Find companies:
Safety-Kleen
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
125 reviews

Safety-Kleen Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High turnover business
Branch Manager / Industrial Sales Manager (Former Employee), Blaine, MNJune 18, 2015
Low margin business meant low income. No company help with technology and expenses for travel. Management has high turnover as well
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work before buyout.
Environmental sales Specialist (Former Employee), Lexington, KYJune 17, 2015
I used to love my Job at Safety-Kleen before it was acquired by Clean Harbors. Clean Harbors was still in the stone ages when they switched us over to their system, in both proper ways of managing environmental – more... waste for their customers and also their profiling system. It turned a simple streamlined process that would take a few hours to complete into each task taking 2-4 weeks to finally complete through their archaic system.
We lost alot of customers due to Clean Harbors inability to fill their needs in a timely manner and any large customers we did win were taken from the Safety-Kleen sales staff and given to a Clean Harbors rep to handle instead. I know acquisitions are rough in all cases for both sides however it made going to work a nightmare and no longer something I was able to enjoy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Admin (Current Employee), Romulus, MIJune 11, 2015
Pros: overtime, seniority, my customers relationships
Cons: healthcare, management, atmospere
Fast paced environment. I run an office that is supposed to have 3 admin but we have lost 2 recently. I am overworked and understaffed. We have new management that wants more and more out of you when there – more... is no more to give. I have been working 5 am to 5 pm Monday through Friday and some Saturdays. I do data entry, customer service, purchasing, timekeeping, accounts receivable, accounts payable, help the sales reps with misc issues, print paperwork for 8 reps for our customers for environmental waste pick ups. I absolutely love what I do. I just do not like the atmosphere it has become and the new management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Material Handler (Former Employee), Norcross, GAJune 8, 2015
Great Benefits
Good team morale
Safety Training
When equipment fails
Great working conditions
Aggressive micromanaging
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would not work here
Account Manager (Former Employee), Chandler, AZJune 1, 2015
Pros: Get to get ouf of the office
Cons: everything else
Commission is capped, nano management, complete mess.

Our management and co workers are great but the system thats in place drives everyone crazy and makes everyone hate their job. I heard from everyone that this company used to be great, until Clean Harbors purchased them.

Run
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good place to work
Branch Manager (Former Employee), Marlboro, MAMay 5, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: Good benefits
This was a very good place to work and a typical day was9 to 10 hours per day. This started out as part time until I found another job.
They had good management, the most enjoyable part was I got to enjoy it and they moved me up here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life changer
Sales and Service Representative (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CAApril 23, 2015
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: MANAGERS..
it was a good place to work at first. Too many changes after caused bitterness at the work place.but it was a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OSSR
Oil Servive and Sales Rep (Former Employee), Englewood, COApril 22, 2015
Pros: being able to do things my way
Cons: didn't matter what you did everyone got same pay increase
My day would start with getting there early to check out truck drive two hours at least to first stop. Pick up used oil and antifreeze for existing accounts drive back to off load truck and work about 60 plus hours every week
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work.
Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee), Richardson, TXApril 2, 2015
Awesome group of people to work with. They are nice never a dull moment when you are at the work place. The work duties are easy and there are always room to move up within the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Lead Material Handler (Current Employee), waukesha, wiMarch 26, 2015
great team and management. great competitive pay and benefits. good company to work for has been around and will be around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OKAY PLACE TO WORK
Oil Sales and Service (Former Employee), Grand Junction, COMarch 10, 2015
Okay place to work, pay was an issue. Pay was far to low for the work load and for a CDL driver with a haz-mat and tanker endorsement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Position in Sale and Operations Management
(SK) - General Operations Manager (Former Employee), Cloquet MNMarch 9, 2015
Was responsible for the location's accounts, sales team, administrative employees and all drivers. P&L, balancing a budget, fleet operations, compliance for hazardous waste industry, training and overall – more... operations. I learned how to handle customers in a positive manner, management style dealing with employees. The management team was extremely intelligent and was continuously supportive. Co workers were hard working, confident and willing to learn. The most challenging part of the position was collecting money from customers. Enjoyable part of the job was the ever changing environment, as every day was unique with opportunities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family orientated, informative, alot of work to do.
Representative (Former Employee), N Las Vegas, NVMarch 3, 2015
Pros: good place to work.
Cons: the abrupt changes... pay structure, work, moral, and fulfilment.
Safety-Kleen when it was just safety-kleen was a great place to work. You had the freedom of making alot of income based on your work ethics and your desire.

