Find companies:
Sacramento Job Corps
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
26 reviews

Sacramento Job Corps Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sacramento JC
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAFebruary 3, 2015
day to day the typical work day was great
I learned the most of my skills
management was good
co workers were good
hardest part living on campus
the most enjoyable part was weekend pass
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
plastering
Plastering Student (Current Employee), Sacramento, CADecember 7, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: nothing
everday we start walking the track and go back to the shop to stretch and warm up and go to do book work to learn about safety, use of tools and materials for the building
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a good experience
Operator Engineer trainee (Current Employee), Sacramento, CANovember 24, 2014
Pros: free lunches, free education, experienced instructors, a variety of equipment
Cons: not as much attention to one person as one would like
So we would start off our day running a lap about 3.5 miles to stay conditioned because you have to be conditioned as a grade setter or labor, because as an apprentice you're going to have seat time and labor time. Once we returned we would be dispatched to our assignment whether it be grade setting or operating equipment. As you become more knowledgable on equipment you will be tested on test that the union has at there training facility to better prepare you for thier test. Management was great really went into detail of expectations and how to properly operate/ grade set. Coworkers were like family after getting to know eachother and really helpful in getting to our goals. The hardest part of the job was remembering to dismont my equipment before getting twice i was punished for leaving the blade up, once on the Dozer and once on the roller. The most enjoyable part was learning how to become an operator.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Active and Super competitive work place where lives are made
Pre-Apprentice (Former Employee), Sacramento, CANovember 5, 2014
Pros: get paid an allowance 2 times a month, free breakfast, lunch, and dinner! free trips and outtings of your choosing.
Cons: very strict, and if your a resident you have a lot of rules to follow.
My experience at Sacramento Job corps was EPIC! It is a once in a lifetime experience to be able to go in to job training and if you need to get your high school diploma or G.E.D you can DO THAT! All within a YEAR. I met all kinds of people from funny to straight up hardcore and serious. The hardest part of the job was trying to avoid the fun and get to work. The most enjoyable part of Sacramento Job Corps was the connections i made and the true meaning of team work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping at risk youth attain employment
Recreation Specialist (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAOctober 22, 2014
What was enjoyable about working at Job Corps was being able to really make a positive impression on the students that we worked with. I will really miss that place due to that alone. What I did not enjoy was the staff politics, the cut throat mentality, the back biting, and secret counsel that is very common there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my time at sacramento job corps
Medical Office Assistant (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAOctober 7, 2014
i had a good time attendng Sacramento Job Corps . Wake up everyday at 5:45 a.m. and be out of our dorms at 7:15 a.m. go eat breakfast and then go to trade by 8:00 a.m. We learn new stuff everyday such as how to file , proper way to answer phones and much more .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Residential Adviser, Case Manager
Residential Advisor/Case Management (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAAugust 26, 2014
Pros: great opportunity to work with adolescents and young adults.
Cons: moved to san diego
Construct a safe environment for clientele of 40 to 50 young adults. Facilitate groups and case manage their behaviors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall help have a job position in a certain trade u been in school for
HVAC Technician Trainee (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAAugust 25, 2014
25% in book work and 75% hands-on training
everything
dealing with animals underneath houses or attics and bees on the roof from the inside of transformers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
CNA/Caregiver (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAJuly 17, 2014
I had fun working and learning new skills. The CNA instructor was very nice an encouraging and provided an good learning environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free education
Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Sacramento, CAJune 18, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: short breaks
This is a school that has the tools to help you become a certified nursing assistant there are many other trades that you can do here but this is my personal review
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Medical Office Assistant (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAApril 30, 2014
Main focus while being at Sacramento Job Corps? Typical day at Sacramento Job Corps for myself was being focused and completing the 2 year program.
What you learned?
Medical Office Support
Management?
There, in my opinion wasn't the greatest because Sacramento Job Corps is federally-funded program so, the company kept having a switch in management.
Your co-workers?
My co-workers had such diversity and I always made people smile naturally.
The hardest part of the Sacramento Job Corps?
Honestly, nothing because I focus myself to completing.
The most enjoyable part of the work-day?
Definitely had to be the lunch hour on campus.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
OUTREACH AND ADMISSIONS COUNSELOR (Current Employee), Sacramento,CAApril 14, 2014
Great people and the students are awesome! Very rewarding place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The position holds a lot of responsibility
Vocational instructor (Current Employee), Sacramento CA.April 8, 2014
Pros: emotionally rewarding.
Cons: low salary
I am an instructor for the landscape trade at the Sacramento Job Corps. The population of students I teach are those who have yet to experience the working culture. They are taught employability skills along with the necessary trade competencies to enter the workplace. They are instructed by classroom lecture, hands-on experience, volunteering, and community outreach.
I find it valuable to give back to my community by teaching youth what my trade has given me. It is quite rewarding to watch a student evolve from their challenges and become employable and ultimately join the workforce.
At Job Corps there are an amazing group of people that team up to direct student on a successful path. I have enjoyed the experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job corps
Office Administration Trainee (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJanuary 27, 2014
Pros: learn great skills
Cons: to much drama
it was a great program as far as getting my ged and learing the office trade and also reciving my drivers license i liked the hours that we were in school and worked but the after hours was leisure time for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was to dramatic
Medical Office Support Trainee (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAOctober 8, 2013
Pros: great instructors
Cons: got paid a small amount.
I like it when I had first arrived to Job Corps, but It is not what it looks like on the inside.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Landscape trainee
Job Corp Trainee (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJune 20, 2013
Modifying the campus,using tools properly(like Mowers,Trenchers diggers,Edgers.)Being safe by using the personal equipment (such as hard hats, gloves, safety goggles, steel toe boosts.) Working on creating new and old landscape,also maintained Landscape.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good expericene
HVAC Technician (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAApril 3, 2013
Pros: free food meet great people
Cons: the way the staff talk to yopu, like your nothing
it was a good life experience, if i could do it again i would. i learned how to be good a tmy profession. hardest part of job is leaving at the end of the day. the coworkers were a little imature, they need to grow up
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good learning facility
professional commercial driver (Former Employee), sacramento,californiaMarch 12, 2013
Pros: highly secured
Cons: government funded
it's a decent place of work , but management and all employees are against each other, not a good thing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love reading and being with the family
Office Assistant (Former Employee), Sacramento, CADecember 28, 2012
I had a typical day at work as usual nothing to be big always came to work early I never had trouble really with my co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace, and houseing
landscaper (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAAugust 10, 2012
Pros: free lunches, and dinners
Cons: eaducation healthcare
working hard each and every day i learned how to install an irrigation system was managed/taught very well my co workers allways worked as hard as i did so we always got along one of the hardest parts of the job was working in the heat in the middle of the summer most enjoyable part was working on irrigationin the summer when i got the chance