Find companies:
Saia, Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
94 reviews

Saia, Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Part time job
Forklift Operator (Former Employee), Ellenwood, GAMarch 20, 2013
Pros: great pay
Cons: weather and hard to become full time
A Typical day at Saia was getting a forklift and unloading and loading as many trucks as possible. I learned how to operate a forklift and load and unload trucks. The management made sure to tell you that you need work fast but safe and when you do good give the dock BBQ and power-aid the hardest part of the job was the weather cause if its hot out – more... side you burn up and if its cold you freeze. The most enjoyable part of my job was the friendly competition to see who could do the most in a day or month. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Dockworker (Current Employee), Little Rock, ARMarch 11, 2013
Pros: the enviroment is really somthing i enjoy and the paye is really nice.
Cons: i really need more hours.
saia is a fast paced work enviroment with lots of daily challenges,that include unloading freight as quick and safe as possible loading the freight as safe and as quickly as possible, these are some of the challenges that I love about this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Saia LTL Freight formerly Saia Motor Freight
Operations Manager-Atlanta Break-Bulk (Former Employee), Ellenwood, GAMarch 8, 2013
Pros: you are not allowed to sit down and eat and 65-70 hour work weeks are mandatory not voluntary
Cons: lack of technology, lack of equipment, little to no regard to both salary and hourly employees, immoral values and compromising/non-ethical ways at making numbers
I was promoted 5 times in 5 years but after my most recent promotion back to the terminal, I learned very fast that my new Terminal Manager was racist to say the least. I asked me to do things that were immoral and not ethical. I left the company because I refused to compromise my moralities and feelings towards colored people any longer. There is no – more... work/lfe balance and when my father was dying of cancer and flat-lined on the table I came to the realization that this company does not care about their employees and had little to no regard that we as people do have families that come first over any job. The man even went as far as cutting back full-time employees hours because he said and I quote "here are too many nice cars in our parking lot...." When I went to my regional manager about my supervisors stating/thinking our new Terminal Manager was racist I was told that if I went to Human Resources or if the conversation lett the room he would not reconsider firing me and would be sure to find a valid reason to do so. After that, even though I was making great money, I knew it was no longer in my best interest to continue employment for a company that condoned those values/beliefs. It may be hard for me to make up the time I spent "climbing the corporate ladder" and having to live on a very tight budget, but I sleep better at night and feel it is/was the best decision I ever made to leave that company and find something new, even though I was promoted several times while with Saia, but after my newest promotion and 10-12 veterans leaving the company within a 6 month period, I knew that by me resigning was in the best of my interest both professionally and morally.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, Great Atmosphere, Great Place
Risk Management Analyst (Former Employee), Houma, LAFebruary 28, 2013
It was a pleasure to work with the individuals in the Houma Office. I have nothing but respect for everyone I worked with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Forklift Operator (Current Employee), Nashville, TNFebruary 14, 2013
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
when management changed the full time employee's began to lose there hours to part time employees. when part time employee's begin to make the same or more hour as the full time employee's its time to make a change. Saia use to be a great place to work, but with the recent management change the company is not anymore.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive past, pace inviroment
Dock worker/forklift (Former Employee), Kent, WAJanuary 31, 2013
Pros: i buy my own lunch
Cons: health care etc
Work Start 5pm 5 hours each day.i learn more skills being in Saia.and i have friendly co worker in saia.its hard job but i cant comlpain i need to pay the bills and its fun job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Bosses
Risk Management Analyst (Former Employee), Houma, LAJanuary 30, 2013
I had some caring bosses at Saia. There was very little training and it seemed as if not a lot of thought went to how they were going to lead me in my job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable position to be in
Linehaul Dispatch Supervisor (Current Employee), Ellenwood, GAJanuary 26, 2013
Very fast pace environment which is a positive to keep you alert and on your toes in your job performance. Have learned alot about the industry while at Saia. Most enjoyable part of the job is getting to interact with the drivers and completing a days work with a positive feeling that what you did that day mattered in servicing the customer
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I Loved what I did at this company.
OS&D Clerk (Former Employee), Austin, TXJanuary 13, 2013
Pros: they are a good company, pay
Cons: do not follow through with paper work.
I started part time billing in the evenings. Moved up to the OS&D Clerk within months They made some huge changes in management, and did a ton of firing my terminal manager was moved to another location and the new terminal manager.and everyone in the office got everything to his liking then he along with dispatch and some dock people were fired. We – more... had a couple temp Terminal Managers I gave a 30 day notice that I would be leaving. 2 days before my last day they hired someone to replace me and on my record they show me as fired. I have all my awards and the good work for them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Saia
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Burr Ridge, ILJanuary 12, 2013
Very good company with quality and safety as there number one goal.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Group of people on all shifts.
Forklift Operator (Current Employee), Kansas City, MODecember 25, 2012
Pros: the compensation
Cons: they hire part time, you work your way to full time therefore there is no benefits such as insurance
What I love about Saia is every person in management understands that life happens sometimes. They know that there are times that things happen that are out of our control. A typical day is fast paced, seems like the time flies by usually. The hardest part would be the fact that we do work on a small dock which makes it hard to be safe one hundered – more... percent of the time however i have worked here for eight months and have yet to see or hear of an accident. The most enjoyable part is all the people i work with are laid back and just a great group of people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No regards for their employees
Driver (Former Employee), Chicago ILDecember 15, 2012
Pros: insurance
Cons: safety department is racist and the management doesn't care about its employees.
Safety department is racist. They never want to listen to their employees and they will just shove you a form to sign, and if you don't they threat you that they will fire you on the spot. Wondering if I should sue them for the racism. Every time it gets closer to the winter season and they do not need so many people they will throw you out in the cold – more... with out second thought. Never received my last pay check. When called HR they gave me a run around. Management is rude, and they do not care about their employees at all. They had a brochure on their website stating " every employee deserves to be treated with respect" and with that in mind you could complete ARC form and send it to the VP of HR for an appeal. Don't kid yourself. The number that they had to call for the form was for a building company and no one had knowledge of the form. Once received the form after calling around and sent it in (certified mail like they requested) nobody wanted to sign for it. Hope to receive my pay check one day. HORRIBLE COMPANY TO WORK FOR. ZERO RESPECT FOR PEOPLE. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed making deliveries on time.
Truck Driver (Former Employee), Burr Ridge, ILDecember 6, 2012
Pros: uniforms were provided by saia.
Cons: very old equipment
My starting time usually was around 10 o'clock, I had assigned truck and trailer for that day. I have learned how to operate forklift and pallet jack. The hardest part of my job was to make deliveries in very tight spaces. The other drivers were very friendly and it was a pleasure to work with them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WORST place ever
ACCOUNT MANAGER (Former Employee), Detroit, MIDecember 6, 2012
Pros: none to list
Cons: too many to list
This company has the worst ever regards for their employees. Local Detroit management does nothing to motivate or inform its staff. Constant change in management does not bode well for the local operation and its customer base. No plan just continues to struggle to keep its customer base due to poor service offering.

