Find companies:
Sage Publications
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
11 reviews

Sage Publications Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet place with a bit of turnover
Product Manager (Former Employee), Thousand Oaks, CAJuly 26, 2013
There's little interaction among staff at Sage, it's sort of a company of strangers to each other. There is quite a bit of turnover. The benefits are quite good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales Coordinator (Former Employee), Thousand Oaks, CAJuly 19, 2013
Casual Fridays with free lunch makes this a great place to work. Benefits are amazing. Very fun culture!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transitioning publishing company
Marketing Assistant (Former Employee), Thousand Oaks, CAJuly 5, 2013
Pros: free lunches, great benefits
Cons: cubicles, office space, lack of unity.
I wasn't there for long, but I enjoyed my time there. Everyone is nice, and the tasks aren't that difficult, but often times tedious. I often felt like many practices/systems/chain of approval practices were outdated and that it wasn't an efficient company. If you're interested in publishing, I believe they're one of the best, but overall just not exciting – more... for a young person to be starting their career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!
Independent Contractor (Current Employee), Vestal, NYMay 27, 2013
As an Independent Contractor for Sage Publications, I was hired to assist a faculty member in a psychology department with research pertaining to abnormal psychology. The members at Sage Publications were clear with their expectations, which has made my working experience with them great.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company, Poor Management
N/A (Former Employee), Thousand Oaks, CAMay 21, 2013
Pros: facilities, compensations
Cons: overwhelming at times
The facilities are amazing, the company treats it's employees very well but time management is something that this company does not grasp. The management style is poor. They pile up so much work and responsibilities and expect you to learn everything within a few days. Impossible. I am a fast learner but they had me train on about 4-6 different areas – more... a day and it became so overwhelming. You hardly get a chance to breath. Other managers give you instructions knowing that someone is new and they don't try and help. Other employees were nice but after awhile a few seemed to show they're true colors. Hopefully the department I worked for revamped and pulled it together because it was a huge cluster of a mess going on. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor leadership is hurting the company's potential and everyone is overworked
Editor (Current Employee), Thousand Oaks, CaliforniaApril 26, 2013
Pros: great benefits, nice location, growing and profitable
Cons: people are given to much work, nepotism, risk-adverse leadership, lack people management skills on management team
The compensation and benefits are really good. The company is profiting and trying to keep up with the bigger players and the drastic changes in the publishing industry. This scrambling to keep up and growth, has left Sage with a serious pace issue in recent years-people at all levels are overworked and are too scared to complain. An internal climate – more... survey was conducted by C-level management that showed pace was a key issue, but nothing has been done to help the situation. Many employees have gone on "medical leave" related to stress and pressure. HR tries their best, but they are really slow handling matters and always side with the managers. The senior management team needs to take more risks. They wait to see what happens and then make decisions, instead of thinking 5-10 years ahead. Thus, the constant scrambling to keep up. They also promote people to the senior management team that are brainy, but not good people managers. The senior team is becoming more of a boys club than it used to be. Several of them have had serious complaints lodged against them in the past and were warned, and still made it to Director and VP levels. People are shocked when this happens, but it continues to happen. On top of this, there is a lot of nepotism. The president's family members are in director-level positions. Several high level managers (in different departments) are married to each other, too. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR treats people horribly
Former (Former Employee), Newbury Park, CaMarch 7, 2013
Very cliquish, gossipy company. Will put you through the ringer only to fault you for untrue gossip and hearsay. Have never dealt with more unprofessional, dishonest, flat out mean people before in any professional environment. They put on a great front, but behind closed doors.........
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and team oriented enviroment
CSR 1 (Former Employee), Thousand Oaks, CADecember 10, 2012
Pros: everything
A typical day at work was very busy and productive on the go. I learned a lot with the company. High energy and loved working and helping customers was my priority. Management was awesome. Best Company I have ever worked for. Always making sure our needs were met and very enthusiastic group of people to work for. My co-workers were amazing always looking – more... out for one another and always ready to lend a helping hand. The hardest part of the job for me was making sure my set goals for the day were met. The best part of working for Sage was everything not one fault i could find and i tried. Management was great, environment was awesome. Team oriented and beyond friendly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best companies I have ever worked for
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Newbury Park, CANovember 30, 2012
Pros: health benefits were great, they catered lunch every friday, every 5 year anniversary you were treated to a free international trip + an extra week of vacation
Cons: corwin publishes books for professional development for educators, budget cuts and the digital age has impacted book sales, soon books will be obsolete.
SAGE/Corwin really cares about their employees and their company values really mean something and everyone is treated with respect. As an assistant to an executive, my workload for the day was determined by what the executives needs were. We relied heavily on Outlook due to back to back meetings, making sure everyone was on time and had all documents – more... needed for the meetings. It was my job to make sure everything ran smoothly and I did whatever I could to make the executives job easier.

I got along great with my boss and my co-workers and that made the job very enjoyable.

SAGE is publishing company that is family run and they have been in business for over 45 years. There is a sister company called Corwin, that is run by the son of the SAGE founders. Last year my boss and I were transferred to Corwin, in an effort to help turn things around, as they were losing money. Unfortunately they continued on a downward spiral and were forced to lay off staff, in an effort to save money, otherwise I would still be employed there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for those starting out and for those who are looking for a place to retire
Sales Manager (Former Employee), Thousand Oaks, CAJune 12, 2012
Pros: great benefits, great colleagues and pretty easy to get acclimated to
Cons: management is lacking and there is high turnover, no way to move up in the company
Overall great learning experience despite the fact that I had 6 bosses in 5 years.