Find companies:
Safeway
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,787 reviews

Safeway Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work enviroment with plenty of room to move up.
Helper Clerk (Current Employee), Federal Way, WADecember 24, 2014
When I first started working for Safeway I hated it, I started at the bottom as a courtesy clerk. It involved grabbing carts in the rain or shine, bagging groceries for customers, cleaning up spills on an aisle and daily cleaning of the restrooms. As I moved up in my position at Safeway I began to love my job, I received more hours and my bosses were – more... more flexible and I was doing work that more interested in me. Unfortunately Safeway does not help me move up in my career interests. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place, Always busy, Close group
Food Clerk (Current Employee), Portland, OregonDecember 23, 2014
There really isn't a 'typical' day at Safeway, it always changes based on how busy it will be that day and whether or not you have to finish yesterdays work before you go on. As a first job, Safeway is a great company to work for, I learned the true meaning of being part of a team, and helping them achieve goals to help the store succeed overall. Management – more... came and went, and we all stayed a tight group of employees. We, I would like to consider, "adopt" all the new employees that start at our store because we become such a close family with everyone. It as nice feeling. My co-workers are people i depend on when I need help getting something done, and vise versa. The hardest part of my job? I wouldn't say anything is really hard about the job, over all not making a customer happy is 'hard'. I always want to make each and every customer that comes to the store happy. I want them to find and be treated with the up most respect. I enjoy every part of my job. I enjoy meeting new customers, and I enjoy getting close with people I meet on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for.
Bookkeeper/cashier (Current Employee), Bel Air, MDDecember 23, 2014
I love my current job at Safeway, I love who I wok with and I enjoy the customers there. I am glad they have provided me a chance to become a bookkeeper because I am good at what I do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Works well as a first job, but not much else.
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Torrance, CADecember 22, 2014
I learned to organize my tasks effectively to get them all done and how to communicate with people easily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place for a part time
Cashier (Former Employee), Dale City, VADecember 22, 2014
ringing out clients same while trying to make them give donations. not a bad place to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
clean friendly atmosphere with great communication with management
courtesy clek (Current Employee), Lafayette, CADecember 22, 2014
Pros: friendly with good communication
Cons: fluctuating work schedule
my typical day at work includes showing up for work prepared for my work day,clocking in and out,always accomplishing my daily duties and learning how to do my job better each day.i communicate well with my coworkers and management and learn from my coworkers and customers each day.the most enjoyable part of my my day is being able to help customers – more... and be part of a friendly work team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Delivery Driver (Former Employee), los felizDecember 21, 2014
Pros: pay is good
Cons: hours
great co-workers
good manager
learn new routes
meet new people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job demands an interpersonal nature and communication skills.
Bakery Clerk (Former Employee), Henderson, NVDecember 20, 2014
Pros: meet people of different levels and acomplish to help them
Cons: low salary.
It also requires the ability to remain calm under pressure but it was rewarding to share achieve goals at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New experience and interesting
Deli Clerk (Former Employee), Milpitas, CADecember 20, 2014
Cons: i had short brakes, but great health coverage
I learn a interesting new job in working doing show cases,learning new food and preparing great tasting food. I enjoyed working with co~workers and my bosses.the hardest part of this job was that going in i knew nothing,but i learned a lot and i like what i did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Fuel Station Attendant (Former Employee), Sacramento, CADecember 20, 2014
typical work day, clock in work register clean everything, get yelled at by customers. Fix customers mistakes and then clock out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in helping people.
Coutesy clerk (Former Employee), Apache Junction, AZDecember 19, 2014
I assist in the quick and efficient checkout service of our customers by helping to unload grocery items onto checkstands, bagging groceries, and providing carry out service. We help conduct price checks, take “return” products back to proper shelf locations, and help maintain store shelves by cleaning and fronting products. We also gather shopping – more... carts from parking lots, sweep and mop floors, assist in the prompt clean up of spills and other general housekeeping duties. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice enviorment
Cashier/Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Houston, TXDecember 19, 2014
Pros: lots of breaks
Cons: good befifts
enjoyed working at grocerory store and it was fun while it lasted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management sucks
Helper Clerk (Former Employee), Cheney,WADecember 18, 2014
Pros: meet people
Cons: management, union is no good
They don't really give you the days off for holidays nor do they take seniority serious.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exercise room
Human Resource Advisor (Current Employee), Phoenix, AZDecember 18, 2014
Pros: wonderful cafeteria
Cons: some days are very long
A typical day begins with returning phone calls, going out into the field to complete investigations
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work independent
Safeway Delivery Driver (Former Employee), Seattle, WADecember 17, 2014
A good driving job to work on your driving skills. the customers are overall most friendly. The co- workers are friendly, easy to get along with and very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quite an interesting group
Dairy Manager (Former Employee), Citrus Heights, CADecember 17, 2014
Pros: good way to get to know the locals in your town.
Cons: benefits, pay rates
From 16 year old kids to aging grandparents every grocery usually runs the gamut of the current generations for employees. Everyone needs groceries but not everyone wants to shop for them like they would at their favorite restaurant or clothing store in the mall so peoples opinions of you vary greatly and allow you to become comfortable dealing with – more... a wide variety of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
seems like a cult
Produce Manager (Former Employee), Fairfax, VADecember 17, 2014
the task can be very redundant. Does not provide a lot of challenges and management has a click that you need to pretend to like to get your job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job, Not bad
Produce Clerk (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIDecember 17, 2014
Safeway was my first job, and it taught me what it's like to be in the work force. The work environment was nice, and so were the people. It got busy during the holidays, but that's expected
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, working with the crew
Personal Shopper (Current Employee), Mill Creek, WADecember 17, 2014
Pros: free lunch, great crew
Cons: no benefits
A very fast paced job. Learned to multi tasked and gained customer service skills that is essential to my future employments. Co-workers are friendly and nice. Teamwork is fantastic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy yet fun experience
Bakery Clerk/ Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Ventura, CADecember 16, 2014
Working for Vons meant always on your feet. I didn't mind that at all. Working in a fast past environment kept me focused and ready for any task that was given to me. My co-workers made the job even more fun with their upbeat attitudes and their willingness to help.

1 2 3 4 5

About Safeway

Safeway Inc. (NYSE: SWY), a Fortune 500 company, is North America's second largest supermarket chain after Kroger Co., with, as – Read more