SABIC Innovative Plastics Employee Reviews

Found 44 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a coop it was a great place to work
Reliability Co-op in the Maintenance Department (Former Employee) –  Bay Saint Louis, MSSeptember 25, 2017
Great place to start a career but they do not hire often and it is hard to get in. Every one is very friendly and the culture is great. I would go back anytime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work
Finance, Accountant (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 10, 2017
Learned SAP and Oracle
Culture is relaxed
Most enjoyable is helping people and working as team
Career improvement is slow- have to be in job for 18 months, internships do not count towards time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work with perfect work-life balance
Scientist/Product Developer (Former Employee) –  Evansville, INSeptember 8, 2017
SABIC is a good place to work with perfect work-life balance. Provides lot of opportunities and training for personal as well as professional growth within the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean place to work
landfill operator (Former Employee) –  Washington, WVSeptember 5, 2017
ok place to work just not enough people available to help. skilled people, training available if interested and willing to take. offered on company time
Pros
flex time
Cons
not enough help
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great place to work and advance
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Huntersville, NCAugust 28, 2017
Since SAP implementation, the parent company has asserted itself into an industry about which it knows nothing. They are highly micro-managing and controlling, and execute strategies based on the moods of somebody in Riyadh, rather than on quantitative, sound financial analysis - completely different than how we have done things historically.
There are some of the best people I have ever worked with at Innovative Plastics, and it would be a pleasure to work with them again one day.
Pros
Great benefits and compensation
Cons
Over-bearing, controlling corporate management that stifles innovation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has some really good people working there.
Area Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mount Vernon, INAugust 17, 2017
Really enjoyed my experience at Sabic. Swing shift isn't for everyone and it really takes a toll on family life. The atmosphere is a rather fun place to work however the plant is getting old and in despair
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sabic worker
Vertimix Blend Tech (Former Employee) –  Mount Vernon, INAugust 10, 2017
Not great it was a very stressfull work envirorment with very little saftey put into place it was poorly managed and the hours required to work were absurd
Pros
breaks whenever
Cons
terrible work enviroment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dicey
Supply Chain Planning Manager (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCJuly 23, 2017
Concerned about moving the business from Huntersville NC to Houston. We have an army of temps, mgmt, (outside Huntersville), will not allow full time hires - a signal we're moving.

SAP implementation went horrible, but management is supporting getting it right

The people I work with in Huntersville and around the globe are great, it's typical manufacturing though - stressful.
Pros
Can be laid back
Cons
unstable, worried we'll have to relocate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment but not the safest
Warehouse Manager (Former Employee) –  Syracuse, NYFebruary 28, 2017
Working alone was the the only good thing. Besides the guys cutting me slack for mistakes they didn't know were mistakes since I was the only warehouse worker, there were frustrating circumstances everyday. Made the best of it. The fellas there had their hearts in the right place nonetheless.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They were a really good company to coop for
Reliability Co-op in the Maintenance Department (Former Employee) –  Bay Saint Louis, MSFebruary 23, 2017
Would go in and do work from 7-3:30 and the people that I worked with were very helpful. They pay their coop well and i liked it a lot
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressive culture room for rotation
Supply Chain Analyst (Current Employee) –  HuntersvilleJanuary 23, 2017
I enjoyed my time with SABIC. My managers were very helpful and happy to allow me to work alongside different teams while I was employed. This allowed me to gain a deeper understanding of what it takes to run an efficient supply chain.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Head in the other direction
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burkville, ALDecember 28, 2016
Company has a very racist uderculture. They don't pay well and expect a lot from their employees. The better you are, the more work they want to give you and the less the pay you. If you are a minority, don't expect much here
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
INFO SECURITY ANALYST II (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCNovember 15, 2016
It was a great place to work I enjoyed most days. I had an internship with the supply chain department everyone in my department were great and easy to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate environment
Executive Secretary, VP Manufacturing (Current Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAOctober 10, 2016
Typical fortune 500 company
Great colleagues - former GE
Good leadership and management
Good compensation and benefits - kept a lot of the GE benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I could have not done better for a place of employment for 40 years
Distribution Specialist (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ILJune 28, 2016
Being a nervous young man fresh from the service i remember my first day. I loved the people I worked with and also loved my job. So many good stories. I hope the placed fulfills everyone there like it did me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Production Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Thorndale pa.June 9, 2016
A good place to work with good people and enjoyable atmosphere. The coworkers were honest and trustworthy.I learned how to run a plastic extruder and forklift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and safe workplace with kind coworkers
Quality Assurance Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Mount Vernon, INMay 24, 2016
Every day was an array of testing that I had to run from samples that came in hot off the production line. The most common test was running melt viscosities on extrusion plastometers and using FtIR and pulse NMR to quantify contents of sample. Occasionally helped supervisor with audit information and systems data input as well as performed repeat tests on customer complaint material. There was occasionally a bit of downtime if there were problems in the production team, but for the most part it was a busy day with no sitting going from test to test. Management was very friendly and good people you could get along with and carry a conversation with. Coworkers were very helpful when any sort of problem arose in the work day and were very friendly to speak with. The hardest part of the job was having to drive an hour to and an hour back from work. This added up to 10 hours per week at least. The people were the most enjoyable part of the job. I learned from this job that it doesn't matter how good or high paying a job is if you can't get along with your co workers. I was lucky to have very friendly coworkers and managers.
Pros
very friendly workplace with great coworkers and friendly managers
Cons
If a day was a bit slow or production was down, the day went by slower
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive site with many close-knit veterans in the work force
Co-op Student (Former Employee) –  Burkville, ALMay 16, 2016
Good environment for co-op students to learn about the industry. Heavy industrial environment with many hazards to be aware of (e.g. chemical, mechanical, electrical, heights, etc.); as a result the site placed a strong emphasis on continuous safety training and reminders. The site is 30 years old and aging in some places but still manages to be productive thanks to a veteran work force, and their safety record was impressive (in 30 years of operation, I only heard of a single life-changing injury). Nearly every person I worked with was friendly and willing to help with my own projects, especially if the project impacted the operation of the unit as a whole.
Pros
On-site cafeteria, safety program, friendly work force, 24/7 site operation (different work times)
Cons
Different units have differing philosophies at times, getting multiple operation units on the same page was often difficult
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's Complicated
Human Resource Business Partner (Current Employee) –  Pittsfield, MAMay 9, 2016
The company has a long-term vision, but change is very slow and the leadership is risk-adverse to a fault. There are great talent people and the desire to spend money on developing talent, capital investments and long-term R&D. They are challenged by having too many game-changing projects at once.
Pros
Great Global environment to learn from, excellent C&B
Cons
Bureaucracy leads to slow change
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Senior Analyst, Site Training (Current Employee) –  Mount Vernon, INMarch 22, 2016
I have learned a lot working in a manufacturing supportive roles. Each unit has it's own needs and focus which can be challenging to implement a standard across site.
Pros
Great people to work with
Cons
It is difficult to achieve your goals without knowing the unit's first.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SABIC Innovative Plastics. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 86 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.7
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0