In 2010 it was purchased by Clean Harbors and everything has changed. The desire is gone and the family atmoshere is gone, the fun is gone!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok But hazardous a
Safety Kleen, Route, Sales (Former Employee), Port CharlotteFebruary 12, 2015
Pros: benifits
Cons: managers take sales leads from route drivers for their own gain
Benefits are fine . Trucks are old drivers are overloaded. Trucks are double stacked. The route drivers are seriously overloaded. They offer good training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
couldnt wait to leave.
SERVICE TECHNICIAN (Former Employee), Fort Wayne, INFebruary 3, 2015
first I was lied to,told I was hiring in as a service tech after coming back from training I was informed I would be filling in on a tanker truck for a injured driver.that lasted for eight months,the tanker – more... driver was being paid 70k a year,they paid me $14.00 an hr.
after geting off the tanker truck I was sent to work in the warehouse filling 30 gal cans of cleaning fluid, out side in the middle of winter. when I asked about geting back to my service tech job they said it had been removed.Than a superviser got in my face an asked if there was a problem.

this is not a place you want to work,thats why they have to lie,they have a hard time geting people in and keeping them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Re-refinery industry...interesting and exciting place of business
Railcar Administrator (Former Employee), East Chicago, INFebruary 2, 2015
Pros: healthcare and benefits
Cons: did not get breaks
Worked closely with a lot of different co-workers. Loved that part of the job. Started the day at 6:00 A.M. and worked daily until work was completed. The day was always an 8 hour day however, if any problems – more... came up it could be a 12 hour day easily. I had wonderful attendance. Attended daily morning meetings and weekly Safety meetings. Worked on the computer on spreadsheets daily. Worked hard for Management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Manifest Clerk II (Former Employee), Denton, TXJanuary 2, 2015
Very relaxed and easy going atmosphere. Good with balancing family and work. Enjoyed co-workers, which many became like family. Very long hours and weekend hours. Not much for room for advancement. The hardest part of the job was learning the different EPA Regulations and Guidelines
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Losing a lot of customers and employees due to the customer last and revenue over riding priority.
Sales and Service Representative (Former Employee), San Jose, CADecember 28, 2014
Pros: coworkers were excellent.
Cons: safety-kleen not about their customers... their about themselves 1st.
Complete daily scheduled services, deliveries and pickups in a timely manner. Complete all required documentation. Produce manifest, profile LDR and all labels for all hazardous material. Load and segregate – more... hazardous waste according to U.S. DOT rules and regulations. Sell additional products and services into existing accounts. Ensure customer service at time of service. Follow all local, state and federal compliance regulations and rules. Safely operate tractor in accordance with U.S. DOT local state and federal requirements. Observed company environmental health and safety operating guidelines. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work at a productive company
Chemical Operator (Current Employee), Dolton, ILDecember 8, 2014
Pros: overtime, steady work, reliable work, good team members
Cons: no retirement, slow advancement, pay raises discontinued through out company
Safety Kleen recycles chemicals and solvents for outside companies. There is great team work during shift change and daily operations which makes for a good work day. Trying to handle multiple tasks due to company wide downsizing has become a very trying challenge.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with many hardworking and dedicated professionals
Material Handler (Former Employee), MissouriOctober 5, 2014
Managed multiple hazardous waste facilities with full responsibility for all drivers and their trucks. Loaded and unloaded route trucks and semi trailers daily. Worked seven days a week including daily – more... inspections of waste containment and warehouse inventory in compliance with federal law.
Lots of fun people to work with and everyone knows how to relax and have a good time outside of work.
Management was always there to support and help in any way they could. We all worked as a team and that's what I liked most about this company – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Safety-Kleen

Safety-Kleen, Inc. is a provider of used oil re-refining and recycling and parts cleaning services in North America, and is also – Read more

Safety-Kleen Salaries

Customer Service/Sales Representative
$45,000 per year
Driver
$52,000 per year
Customer Service Representative
$40,000 per year
Forklift Operator
$16.00 per hour
General Manager
$85,000 per year