Find companies:
SRA International
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
162 reviews

SRA International Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company to start career with
Help Desk Tech Level (Current Employee), Djibouti, AFNovember 23, 2013
Work day is 8 to 12hrs..
By being around technical people, learn lot
Management very Task Driven
while co-worker very helpfull
The hardest part of work is getting over the learning curve.
While most enjoyable is having event parties.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Call Center Supervisor (Current Employee), Durham, NCNovember 22, 2013
Cons: no benefits
I enjoyed working there. i started as a customer service representative and was promoted twice. There was opprotunity for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back environment and an easy place to learn
Accounts Payable Coordinator (contract) (Former Employee), Bethesda, MDNovember 19, 2013
A typical day at work work consist of me coming in going to the cafeteria and heading to my office. I would make my daily morning rounds and speak to my co-workers in the Accounting department. Even if I don't work directly with them daily, we made it our business to speak to everyone in the department. I learned how to apply my previous knowledge to – more... a new environment without compromise. I was able to learn how to give a accounts payable quarterly forecast. I loved my manager because she was willing to teach me whatever I needed to prosper in my position, as well as in my field as a whole. I loved my co-workers. Even though I was on a contract they made me feel like I was apart of the team and not just someone they brought in to do a job. I didn't find the job hard at all. If I had any trouble it would be that I was to hard on myself for making mistakes. I had to learn that it was okay to make mistakes just not to many. Everyone worked cohesively in the Accounting Dept. with out back lash or blame. We all took responsibility for everything as a team and tried to fix problems as a team when it was necessary – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smart people, flexible schedule, hard work
Analyst (Current Employee), Arlington, VANovember 12, 2013
Pros: relatively flexible schedule
Cons: cut benefits, difficult to get a promotion or raise
I have a great deal of freedom to learn the skills I want to learn while at work. Occasionally I feel overworked and underpaid, but that is true for almost any employer. Benefits were cut and promotions are difficult if not impossible to find. My coworkers are very intelligent and it's great to work on a team with really smart people who can teach me – more... something new every day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
System Analyst (Former Employee), Fairfax, VANovember 6, 2013
Pros: great management
Cons: location for me
Learned quite a bit during my employment. My manager was great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Company I have ever worked for; Make them your VERY last resort
Application Systems Analyst (Former Employee), Greater DC AreaOctober 30, 2013
Pros: coworkers, project
Cons: unstable, untrustworthy, poor management choices, unethical, declining benefits, no advancement, employees put last, unhealthy working environment, declining flexibility
In my experience with SRA I was lied to about benefits before accepting the position, underpaid based on industry standards, and overall treated more like a piece of furniture they acquired when they picked up the contract I was on rather than a person. By the time I left the company so many other people had left (some to take positions which paid less) – more... it had become so common place for people to leave that management didn’t even make sure someone was there to see me out on my last day, or ensure I turned back in all company property (which I did on my own).
SRA did not budget for any overtime on a contract where people had been known to have to work 24 hour shifts (on particular occasions) and when asked about what happened when there was a need to work over the Project Manager referred to those hours as “charity”.
While I LOVED my job and my teammates I eventually became beaten down to the point that it became necessary for my own health and wellbeing to seek employment elsewhere. I would discourage anyone from accepting a position with SRA while ANY other options are available. Their general benefits were not terrible when I started but they chipped away at them pretty steadily leaving all of us wondering on a daily basis what they would take away next. Those worth mentioning included a salary adjustment written into our contracts, then floating Holidays, and the amount of vacation you could hold (who wants to pay that out when you leave?).
I am actually surprised by the amount of positive reviews posted here, as I do not know one person who has had a positive experience working with SRA… – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting working with a wide range of patients and love the traveling.
home visit agent (Former Employee), MississippiOctober 29, 2013
Pros: great learning experiences
Cons: study ended
This was a study done for HEIHS when the oil spill happened on the coastal areas
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working for SRA
Assistant (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 25, 2013
I had one of the best program managers, who was not just a great mentor but a good friend as well. Enjoyed my time there and learned so much about leadership.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative Environment and Culture
Manager (Former Employee), VirginiaOctober 23, 2013
Cons: work environment, corporate culture, lack of accountability
I had heard great things about SRA before joining the company and realized during the first week I had made a clear mistake. The general environment is negative and just about every employee I had met the first week told me they were worried about losing their job or complained about multiple aspects of the job that I quickly grew concerned about my – more... choice of employment as having worked for multiple large defense and government contractors over the years I had never encountered such a poor outlook by mass employees. Poor management, unrealistic strategic goals for the staff, low compensation compared to industry, and a culture of zero accountability leads to an eventual disaster. Go down the street to somewhere else if you have the ability to do so. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paid well, but not advancement
Document Control Specialist (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 22, 2013
I have worked for this company for five years, but was told with only a two-week notice that my contract assignment has come to an end. I do not think this is adequate time to secure another job in today's economy. This company was also not the most supportive when it came to taking time off when my child was sick.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paid well, but not advancement
Document Control Specialist (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 22, 2013
I have worked for this company for five years, but was told with only a two-week notice that my contract assignment has come to an end. I do not think this is adequate time to secure another job in today's economy. This company was also not the most supportive when it came to taking time off when my child was sick.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Go elsewhere
Manager (Current Employee), DcOctober 14, 2013
I am currently a manager on one of their contracts. Here is a quick rundown:

- they keep slashing benefits from 401k contributions, to leave caps, to holiday hours etc
- they are losing tons of work
- they pay low... Below market about 20 percent, bonuses and decent raises are like a blue moon even for high performers ie they are broke!
