Find companies:
Safeway
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,544 reviews

Safeway Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced full service deli. Constant 8+ hour shifts. Lifting 50#
Deli clerk (Former Employee), Florence, ORSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: medical insurance and vacation
Cons: often no breaks other than 30 minute lunch.
It was my first experience in food service industry. They offer vacation and med insurance to all employees. A big plus. Very physically demanding work. No set schedule. Must be VERY flexible. Enjoyed working with all my co-workers. Company sets very high goals for its employees. I left in Jan 2014 due to health issues with my back which required 2 – more... major surgeries in May 2014. Unable to return to Safeway due to 20 lb lifting restriction. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor
cashier (Former Employee), Portland, ORSeptember 29, 2014
Not a very good job to advance and make a career. Cashier was my job title.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive job, good way to meet many different kinds of people.
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Dixon, CASeptember 28, 2014
Pros: some great co-workers
Cons: pushing carts
Arrived at worked, performed the tasks asked of me, went home. I learned to be quick on me feet, and met some interesting people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable.
Barista (Former Employee), Dunkirk, MDSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: limited employees to cover shifts when people called out of work.
They always made sure school activities came before work. I managed to work 6 days a week "part-time" and never felt overwhelmed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great staff in pharmacy
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Mill Valley, CASeptember 27, 2014
Pros: family oriented
Cons: no more raises top of my salary
Rather hectic during flu season but I know most the customers so it is a very nice environment to work in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun, and fast work, great coworkers!
Cashier (Former Employee), Tucson, AZSeptember 27, 2014
Working Cash Register. Customer Service. Fast Pace Work Environment. Adapting to New Areas of Work in less than a week
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work always changing
Baker (Former Employee), Thornton, COSeptember 26, 2014
Awesome place to work I enjoyed the bakery not so much the bagging and cart pushing though. It is a fast paced environment and you never run out of things to do. My days would typically vary on what I did one day I could be decorating cakes and the next baking breads. The hardest park o this job was having to move the dough racks around in the freezer – more... because you had to take them all out before you could reach the back of the freezer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FUN PLACE TO WORK
Meat Cutter (Current Employee), Seattle, WASeptember 25, 2014
HOURS BARELY TO GET 40 A WEEK. GREAT WORKPLACE.
BEING A FLOATER IS A GREAT EXPERIENCE,MEETING OTHER PEOPLE EVERY SINGLE DAY IN DIFFERENT LOCATIONS IS FUN BUT JUST THE HOURS SUCKS.EVERYTHING IS GREAT HERE AT SAFEWAY..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help me become organized and a multi tasker
Supervisor / Cashier / Customer Service (Current Employee), Camarillo, CASeptember 24, 2014
A typical day at work would helping and serving customers in a speedy and friendly manner. Also since I was second in charge I helped out with receiving and putting away loads also assisted with orders and conference calls. I enjoyed guiding my coworkers with anything they needed help with and made me very proud that they came to me for help or questions – more... they had about the company. My favorite part of the job was the relationships I had with my regular customers it was a pleasure for me serving them a conversating with them on a daily basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safeway
Baker (Former Employee), Cheyenne, WYSeptember 24, 2014
Safeway worked for me at the time; Now I am educated and ready for a career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright
cashier/customer service (Former Employee), omak, waSeptember 24, 2014
its an alright job to start out. the pay is kind of different, i didnt like getting paid every week and the hours are super low unless you beg for some
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review of co.
checker (Former Employee), Sparks, NVSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: management at the end
it was a great co. to work for 25 years ago i loved my job still do, but safeway is changing hand and there getting rid of people who have been there a long time. which they did with me. i learned a lot did a lot but when one get older they tend to waste the people who know everything. a typical day at work last couple of years i checked 8 hrs a day – more... 40 hr a week. i love and will miss my co workers except a few, i will be honest. the hardest part of the job was poor management. the most enjoyable part of job was working with my longtime co-workers. i like to work and do anything and everything is what made me happy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and cultired workplace; very positive and cohesive from the receptionist to the executive offices!
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Arcadia, CASeptember 23, 2014
Pros: they offer a wealth of employee moral focused event, programs and incentives
This has been an experience I would not trade for anything. I was afforded the luxury of actually looking forward to coming to work daily! The management and the team work here is simply bar none!
Kudos to Von's, Inc. a Safeway Inc. Company, for making this a lifetime memorable experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay
Day Stocker (Former Employee), Redondo Beach, CASeptember 23, 2014
Decent working environment with no employment discounts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for a first job
Inventory/Dairy clerk (Current Employee), Reseda, CASeptember 23, 2014
Pros: benefits, job security
Cons: rotating door at managerial positions
As long as you work as hard as you can and with the smile the company will appreciate you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work.
Department Manager (Former Employee), Mountain View, CASeptember 23, 2014
When I worked for Safeway, there was not a lot of praise given when things were done correctly or above expectancy by management. I think that made my experience working there not so pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USED TO ENJOY THIS JOB
Overnight Stocker (Current Employee), Middletown, MDSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: like my co-workers
Cons: management
.SAFEWAY NEEDS TO WEED OUT BAD MANAGERS. THEY DRIVE OUT EXPERIENCED WORKERS, AND HIRE KIDS FOR CHEAPER LABOR COSTS.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean workplace with hardworking and good charactered people.
Night Stock (Former Employee), San Mateo, CASeptember 22, 2014
A typical work day would have a fast paced non stop work flow with a couple breaks. I learned good useful tips on how to use dollies, mortars, and more efficient ways to shelve products. Management ways always good with keeping their work force wanting to do better. The co-workers were good characters. The hardest part of the job was having everything – more... lined up and having the isles clean for the customers before opening time. The most enjoyable part was having my tasks done before expected with no complaints. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i am a team player
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Rockville, MDSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: i am always ready for a challenge
Cons: i don't think i have any cons i balance evry part of my life very well
A typical day at work I have to take care of several different customers, I have learned to multi-task many different things at once fast and efficient, I get along with all my co-workers and work well with them that's because I am a team player and enjoying helping others, the hardest part of my job is dealing with so many different personalities, – more... The most enjoyable part of my work day is knowing that I helped some one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working from home
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), Auburn,ca. 95603September 22, 2014
Pros: got to be at home with my young children
Cons: not much adult interaction
Was a great stay at home job. I got to plan daily activities with the kids.

1 2 3 4 5

About Safeway

Safeway Inc. (NYSE: SWY), a Fortune 500 company, is North America's second largest supermarket chain after Kroger Co., with, as – Read more