Find companies:
Saia, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
79 reviews

Saia, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to make lots of money.
Supervisor/Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Grand Prairie, TXJune 13, 2014
Pros: great money and pleanty of hours.
Cons: hostile, exposed to the elements and the shift hours.
This is definitely one of the toughest jobs around in Texas.

Since this was an open warehouse job, I was exposed to the weather elements everyday. In the summer the trailers could reach 120+ degrees plus we had the exhaust of 70+ forklifts adding to that heat.

The work was pretty labor intensive and in a hostile environment. The pace was very fast – more... and that caused most employees to become very high strung.

If you can focus and have self control at all times this is a great place to work at. If you are sensitive and take things personally you wont last a week, as the turn over rate here can prove. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stuck in the past. No vision from leadership
President Saia TL Plus, VP Maint. &Real Estate (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAMay 8, 2014
Pros: leading ltl service provider
Cons: no leadership vision at the top
Very interesting and energizing at first. Lack of vision and willingness to change will be limiting factor for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Tractor Trailer Truck Driver (Line-haul) (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 29, 2014
Young company with great growth potential. Flexible schedules and hard working individuals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy operation that gave its drivers their assignments and gave them the freedom to accomplish their jobs.
P/D Driver/Dock (Former Employee), Boise, IDApril 8, 2014
Pros: excellent pay and benefits
Cons: none that i can think of
The money is great as well are the benefits. Managements mode of operation was to assist you in being successful at your job and had a very open line of communication.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Line Driver Position
Line Driver (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVFebruary 17, 2014
Pros: great work place, good money, and people to work with.
Cons: questionable safety following proceedures
Pretrip Power units for run. Hook set of triple trailer set to designated meet point. Drop and hook set coming back to Las Vegas. Break up set to docks and refuel, and Post trip for end of day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Dock Associate (Former Employee), Fontana, CAFebruary 10, 2014
dock was easy to work good management, fast paced work, great co workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging work place
OS &D coordinator (Former Employee), Ellenwood, GAFebruary 5, 2014
Pros: great pay
Cons: long hours
Skilled in, customer services/call center, billing, data entry, word, excel, power point and explorer
Advance knowledge in shipping & receiving, imports/exports.
Certified forklift driver, knowledge of inbound, outbound shipping procedures and dispatching, AS400
Handled all aspects of haz-mat shipping and disposal
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terminal in stk was the greatest looking
Dock Worker (Former Employee), Stockton, CADecember 19, 2013
learned alot, opportunity for advancement, Terminal Manager was exceptional
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of hard work
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), CaliforniaDecember 12, 2013
Cons: the scheduals can be tough ranging any time from midnight to 6 in the afternoon start times.
Co workers were fun to work with. Worked hard to get freight out the door on time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
CDL Driver (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCDecember 8, 2013
Pros: teamwork
Cons: healthcare
• Linehaul Driver
• Triples/Doubles
• Hazmat
• Truck drivers transport mass amounts of cargo on large trucks. They inspect and service the vehicle, maintain a truck log that follows proper regulations, maintain contact with dispatch supervisors, operate equipment that loads and unloads the vehicle and collect customer signatures when delivering goods.
 – more... Class A allows drivers to operate any vehicle or combination of vehicles of 26,001 pounds or more.
• Local and long distance driving.
• 2 million miles verifiable safe driving – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Dock worker/Mentor (Current Employee), Burr Ridge, ILOctober 23, 2013
Pros: pay
Cons: bad management
The job has personally trained me a lot about logistic and transportation, The only problem i have with them is that it is very difficult to move up in terms of opportunity. The people i work with are great folks and i will miss everyone if i get a chance to leave Saia when i get another job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job fast paced
DOCK WORKER (Former Employee), Little Rock AROctober 22, 2013
loved it! Kept me busy while I was there I have heard they"ve switched to casual labor
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company!!
Receptionist/Assistant (Part-Time) (Former Employee), Duluth, GA 30097October 2, 2013
I worked for SAIA as a receptionist part-time, but decided to retire. It was a fun company to work for, and I had received a very good raise!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile work environment
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee), Duluth, GASeptember 26, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: bad management
My co-workers are great! The management is the worst I've ever seen!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work envrionment, non- stop work
Operations Clerk (Former Employee), Houston, TXSeptember 17, 2013
Cons: hard to get on full time there
Typical day at work was also very repetitious and non- stop work. I learned how to work on their particular system. Co-workers were nice, very friendly work environment. Management were fine. There was no hard part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company & Competative Company
Driver Class (Current Employee), Sparks, NVSeptember 16, 2013
Pros: management listens and good working conditions
Cons: the hours are long and hard on family life
Have gained much knowledge through my working years with SAIA.
Benefits are great, Pay is very good.

I would rate this company on the above as a 5 star in all the catagories listed.

I tried to rate the 5 stars but it was not holding the clicks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Driver (Former Employee), Dearborn, Mi.September 10, 2013
Pros: pay was good.
Cons: management & dispatch had no idea of how to run a professional trucking company
Hired in for a local driver. Worked for 88 days, and was laid off before the 90 days was up so they wouldn't have to pay benefits. The warehouse loaded many of the trailers as- backwards, with the last load on the back of the trailer, and the first load in the front of the trailer. Multiple drops a day, up to 25, and then I was sent to pick up 5 or – more... 6 more to bring back to the warehouse. Like a pizza delivery boy in a semi truck. Dispatch was very unorganized, she was a office girl given a new position into dispatch, and had no idea what she was doing. Sent out with no lift gate, with 20 delivery's of loaded sun glass cases, going to CVS stores, with no order of the shipment to be dropped. The pay was good, but it wasn't worth the stress demanded from a unorganized system. I heard that Saia, removed the management, and dispatch personal, so hopefully everything is much better now. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
money great mangement is a dictatorship,supervisors an operations managers suck
Supplemental Dock Specialist (Former Employee), Ellenwood, GAAugust 25, 2013
Pros: the pay
Cons: management dont communicate, rules change everyweek, an no voice in anything have to call corporate to have things change if any
enjoyed my co workers an some of the management staff but Dan the terminal manger was heartless an ruled like a dictator
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great moner
Fork lift Operator (Former Employee), Burr Ridge, ILAugust 12, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: dusty and dirty place
load and unload trailers, while using a sit down forklift. co workers were very helpful
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic start up driving job
City Driver (Current Employee), San Leandro, CAJuly 31, 2013
Pros: experience
Cons: no stable work all year long
This is a good place if you were not taking care of a family. If you are single, this job is nice. Not to hard, not to stable work all year long. Just a Basic job.

1 2 3 4

About Saia, Inc.

Saia -- you say it "sigh-ah" -- is a holding company for less-than-truckload (LTL) carrier Saia Motor Freight Line. (LTL carriers – Read more