Saia, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work for being part time
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHAugust 14, 2014
breaking and loading trailers
co workers were good people to work with
hardest part of the job was the hrs
best part of the job was the environment all great people to work with
Pros
as many hrs as i wanted
Cons
start up hrs 3 am blah
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a job that paid well but you earned every nickle
City/ Line Haul Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNAugust 12, 2014
I worked for a dispatcher that played favorites and was basically hard to work for unless you were one of his buddys.
Pros
great money
Cons
delivering freight at companies located upstairs in building with no elevator
Was this review helpful?Yes 19No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but great benefits
Special Services Rep (Former Employee) –  Johns Creek, GaJuly 15, 2014
It was a fast flowing job, answering calls one after the other. This made things very stressful but kept the day going by quick which sometimes was a good thing and sometimes a bad thing. I learned a lot on how to work with customers over the phone and how to accomplish goals in a quick timely manner. In this job you get fussed out by the customer a lot but having the co-workers around to help made this easier. Benefits were great and was ultimately what helped me come to work.
Pros
Benefits, pay
Cons
very stressful, getting fussed out
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dock warehouse
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Ellenwood, GaJune 30, 2014
A typical day would be loading and unloading trailers throughout the night. Great company with excellent pay even if it was part time.
Pros
Overtime
Cons
No Full-time placement
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to make lots of money.
Supervisor/Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXJune 13, 2014
This is definitely one of the toughest jobs around in Texas.

Since this was an open warehouse job, I was exposed to the weather elements everyday. In the summer the trailers could reach 120+ degrees plus we had the exhaust of 70+ forklifts adding to that heat.

The work was pretty labor intensive and in a hostile environment. The pace was very fast and that caused most employees to become very high strung.

If you can focus and have self control at all times this is a great place to work at. If you are sensitive and take things personally you wont last a week, as the turn over rate here can prove.
Pros
Great money and pleanty of hours.
Cons
Hostile, exposed to the elements and the shift hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stuck in the past. No vision from leadership
President Saia TL Plus, VP Maint. &Real Estate (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 8, 2014
Very interesting and energizing at first. Lack of vision and willingness to change will be limiting factor for this company.
Pros
Leading LTL service provider
Cons
No leadership vision at the top
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Tractor Trailer Truck Driver (Line-haul) (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 29, 2014
Young company with great growth potential. Flexible schedules and hard working individuals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy operation that gave its drivers their assignments and gave them the freedom to accomplish their jobs.
P/D Driver/Dock (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDApril 8, 2014
The money is great as well are the benefits. Managements mode of operation was to assist you in being successful at your job and had a very open line of communication.
Pros
Excellent pay and benefits
Cons
none that i can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Line Driver Position
Line Driver (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 17, 2014
Pretrip Power units for run. Hook set of triple trailer set to designated meet point. Drop and hook set coming back to Las Vegas. Break up set to docks and refuel, and Post trip for end of day.
Pros
Great work place, good money, and people to work with.
Cons
Questionable safety following proceedures
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Dock Associate (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAFebruary 10, 2014
dock was easy to work good management, fast paced work, great co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging work place
OS &D coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ellenwood, GAFebruary 5, 2014
Skilled in, customer services/call center, billing, data entry, word, excel, power point and explorer
Advance knowledge in shipping & receiving, imports/exports.
Certified forklift driver, knowledge of inbound, outbound shipping procedures and dispatching, AS400
Handled all aspects of haz-mat shipping and disposal
Pros
great pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terminal in stk was the greatest looking
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CADecember 19, 2013
learned alot, opportunity for advancement, Terminal Manager was exceptional
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of hard work
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaDecember 12, 2013
Co workers were fun to work with. Worked hard to get freight out the door on time.
Cons
The scheduals can be tough ranging any time from midnight to 6 in the afternoon start times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
CDL Driver (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCDecember 8, 2013
• Linehaul Driver
• Triples/Doubles
• Hazmat
• Truck drivers transport mass amounts of cargo on large trucks. They inspect and service the vehicle, maintain a truck log that follows proper regulations, maintain contact with dispatch supervisors, operate equipment that loads and unloads the vehicle and collect customer signatures when delivering goods.
• Class A allows drivers to operate any vehicle or combination of vehicles of 26,001 pounds or more.
• Local and long distance driving.
• 2 million miles verifiable safe driving
Pros
Teamwork
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Dock worker/Mentor (Current Employee) –  Burr Ridge, ILOctober 23, 2013
The job has personally trained me a lot about logistic and transportation, The only problem i have with them is that it is very difficult to move up in terms of opportunity. The people i work with are great folks and i will miss everyone if i get a chance to leave Saia when i get another job
Pros
pay
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job fast paced
DOCK WORKER (Former Employee) –  Little Rock AROctober 22, 2013
loved it! Kept me busy while I was there I have heard they"ve switched to casual labor
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company!!
Receptionist/Assistant (Part-Time) (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GA 30097October 2, 2013
I worked for SAIA as a receptionist part-time, but decided to retire. It was a fun company to work for, and I had received a very good raise!
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile work environment
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GASeptember 26, 2013
My co-workers are great! The management is the worst I've ever seen!
Pros
great pay
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 27No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work envrionment, non- stop work
Operations Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 17, 2013
Typical day at work was also very repetitious and non- stop work. I learned how to work on their particular system. Co-workers were nice, very friendly work environment. Management were fine. There was no hard part of the job.
Cons
Hard to get on Full time there
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company & Competative Company
Driver Class (Current Employee) –  Sparks, NVSeptember 16, 2013
Have gained much knowledge through my working years with SAIA.
Benefits are great, Pay is very good.

I would rate this company on the above as a 5 star in all the catagories listed.

I tried to rate the 5 stars but it was not holding the clicks.
Pros
Management listens and good working conditions
Cons
The hours are long and hard on family life
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 5Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Saia, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 124 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
2.9
Culture
3.1