Find companies:
Safe Horizon
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
33 reviews

Safe Horizon Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Organization doing great work for victims of domestic abuse
Program Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 18, 2014
Pros: the compensation and benefits.
Cons: expectations were at times unrealistic.
A good organization that was going through some changes at the time I was working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
client intake,child care, data entry
RESIDENTIAL MANAGER (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 30, 2014
Pros: client interaction
answer phones, intake calls from battered woman from the national domestic violence hotline. client pick up from police station to take them to womans shelter, provided clothes, food and safe environment for clients and their children
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice overall
Internship (Former Employee), Manhattan, NYJune 7, 2014
As I intern here, my co-workers are very nice and respectful. I was in the development department where I organize files.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Safe Horizon is a rewarding experience.
Youth Advocate (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 21, 2014
Working at Safe Horizon is a rewarding experience. You will learn how to use harm reduction and how to facilitate client center practice. Positively influencing our young clients is the best reward.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great stepping stone for people with little experiene
Senior Case Manager (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYApril 3, 2014
Safe Horizon is a good place to work if you are trying to start out in the Social Work/ Human Services field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, little compensation
Coordinator of Daily Services (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 26, 2014
Pros: experiences
Cons: pay
Hardest part of the job is that you often burnout. Little to no time for self-care. :/
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Staff Accountant (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 11, 2014
It was a great learning experience working at Safe Horizon.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
B rating environment to work
Supervising Social Worker (Current Employee), Bronx, NYMarch 1, 2014
Pros: networking
Cons: management lacks genuine social work support.
-Management team is standard
-A typical day was moderate
-Enjoyable part of the job having control over managing my own schedule
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding place to work
Crisis Hotline Intake Specialist (Former Employee), Brooklyn, NYFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: education benefits, growth in the organization, bonuses and raises
Cons: only have one location, not able to relocate within the organization.
Ability to work with people in crisis and provide assistance to help create a safer and better way of living for individuals and families. Management help to provide quality service with knowledge and professionalism through continuous training, debriefing and weekly evaluations. My coworkers all had various experience in the social service field and – more... always shared their experience and support to help the team grow as a unit. The hardest part about the job was to not be able to safe all the clients from their bad situations. The enjoyable part of the job is when you were able to apply your training and knowledge to the job to assist and support someone to a better place in their life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant
Residential Specialist (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: resoures are available
Cons: not enough housing programs in nyc
Opportunity to make a difference in someone's life. Bringing clients from crisis to confidence. It's a beautiful thing to see the women and children regain their lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great night job
Part time Crisis Counselor (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: good night job
Cons: no healthcare
worked with many different people and college students. great if your in school and need extra money or have a family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Associate Vice President of Shelters (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: flexible with work hours. accommodates staff
Cons: little opportunity for advancement if working there long.
New changes in executive management created difficulties. Overall, the work environment is very productive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't waste your time!!!!!!!!
Administration (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 22, 2014
Pros: staff well some beware of mgmt
Cons: everything else and telling the truth
I worked there for 3 years...and I know the real deal. Extremely low pay but they expect you to do all work ridiculous! Mgmt will not change and the culture is one sided. Program staff are fine but admin staff there are too much politics. If you're considering working in their headquarters RUN don't walk!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with various activities planning
Residential Specialist (Former Employee), Bronx, NYNovember 12, 2013
Pros: team work
Cons: no health benefits
The most enjoyable part of the job was providing support for the residents and acting as mediator when need be
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A secure environment to work in, with many opportunities for advancement.
Residential Specialist (Current Employee), Bronx, NYOctober 21, 2013
Pros: great benefits, good chance for advancement from within.
Cons: not enough staff coverage, leaving too many shifts open to cover
A typical day at work would include greeting all residents with a smile, showing them care and concern as they venture to their places of employment, schools or other interests.
I have learned through my trainings how to empathize with our clients and understand how the trauma of Domestic Violence affects
them and their children. It creates many barriers – more... and obstacles that
hinder their progress in life.
My co-workers all are very helpful because I get different views, and experiences through their daily dealings with our clients.
The hardest part of the job is not taking things personal, and not getting too attached to our clients. Working with them on a daily basis
allows me to get to know them, and I need to remember that I am not a friend, but a professional doing her job, and service them to the best of my ability.
The best thing about my job is watching these women slowly transform from traumatized, scared individuals, into independent
working women, with a whole new world open to them and their children, with a new place of residence where they can start their lives over. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working at Safe Horizon.
Internship, part-time (Former Employee), Jamaica, NYAugust 14, 2013
Working at Safe Horizon gave me insights to be more active and educate our community on violence against women and children. It was challenging but rewarding job. The staff were wonderful and supportive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive workplace and friendly environment
Assistant Teacher (Former Employee), New York, NYAugust 5, 2013
is a very good and friendly environment good supportive team staff and coordinated
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very caring environment
Office Assistant (Volunteer) (Current Employee), Brooklyn, NYJuly 16, 2013
Pros: services every eligible individual
Cons: i have no comment
This is a great company to work for. You will receive fulfillment and rewards by the outcomes of clients lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Intern (Former Employee), Bronx, NYJuly 3, 2013
Pros: learning
Cons: challening
I leran a lot from this company where I could grow with it. fun
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Residential Specialist (Former Employee), Staten Island, NYJune 7, 2013
Pros: experience, support and advancement.
Cons: none.
I loved working here. Although there were many tough days it prepared me with the necessary tools I would need to further my career and education.