December 15, 2012

I totally agree with the review. No respect for their employees.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
disrespectful
dock worker (Former Employee), HSTDecember 5, 2012
Pros: decent pay
Cons: disrespect, poor forklifts, shady management
Old forklifts and poor management. I remember being cursed at and single out by certain supervisors. One supervisor called myself and a group of employees dumb a double s.Reported it, nothing happened. Coming from the Marines I expected better from an employer. 2 1/2 years wasted.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
have yearly cook out with entire family
road driver (Former Employee), Memphis, TNDecember 1, 2012
Pros: most drivers return home either daily or no more than 3 days out before returning home
Cons: very little or no opportunity for advancement
Great place to work, most people are just plain hard working individuals. Great equipment with a very sakety oriented maintanance mechanics.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment to work
OTR Linehaul Driver (Former Employee), Ellenwood, GANovember 15, 2012
Pros: good benefits, pay, holiday barbecues etc
Cons: no set work schedules - hours/days changed daily/weekly.
Delivered freight to terminals.
Learned how to drive double trailers and hazmat.
Management was always available in any situation.
Co-workers were always there to answer questions.
The hardest part of the job was changing from morning to night shift.
The most enjoyable part of the job was driving, barbecues, and pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corp Office Great Place to Work
Professional (Current Employee), Johns Creek, GANovember 12, 2012
Pros: free health insurance after 10 yrs; great work atmosphere; promotional opportunities
Saia is great place to work and the corporate office is a great work environment. I have been given mulitple promotional opportunities and so have many others and the atmosphere is a team environment. It can be challenging and you are held to high standards, which is not always right for everyone - you are held accountable for your work performance. – more... The insurance plan is amazing, pay is adequate and my boss is wonderful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well maintain facility
pnd (Current Employee), fontana caNovember 9, 2012
Pros: enjoy somedays
Cons: 53 footers
Good benefits, free medical insurance after 10 years , scholarship for kids , all trucks well service, oh!! Not to mention free insurance for families too big plus. Been there over 15 yrs just wished we got paid little more. It pays overtime were there's a lot of ltl that don't . Love my customers always go the extra for me an I always do too, so the – more... way see this company is good place to work for but you got bad sides to it is when they give you a day off not even a notice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for
dock worker (Current Employee), AZNovember 6, 2012
Management seems to be racists. Atmosphere of workplace is horrrible.

About Saia, Inc.

Saia¬†-- you say it "sigh-ah" -- is a holding company for less-than-truckload (LTL) carrier Saia Motor Freight Line. (LTL carriers – Read more