Saia, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High paced work enviornment
Dock Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie TXJune 2, 2015
Long hours and late night workplace. Overall the place is a good place to work when you're young and don't have a family. Pays well. Due to hours and work days its hard to balance life and work here. Becoming full time is a very long process. Room for advancement is very difficult since it seems you have to know someone to advance.
Pros
Decent pay w/ good benefits
Cons
work schedule, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Billing Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDMay 26, 2015
Awesome place to work with lots of overtime and great benefits! Liked all the supervisors there as well. They were fantastic with helping when I needed it during training.
Pros
No customer service
Cons
Work nights but they make it up in pay and lots of overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Regional Safety Manager (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOMay 16, 2015
No formalized training provided. This set employees up for failure and prevented them from being successful within their organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self motivated jobs to reduce safety incidents/accidents.
Regional Safety Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 11, 2015
A typical day of work consisted of checking email, loading dock walks, and employee interaction. I would be involved with all accident and spill reporting/investigation. Rulings and discipline would be issued based on my recomendations to HR.

Management was involved, but let you learn as you go. My superior would allow me to handle most issues alone without their direct involvement.

I learned more about DOT and OSHA regulations.

I had not found the job to be difficult. i enjoyed going to work everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Saia gets it: ‘take care of your employees and your business will succeed'
Terminal Manager (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, RegionMay 2, 2015
The technology available at Saia is industry leading by far. This allows for concentrated focus on ensuring 100% customer satisfaction and taking care of the people that matter most, your employees. It's a great feeling everyday to know you do not have to worry about report after report. There is no need to use the outdated and ineffective managerial microscope with the tools you have available. All you have to do is line the team up in formation, run the play exactly and, the touchdowns come. The only thing to worry about is your customers and your employees.
Pros
Great leadership team, Great drivers, Great support staff
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work good pay
Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Ellenwood, GAApril 20, 2015
great place to work the pay is good the only bad thing is the freezer it's very cold and you have to stay inside the freezer for long periods of time and they don't have a heat room to thaw out
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company but horrible management
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Johns Creek, GaMarch 26, 2015
Saia has great benefits but the management is horrible. Management is not friendly towards the workers, they are not sensitive towards employees needs...
Pros
Benefits...
Cons
Tensed Environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Roseville terminal
driver (Former Employee) –  rosevilleFebruary 28, 2015
Be very careful!!!
in a week 5 drivers were no longer employed at this facility.

That is a high percentage considering the small workforce
at this deteriorating terminal.
Pros
you get a new manager here on average 1/year
Cons
a new manager/year is a flag of shaky ground.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Administrative Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLFebruary 17, 2015
I enjoyed working here up until I got laid off. The manager was friendly and supportive. I had the opportunity to learn many different tasks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Professional Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Savannah, GADecember 31, 2014
great company to work for very nice work place nice people to work with steady work nice working area nice equipement family operated a good career for truck driver and good stability for work and lots of hours a great place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
quiet, work at your own pace
Night Biller (Current Employee) –  Houma, LADecember 2, 2014
as long as you maintain the minimum requirements as a biller, you are left alone to work. quiet. friendly co-workers. can be long nights.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dock worker
overnight docker (Former Employee) –  houston txNovember 19, 2014
Overnight Dock Worker which includes operating a Forklift and Electric Pallet Jack.
Responsible for maintaining the maintenance of incoming trailers to dock.

Pros
off days
Cons
benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great plce to work, I learned alot about customer service and freight coming and going in the company.
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDNovember 17, 2014
Work started 7AM telephones started ringing and orders were coming in the get passed to us in customer service, we were arranging to the their product for point a to b in the least time available. This company was always going out of their way for us with cash incentives for trying to expedite shipments for client who need it to get there faster.
Pros
They gave us pissa partys, rewared for our work, and were just a good company to work for.
Cons
Very demanding, little room for failure, so you were on your toes all the time, lots of stress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Delivery driver (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 14, 2014
I would pick up and deliver goods.
My days would start very early.
I enjoyed meeting new customers and seeing old ones.
Pros
fast paced
Cons
truck not being loaded properly
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 11, 2014
A good LTL trucking company. You knew what kind of a day you were going to have when you got your work assignment for the day. Good or bad, you knew you were going to get to go home when you were done. SAIA was a fair place to work, everyone got to share in both the good, and not so good work assignments. Got to operate doubles. I received much experience working with Haz-mat. Good co- workers to work with. Management was not always so great. It seemed that when you did get a good manager they did not last long.
Pros
Flex time ( personal days off ).
Cons
No assigned equipment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Company
Team Driver (Former Employee) –  Portland, OROctober 7, 2014
You make great money but you give up to much to do so. they are a one chance only.
Pros
Good Benifits
Cons
Push you to your limit
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers
Unknown (Former Employee) –  Johns CreekOctober 4, 2014
Be careful snakes everywhere
Not good culture
Underpaid
No work life balance
Unethical
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Dock worker (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLSeptember 24, 2014
Saia is good company to work for. I enjoyed working at Saia. Saia is a company built on team work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There are monetary benefits if you stay with Saia long enough-
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDSeptember 16, 2014
I loved working in this office environment. Saia Motorfreight was a great company to work for in general. There were some negative aspects.. making returning to the Company an uneasy idea.
Pros
Medical Benefits and steady hours.
Cons
If you weren't liked well enough by the management, you likely didn't last!
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dock
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INAugust 19, 2014
worked as a dock worker. great cowokers. very cold in the winter. bad management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Saia, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 124 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1