Sacramento Housing and Redevelopment Agency

Sacramento Housing and Redevelopment Agency Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good intention
Grant Consultant (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAApril 27, 2017
This agency has wonderful intentions, however, they are not organized. A typical day included me doing research and writing grant proposal material. I think the agency is a good place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working here
Janitorial (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CASeptember 21, 2016
The company as a whole is awesome the pros are great and the team work is amazing.i enjoy working with the people and assisting co workers as needed . The lead Jennifer Caldwell is very hands on and hard working and overall a great leader very informative and helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and an eye-opening experience
Video Production Intern (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CASeptember 6, 2016
Typical workday at SHRA was me driving into downtown Sacramento and taking the elevator to the top floor of the SHRA Building.

I would talk with my supervisor and we'd go into detail about what my assignment would be. I would either go take pictures of meetings that the executive staff would hold or take video of local communities so I could have b-roll that I would later implement into special videos about a certain subject or event that I would later create a video or PSA for the agency that they could later present to the people or city officials.
Pros
Experience a Full-time position, Work in the City
Cons
just an internship
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most unorganized use of public money I have ever experienced.
Resident Services Technician (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAAugust 21, 2016
No training, lacking communication on all levels, poor living conditions for program participants, all about increasing funding, dishonesty, overworked and underpaid, undervalued staff, unrealistic expectations and the list goes on.....
Pros
good benefits
Cons
not a long term career, unless you want to be overworked and underpaid the rest of your life
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace , enjoyed working with clients
Housing Technician/Resident Services Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CASeptember 30, 2015
Worked as housing technician and resident coordinator Had the pleasure of helping low income people with housing needs and different resources and the family self sufficiency program. Exceeded goals and had a waiting list for my clients to help them with job placement and other income resources. I enjoyed my job but the upper management was closed minded and unethical when it came to actually helping public housing residents.
Pros
got to help a lot of people with housing
Cons
some of management had negative attitudes towards housing residents
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Staff are very Helpful
Safety Engineer Intern (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJune 3, 2015
Awesome Risk Manager and the Procurement Staff.

I enjoyed every moment I worked in this place.

The staff are always willing to help whenever I needed help.
Pros
Nice Breakroom
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Office Assistant (Volunteer) (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAMarch 4, 2015
Typical day at work was very smooth
I learned How to speak to the different clients
Management was had a great open door policy
my co-workers were easy to work with
the hardest part of the job was sitting for long periods of time
the most enjoyable part of the job was working with others
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed employee to become their 'personal best'
PROGRAM MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAAugust 22, 2014
I was employed with Sacramento Housing and Redevelopment Agency for a period of 23 years. I felt I was part of the team as a new employee but also as management. Job Security was never in question. If you had the drive to get in there and do the work, advancement followed. The Job Culture was excellent. Compensation was a bit behind the times but they were working on it. Management changed over the years and the Agency lost some of its original spark. It was still a good place to work.

Fellow employees were relaxed and dedicated to their jobs.
My typical day at work was not typical. I had multiple responsibilities from auditing files and offices to dealing with the Neighborhood Police officer teams. It was something new each day and never a dull moment.

The most enjoyable part of my job was dealing with the people. Being with the Agency for multiple years resulted in relationships that I will remember a lifetime.
Pros
Unity, sense of family, enjoyed going to work
Cons
Mangement changed due to mandates, and personalities
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible and great environment
Mail Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CANovember 27, 2013
I've learned how many families are in need of help and with this program it had safe and help make a difference in many lives. Each and everyone who work in the area take their job seriously and always give or do their best to help as much as they possibly can.
Pros
Very family orientated
Cons
part times
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience
Site Technician (Current Employee) –  Sacramento, CANovember 27, 2013
This job is never a dull moment. You get to learn alot about people when interacting with them one on one.
Pros
Tuition reimbursement, Pers pension, Union representation
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for the experience
Housing Assistant (Current Employee) –  sacramento, caApril 23, 2013
I am working their as a temp administrative assistant. It is an experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sacramento Housing and Redevelopment Agency. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
4.0
Culture
4.1

Sacramento Housing and Redevelopment Agency Reviews by Job Title

Sacramento Housing and Redevelopment Agency Reviews by Location