Find companies:
Safeway
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,305 reviews

Safeway Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and not so great place to work
Checker/Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), San Jose, CAJune 17, 2014
Too little help
I learned that most of the time you are on your own
Management not so great
Awesome co-workers
The hardest part of the job are the late hours you have to work
The most enjoyable is working with great co-workers and the interaction with customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Seafood Manager (Former Employee), Tacoma, WAJune 17, 2014
always a learning curve with company. Always could move up always opportunities
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They are a great company if you dont have an education.
Office Clerk (Former Employee), Salem, ORJune 17, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: never a set schedule, work every holiday
If you enjoy moving around in a company this is the place for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun and learning experience.
CDL Truck Driver (Former Employee), Tempe, AZJune 17, 2014
Working for Safeway was an experience. You were never in the same location day to day. The co-workers were easy to get along with, just a good place to be employed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good first job
Cashier (Former Employee), Longview, WAJune 16, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: hours
The most enjoyable part of this job was getting to know many different types of people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in a fun place
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee), Everett, WAJune 16, 2014
Pros: longer breaks
Cons: short breaks
excellent work place loving place easy to make friends. good hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safeway is a horrible employer
Bagging, Sweeping, Customer service (Current Employee), San Diego, CAJune 16, 2014
Working for Safeway is great if you like to go home everyday with your feet bleeding, stressed out, and getting paid minimum wage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good experince
Bakery Manager/ Cake Decorator (Former Employee), Chula Vista, CAJune 15, 2014
They want to much form you.
Upper Management is to hard on people and dont appreciate what they do for the store they are working in.Just not a good company to work for .That's my opinion from working their.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Night Stocker (Former Employee), Sunnyside, WAJune 13, 2014
great work place. everyone worked great. long hours at night.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
i.e. VP, SVP (Former Employee), Pleasanton, CAJune 13, 2014
a very good enviroment to work - great people - in 6months of contract with them i have learned a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work.
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Omak, WAJune 13, 2014
-Union Dues Required

Despite that, however, the crew is friendly, and the schedule should be flexible enough to suit your needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Joys Of This Job
Bakery Clerk (Current Employee), Tucson, AZJune 13, 2014
Pros: great benifits
Cons: hard to move up
Great Customers, Wonderful Co-Workers! Its just very hard to work your way up in this enviorment!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company to work from with great benefits
Checker/Night Stock (Former Employee), Eugene, ORJune 12, 2014
Great atmosphere, with plenty of opportunity to advance in career
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Comment
Cake Decorator (Current Employee), Torrance, CAJune 11, 2014
It is a great place to work for some people. It's an interesting learning experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a temporary manager
Cashier (Current Employee), Fairfax, VAJune 10, 2014
Since it was busy, I stepped in to take the managing position. However, being a manager required a lot of works and responsibilities that really stressed me out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing customers, great company, amazing co-workers.
Certified Pharmacy Technician CPhT (Former Employee), Scottsdale, AZJune 10, 2014
Customers were great, as well as, co-workers and management. Everyone was really friendly and helped you out when needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excelent place to start off!!
Courtesy Clerk (Former Employee), Rockville, MDJune 10, 2014
nice friendly enviornment, clean, people friendly, great customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work as Helper/Courtesy clerk
Courtesy/ Helper clerk (Current Employee), Spokane, WAJune 10, 2014
Pros: steady shifts, great managers, union work is a plus for some
Cons: few hours, sometimes bland work
On an average day I run stock on the dairy department starting at the fridge making sure everything is faced and loaded onto their proper pallets or on the fridge stock floor ( or L). Then moving out to cover eggs, and hauling out the old egg cages and milk crates with a pallet jack. Often i will have to work the bailing machine and wrap/remove completed – more... bails of cardboard. I restock beverages in all cold cases, work the rest of of the dairy, yogurt, butter, cheeses distributed to the other departments etc. Temp logs to make sure all cold storage is working effectively or if it needs to be cooled within acceptable levels. Very constant heavy lifting and movement, if there is nothing left to do in my department i restock aisles or help individual departments with various things, stocking, labeling, and cleaning.
I've learned from my job what it is like to be in retail, its steady, sometimes hectic, but always predictable, however work is not a very complex environment, customer service comes easily to me and I know where everything is in the store, other than that i feel unfulfilled with the brunt of my work being lifting and moving things about, some days it just feels more like fitness than work.
The hardest part of my job currently is the commute it takes to get there, I am in need of more hours and something more close by would most definitely be preferable. It is a wonderful place, many of my co-workers have found comfort and fulfillment from their experience, however i feel more suited to other work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Night Crew Manager (Former Employee), Felton, CAJune 10, 2014
Absolutely loved my time at Safeway. They treated me well,and in turn i worked even harder because of the positive feedback i would recieve daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
courtesy clerk
Winter 2014, Courtesy clerk (Former Employee), Millbrea , CAJune 9, 2014
When starting I would check what i have to do each hour i am there , one hour on sweeps, another hour on carts collecting them, and if not I would be bagging helping customers to their car.

About Safeway

For many Americans, "going to Safeway" is synonymous with "going to the grocery store." Safeway is one of North America's largest – Read more