Find companies:
Safeway
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,064 reviews

Safeway Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management and Union
Checker (Former Employee), VancouverApril 21, 2014
The job is repetitive but easy.
Management was terrible for the most part and the union was unhelpful in all aspects.
The discount was pretty lame.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway checker
Checkout Clerk (Former Employee), millbre,caApril 20, 2014
Pros: union benefits
Cons: low wages, in-consistant management
This job like many is a good first job. One that can open up new horizons for those who are beginning to break into the work force. My experience as a check out clerk was challenging but not impossible. The management there was informative but vague. Co-workers were most helpful sometimes more helpful than the management. If your looking for a job to – more... gain new work experience this is the job for you. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working in the meat department learned a lot!
Deli and Meat Clerk (Former Employee), Mill Valley, CAApril 19, 2014
Pros: meeting new people
Cons: salary
Enjoyed interacting with new and old customers having them tell me how great a job I was doing. For the most we share cooking ideals and techniques.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway
Cashier (Former Employee), Newport, WAApril 19, 2014
Pros: great work place
Cons: low wages
I can only review what I remember. I remember a friendly environment and friendly people. Safeway was always nice. Great customer service and in a small town everyone knew everyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Aurora, COApril 19, 2014
It's a good company to work if you want to move up. Employees treat you fair, you feel at home.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Courtesy Clerk
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Antioch, CAApril 19, 2014
Worked mainly with customers. Dealt with loading and unloading of shipment goods. Also delivering great customer service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close to home Nice employees
Helper Clerk (Current Employee), La Crescenta, CAApril 18, 2014
Pros: healthcare
Cons: compensation
There is always something to do
How to get along with different temperaments
should communicate with all employees and treat them equally
Most are hard workers while others are not
Being short staffed
Customer satisfaction
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this company
Service Deli Manager / District Trainer (Former Employee), Arcadia, CAApril 18, 2014
Pros: learning
Cons: leaving
If I haven't moved to Arizona I would have stayed until I retired.

Everything about this job thought me what I know today
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome
PIC (Former Employee), Hermiston, ORApril 18, 2014
great company to work for, I learned how to be a team leader. learned great customer service skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun busy workplace
Cashier/File Maintainance (Current Employee), Yakima, WAApril 18, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job is making the customers happy with your service. My co-workers and managers are great and easy to work with. The hardest part of the job is when something goes wrong in a customer's transaction and there isn't a way to fix the problem.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review Safeway
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Denver, COApril 18, 2014
A typical work day at Safeway was fast paced but exciting.
I learned more people skills and i learned that working can also be a fun experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer service
Clerk (Former Employee), Fresno, CAApril 18, 2014
Help customers wtih informed decisions of many products. Help stock all shelves. Making sure all Price tags are correct with item discription and price. The use of lifts help with everyday inventory
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic, fast paced, team work job
Stock Clerk/ Sales floor (Current Employee), Shelton, WAApril 18, 2014
Safeway has a good work environment, energetic, active job that teaches you many skills. Skills such as time management, critical thinking, customer service experience, team work, and invoice reading. A day at work consists of moving freight, stocking shelves, assisting customers, communicating with management about product and day to day operations. – more... Co-workers will help assist you with freight or merchandise, make friendly conversation with you and customers. The hardest part of the job would be trying to meet the demands of the store, management, and customers in a shift – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deli Manager
Deli Manager (Former Employee), Kennewick, WAApril 17, 2014
Worked as a deli manager. Managed eight employees, and wrote weekly schedules for the department. I was responsible for inventories and product orders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love working with flowers
Floral Designer/Department Clerk (Former Employee), Gambrills, MDApril 16, 2014
Pros: feeling good about my job at the end of the day
Cons: competitors
Typical day at work includes coming in, making phone calls for ordering supplies, making arrangements, customer service, cleaning, making displays for customers to see merchandice, being creative. I learned alot from this job, how to be creative, making ribbons, learning colors and making fabulous arrangements for customers. mamgement was great loved – more... my manager. hardest part of the day was leaving at night because i had so many ideas. most enjoyable part was getting to know my customers and having them come back because of my designs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
met and learned from many good pharmacists
Registered Pharmacist (Former Employee), Chicagoland areaApril 15, 2014
Pros: good benefits, vacation time
Cons: chicago division was not managed well
was very disappointed when Safeway closed all Dominick's stores in Illinois
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
General Warehouseman & Foreman (Former Employee), Tempe, AZApril 15, 2014
Pros: benefits and pay
Cons: union
Well structured union environment to work in. The management did well overall and most of the employees have been there for a long time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dairy clerk
Cashier / Dairy Clerk (Former Employee), Annapolis, MDApril 15, 2014
Cons: poor salary, not enough work hours
Merchandising, rotate and stock all dairy products. Fellow workers are ok and friendly, But management is lacking in leadership and knowledge of their job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advancement Opportunities
Supervisor/Recruiter/Bookkeeper (Current Employee), Bowie, MDApril 15, 2014
Pros: fair, understanding
Opportunities exist to advance to management, however, it will be expected of you to work 10 hour days, which would be a problem for me because I have three small children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SafeWay
Grocery Store Cashier (Former Employee), Rockville, MDApril 15, 2014
Pros: 10% discount on store products, better coupons with j4u, free lunches.
Cons: short breaks, sometimes short handed, poor management.
My typical day at work was working on the cash register the whole work day. When it was slow I did other taks around my register but it was a very busy store. I learned how to be more social and have better communication with customers and co-workers alike. The management was mostly fine for the six years plus I was there, there was good times and bad – more... but mostly good. I had wonderful co-workers to work with always full of energy and happy, friendly to work with a well. The hardest part of the job I would have to say would be to stay calm in cases like before a major snow storm or other wheather is about to hit or dealing with a very rude and un-friendly customer. The most enjoyable part of the job was to have most customers but all the co-workers be always nice and very fun to work with so that made me feel happy at work. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Safeway

For many Americans, "going to Safeway" is synonymous with "going to the grocery store." Safeway is one of North America's largest – Read more