Find companies:
Sacramento County
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
14 reviews

Sacramento County Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very cohesive and coodiated
Deputy Probation Officer Asst (Former Employee), SacamentoApril 12, 2014
Pros: great location
Cons: there wasn't a down side
Great people and scheduling. Management was receptive and concerned. The job ranged from intake to housing. It entailed feeding and keeping the children on tasks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with disabled people is gradifying
ihss care provider (Former Employee), Galt, CAFebruary 21, 2014
Pros: nice atmosphere to work in, safe conditions.
Cons: short breaks
taking care of patient's need,
i learned to work with the disabled.
i like working with the supervisor.
i only worked alone but worked with differant people such as doctors and pharmacies.
the hardest part is being around someone that is ill.
is making the pateint happy.
working 7 days a week was hard but worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
surplus supplies
Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: job knowledge
Cons: short term employment
they got surplus items from counties offices and motor pools and set up auctions to the public
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect Opportunity Anyone Would Love
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJanuary 3, 2014
When coming to work for the Sacramento County you become not only an employee but a member of a new family. The pay is great, benefits are cool & management is super supportive & friendly. My most enjoyable work experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
counselor
senior mental health counselor (Current Employee), calworksJune 29, 2013
Cons: management is terrible
I do evaluations, I do on going therapy with clients who are low income and minority, mostly single mothers.
I work with and do evaluations for drug addiction also.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed daily challenges
Planner (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJune 17, 2013
Pros: interesting people
Cons: the politics
The day started with a meeting to discover what happened the night before and organize the day

I learned to be flexible.

Management was open to changing time lines.

Staying a tuned to changing political landscape

Adapting values .

Learning there was more than one way to the same result
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Health Education Assistant (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAApril 11, 2013
Wish funding had not been cut for the program I supported. Was able to really make a difference in the Oak Park Community and I enjoyed working with all of the staff and loved the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Professional work place!
Volunteer Clerical assistant Summer Teen Program (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAMarch 14, 2013
Pros: good breaks, friendly people.
I loved Volunteering here, it was so professional and the people were vey ethical and professional. I really enjoyed helping everybody out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self revenue generating governmental organization
Environmental Health Specialist (Former Employee), Sacramento, CASeptember 3, 2012
Pros: independence
Cons: temperamental restaurant owners
Management typically leaves you alone as long as you are getting work assigned work done. Employees are trusted to work at their own pace to complete assigned inventory.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Improves the overall community.
Storm Water Utility Worker (Current Employee), Conservation RoadJuly 23, 2012
Pros: taking care of the enviorment for a better earth
Cons: extreme weather conditions.
This joy requires intensive labor, difficult work invironment and different job locations. What I have learned is how our drainage system works and is managed. I have learned how to read maps, use power tools and equipment, use hand tools and emergency response and repair. Management is well versed in each job required to complete each task. My co-workers – more... are a diverse group. I learned how to best communicate with each one on a individual basis, keeping respect and willingness as a goal. The hardest part of this job is the weather. The most enjoyable part of this job is the traveling to different joy sites. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun!
Office Assistant II Volunteer (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 17, 2012
Pros: fun people and free lunches.
Cons: it didnt deserve further funding.
It was great to be able to help homeless people connect with services and provide resources for them to feel like life was almost normal. The Program Managers and staff I worked with were angelic. Really! I miss the place and very sad that Sac County DHA had to shut it down because it wasnt generating revenue. Sighs...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was the best job I have ever had in my life. It was extremely rewarding and enjoyable.
Animal Control Officer (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAApril 20, 2012
Pros: the people and the job
Cons: dealing with sick and injured animals
I really enjoyed working with the people and the animals. It was a great experience. The public was usually very proud to see you and law enforcement also appriciated you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Meaningful
Office Asst. I & II......Sr. Office Asst. (Former Employee), Juvenile Court, William Ridgeway Family Court, ILPNovember 29, 2011
Pros: having families re-united
Cons: realizing that all families can't be saved.
Sacramento County / Department of Health and Human Services sole purpose is to protect and services families in crisis.
ie: Family Maintance, Family Reunification, Foster Care, CPS ( Child Protective Services), ILP ( Independent Living Program).