Find companies:
Sacramento City Unified School District
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Sacramento City Unified School District Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
District Life
Office Technician (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 3, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: budget cuts
Wonderful department been there for ten years and ready to move on to something better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and fulfilling enviroment
Maintenance Engineer (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAMay 12, 2014
Pros: team work
Working in a fast pace in supporting the Students, Teachers, Adminstators in the Facility Maintenance work enviroment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced, enjoy helping students complete online application for FAFSA & Student Loans
Adult Education Accounting Technician (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAMay 9, 2014
Pros: loved being able to work at my on pace, being able to meet all time requirements for completeing assigned task.
Cons: sometime not being able to take break due to interuptions from potential students
Very busy on days when I saw students. I learned to be more patient. Enjoyed being able to encourage young adults to strive for the best regardless of their circumstance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help supervise preschool ages children
Child Sitter (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAFebruary 16, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: on-call
Fun place to work if you like kids. Got to help teachers with class projects and help supervise kids
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Student Teaching (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAAugust 6, 2013
Responsibilities and Skills Practiced:
• Research student interest and developmental levels in order to incorporate these aspects into effective lesson plans
• Develop a sense of community in the classroom by showing curiosity in student interests and concerns and encouraging students to do the same for their peers
• Collaborate closely with the master – more... teacher in order to guarantee successful learning opportunities for students as well as for my own professional development
• Evaluate student learning and progress during and after lessons in order to guide them in fully accessing the learning material
• Manage classroom behavior and student concerns/disputes using strategies that allow for a safe environment and for future independent resolution
• Coordinate in classroom/school events by collaborating with parents and colleagues
• Schedule and manage an entire learning unit meeting all necessary learning and duration standards
• Model for and train students how to practice independent learning, to follow classroom procedures, and to independently problem solve
• Assess students’ academic abilities in order to appropriately group students for effective learning outcomes
• Supervise students’ independent work while simultaneously facilitating one-on-one work with individual students
• Analyze student learning after lesson/unit to enhance future learning situations and to determine any necessary learning interventions
• Maintain and promote parent involvement through various modes of communication including phone calls, informational notes home, and home visits
________________________________________ – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yard Duty
Yard Duty (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAJune 24, 2013
Pros: free flowing environment
Cons: no benefits
A typical day is basically make sure the children play respectfully and have great time during their lunch time recess.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job,patience required.
Instructional Assistant (Former Employee), Worked all schools within the district.June 23, 2013
Pros: the children are exposed to another world than their own.
Cons: we do this job, not for the money.
I worked with about 48 children per day. We had 24 registered in the AM and 24 registered ion the PM.I learned that we need to give these small children more credit.They may not have a name for their feeling ,but the feel everyone of them as we do.We manage children with TLC , respect and a lot of humor.Once you connect with a child,you have a BFF.The – more... hardest part of the job teaching the children that everything is not theirs.Sharing is the way we get along with our friends.Getting to know the personalities is the most fun part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good school district to work for
Laborer/Gardener (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAMay 11, 2013
i loved working there for 11 years but with budget cuts they had to make cuts to maintance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place with children
Food service assistant (Current Employee), 29th street florin rdMarch 18, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
working with kids is great being able to interact with parents and kids everyday is wonderful. Also being able to communicate with the kids and to build a relationship with kids and parents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place with children
Food service assistant (Current Employee), 29th street florin rdMarch 18, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
working with kids is great being able to interact with parents and kids everyday is wonderful. Also being able to communicate with the kids and to build a relationship with kids and parents.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The District
Project Technician/Planning & Construction (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAMarch 4, 2013
Pros: security, holiday, personal time, benefits
Cons: advancement, management
This agency would be deserving of all the praise in the world, for their intentions, and willingness to advance educational facilities in CA., but unfortunately like many governmental entities the school district is structured in a way, which limits employee growth.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse place to work
Security Officer (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAFebruary 1, 2013
Pros: many places to work in system
Cons: low pay
Kids first educational system
supportive work/learning environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with children
Para Educator (Former Employee), Elk Grove, CAJanuary 24, 2013
I was able to work with the students and help assist the teacher
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company with great benefits
Clerk II (Former Employee), sacramentoJanuary 5, 2013
Pros: relationships
Cons: stress
great, patient company, with great benefits and a family working environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
calm workplace
Sub-Custodian (Current Employee), Sacramento, CANovember 26, 2012
Pros: flexable
Cons: not enough work
On a work day I get called and sometimes the call comes less then 15 minutes before the start of the shift. After getting to the work site i get explained the tasks for the day. As far as my co-workers i usually work by my-self. There really isn't any hard parts everything is relitivley easy. The most enjoyable part of the job for me is stripping and – more... waxing floors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic but fun work enviornment with a playground
Campus Monitor/Instructional Aide Special Ed (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 26, 2012
Pros: 20 minute breaks
Cons: putting children in restraints
A typical day at work would be making weekly lesson plans for every subject and making copies for classwork and homework.Hoping not to have to go hands on with any of the kids.

I learned how to calm down and control emotionally disturbed children by doing the smallest things and taking them for a walk.

The staff i work with are kind and honest.

The – more... hardest part of the job is having to go to a physical level with the children.

The most enjoyable part of the job is watching the children pick up what they are being taught. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I felt valued and respected as a Budget Technician for Sacramento City Unified School District
Budget Technician I and II (Former Employee), Administrative Services-Budget DepartmentJuly 12, 2012
Pros: great team of people and interesting varied work
Cons: the white noise that was played continuously in the cubicles
Sacramento City Unified School District is a great place to work. I worked hard and enjoyed working for the Budget Department. I supported multiple administrative departments with their budget needs. My supervisor and director were great. They had a great understanding of the work, and they made sure that the assignments were measured out as to not – more... overload any of the team. My co-workers were intelligent, competent people. I felt blessed to a member of the Budget Department Team. – less