-it's impossible – more... to get real training outside of their internal junk brown bags
- its impossible to get them to invest and approve to fund certifications
- its hard to motivate staff when sra does nothing for staff
- they are not growing and you will probably never get a promotion or get a chance for a new job in the company
- a lot of senior managers are not educated so for someone like me with a phd, it blows my mind that my manager has a high school degree. Wow.
- what's good-- the people I hired and the general flexibility of hours and the customer we serve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Using you for money and contracts
Senior Operations Research Engineer (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 11, 2013
Pros: allowed/encouraged to work from home to help lower company expenses
Cons: body shop. contract ends, you are laid off.
In order to win a contract, they convinced me to leave my job with false promises. No internal networking or collaboration. When contracted ended, I was laid off with little assistance or desire to help find me additional work. Body shop only looking for additional ways to make money...employees come second. Other members of my team were also laid off – more... with no assistance, even with over 10 years at SRA. Do not recommend – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent company. I would rate SRA as One of the Best Companies in the World
Test Team Lead (Current Employee), Arlington, VAOctober 9, 2013
Pros: honesty and services
SRA is one of the Best Companies in the Word. They stress a culture of "honesty and services" and have process and procedures in place to ensure that that supports this culture. While employed at SRA, have been provided many opportunities in various areas of IT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
EDS
Network Engineer (Former Employee), Arlington, VAOctober 4, 2013
EDS catalogued its services into three service portfolios; Infrastructure, Applications, and Business Process Outsourcing.[7] Infrastructure services includes maintaining the operation of part or all of a client's computer and communications infrastructure, such as networks, mainframes, "midrange" and Web servers, desktops and Laptops, and printers. – more... Applications services involves the developing, integrating, and/or maintaining of applications software for clients. Business process outsourcing includes performing a business function for a client, like payroll, call centers, insurance claims processing, and so forth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great place to work
Information Assurance Analyst (Current Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 30, 2013
Face-paced environment. Great employer, wonderful co-workers. the company continues to strive to meet and exceed its mission, goals, and objectives,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and exciting company to work for.
Senior Member of the Professional Staff - Analyst (Current Employee), O'Fallon, ILSeptember 29, 2013
I thoroughly enjoy working for SRA international. They care about their people and strive to make the company profitable for all employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was assigned to the DHS Intelligence Group project in NY, NY, and throughly enjoyed both the assignment & group I was working with.
Intelligence Research Specialist (Former Employee), Fairfax, VASeptember 21, 2013
I spent my days reviewing the intelligence reports provided by the various intelligence agencies & departments which make up the intelligence community, and prepared briefings for the NY Field Intelligence Group management in both New York and WDC. I also was involved in the debriefing of individuals from those countries involved in drug smuggling, – more... human trafficking and terrorist activities, who had entered the US illegally in an effort to obtain information regarding these operations. Management was extremely supportive and my co-workers were for the most part enjoyable to work with. The hardest part of the job was, after having reviewed all the available information and recommending a course of action, not having the authority to follow through based upon the intelligence provided to those who had the authority to do so. The most enjoyable part to the job was when proactive measures were taken based upon something I had recommended to my superiors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SRA
Sr. Systems Engineer (Current Employee), Stuttgart, BWSeptember 20, 2013
SRA is a fine organization. I would work for them again. Although I'm not sure why a 'review' such as this is required...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Architect
Architect (Former Employee), Fairfax, VASeptember 14, 2013
Pros: great coworkers, i hope to hire them on to my current team and company
Cons: incompetent hr, inexperienced and/or bullying managers, inequitable work environment, no room for career growth
This is not an optimum career move for intelligence professionals. They promise a lot to attract talented people but the actual work experience is underwhelming and not commensurate to the job description. The intelligence business directorates have different benefits compared to the rest of SRA corporate and erodes morale, because it's not advertised – more... to the rest of the company. If it were advertised, it could incentivize other employees for career change but they prefer a don't ask and don't tell approach. Communication from corporate is executed in haste without coordination with business leaders for input or awareness. As a result, significant benefit changes were implemented within two weeks, without clear explanation about how the new business processes/policies met employment law compliance. The maturity and training of the leadership is lacking. A project manager expected me to use my training benefits, that are reserved at my request for professional development, to take a training on ill-advised tool that the customer purchased, without consulting me first. It's not a benefit, if my project manager is deciding for me what it is to be used for (and expect me to pay it back if I left within a year)? It even came up during my performance review. Lastly if you are disabled or need to take Family Medical Leave for an extended period, do not expect this company to support you. Expect that business developers and managers will try every trick, gimmick possible to trash your performance and professional reputation to fire you before they allow you to use your accrued paid time off and hurt their revenue. They would rather be sued first, or perhaps twice before conceding. – less