. There are cafeterias that serve subsidized food, but it's only marginally better than a school cafeteria in my opinion.
Also, SAS's business model has some weaknesses. For instance, your hiring manager can truly make or break your experience. If you have a bad manager, you will hate every day of your job and there is nothing you can do about it. Bad managers are able to use and abuse their staff with no recourse as long as they don't discriminate for race, gender, religion, etc. Upper level people there are only concerned about getting sued. They don't care about the well being of their workers. I had a bad manager who abused her staff and I complained about it to HR and they were only interested in making sure I couldn't sue them for it. The PR staff love to openly brag about no layoffs at SAS. But there are plenty of managers who can and will terminate you within the first 6 months for the dumbest of reasons. I guess that's the side of SAS that the public doesn't get to see.
And the work/life balance that they love to talk about means they want you to utilize their "wonderful campus". If you want to have a life at your house with your family away from work and enjoy a true work life balance, they act like you are not a team player. You may have heard about the "35 hour work week". That just means they will pay you for 35 hours of work instead of 40, but they will make you work between 40 and 60 hours a week on average with no overtime compensation. In case you didn't catch it from that comment, you'll be making less $$ than other companies in the area. They have technology to allow you to remote in from home. That means you better remote in often to do work from home or else you will get reprimanded.
All of the staff at SAS describes their workplace as the "#1 company to work for" in a Stepford like drone. However, to be quite honest, I just don't see it. I'm very happy to be away from there. – less

Junebug1 – September 4, 2012

SAS "ideal" was from the 80s and early 90s -- it has so changed and become just another I company. SAS does have layoffs -- they just don't have to be reported because it is a private company. And for everyone good manager there are 4 bad ones. Among the division leaders there is pettiness and in-fighting -- and some employees suffer and are pawns in their games and suffer. And the healthcare -- yes, they have it on campus. WHY? Because if you go and they don't think you are too sick -- you go back to work. All that glitters is not gold.

MartyJo – March 25, 2013

Because many of them have been cutting their benefits - particularly medical insurance.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My NPO experience
Bookkeeper (Current Employee), Johannesburg, GPMarch 24, 2014
Pros: i had the chance to learn acounting the south african way
My typical day was laid back such that I had to give myself work to do. When I discoverd that Social Development had pulled out subsidies for the North West Child welfare member organization I took it upon myself to make sure that the outstanding financial statements were done and submitted. I was glad when my financial statements were audited and approved – more... and government funding started coming in – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very exciting and challenging place to work
SAS Technical Trainer (Former Employee), Houghton Estate, GPDecember 21, 2013
Pros: free beverages, subsidized health insurance
Cons: well i think the money
I worked with different clients, empowering many Analysts that grace the large banks, and travelling to to clients and other places, and outside of the country.
I learned a lot of SAS products
I had the opportunity to work with a lot of smart people.
I traveled to Nairobi to set conduct training to a group of analysts, and this included sourcing out – more... a supplier for computers, in a foreign country.
I am very passionate about Statistics, I enjoyed sharing my knowledge with different people and empower them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Employer
XXXX (Current Employee), Marlow, BucksOctober 9, 2013
Pros: work/life balance, office facilities, benefits.
Cons: pay
Work/life balance is a plus, when you are expected to work, you work, downtime, you train and learn at your own pace. Pay is average to slightly below market averages. A privately owned global business, so no shareholder involvement, but this can bring its negatives. Overall a good employer, excellent pension scheme.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Enterprise Intelligence Platform Consultant (Former Employee), Johannesburg, GPSeptember 10, 2013
Sharpens Multi-tasking skills :-)

work on support cases,project work, design work, assisting team members
Follow up with vendors, apply pressure where needed, do various tasks to improve infrastructure

About SAS Institute

Don't talk back to this company about business intelligence. SAS (pronounced "sass") specializes in software used for business – Read more