Saia, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 118 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stuck in the past. No vision from leadership
President Saia TL Plus, VP Maint. &Real Estate (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 8, 2014
Very interesting and energizing at first. Lack of vision and willingness to change will be limiting factor for this company.
Pros
leading ltl service provider
Cons
no leadership vision at the top
Was this review helpful?Yes28No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Tractor Trailer Truck Driver (Line-haul) (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 29, 2014
Young company with great growth potential. Flexible schedules and hard working individuals.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No15
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy operation that gave its drivers their assignments and gave them the freedom to accomplish their jobs.
P/D Driver/Dock (Former Employee) –  Boise, IDApril 8, 2014
The money is great as well are the benefits. Managements mode of operation was to assist you in being successful at your job and had a very open line of communication.
Pros
excellent pay and benefits
Cons
none that i can think of
Was this review helpful?Yes18No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Line Driver Position
Line Driver (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 17, 2014
Pretrip Power units for run. Hook set of triple trailer set to designated meet point. Drop and hook set coming back to Las Vegas. Break up set to docks and refuel, and Post trip for end of day.
Pros
great work place, good money, and people to work with.
Cons
questionable safety following proceedures
Was this review helpful?Yes23No13
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Dock Associate (Former Employee) –  Fontana, CAFebruary 10, 2014
dock was easy to work good management, fast paced work, great co workers
Was this review helpful?Yes17No9
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging work place
OS &D coordinator (Former Employee) –  Ellenwood, GAFebruary 5, 2014
Skilled in, customer services/call center, billing, data entry, word, excel, power point and explorer
Advance knowledge in shipping & receiving, imports/exports.
Certified forklift driver, knowledge of inbound, outbound shipping procedures and dispatching, AS400
Handled all aspects of haz-mat shipping and disposal
Pros
great pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes8No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terminal in stk was the greatest looking
Dock Worker (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CADecember 19, 2013
learned alot, opportunity for advancement, Terminal Manager was exceptional
Was this review helpful?Yes10No11
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of hard work
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaDecember 12, 2013
Co workers were fun to work with. Worked hard to get freight out the door on time.
Cons
the scheduals can be tough ranging any time from midnight to 6 in the afternoon start times.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
CDL Driver (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCDecember 8, 2013
• Linehaul Driver
• Triples/Doubles
• Hazmat
• Truck drivers transport mass amounts of cargo on large trucks. They inspect and service the vehicle, maintain a truck log that follows proper regulations, maintain contact with dispatch supervisors, operate equipment that loads and unloads the vehicle and collect customer signatures when delivering goods.
• Class A allows drivers to operate any vehicle or combination of vehicles of 26,001 pounds or more.
• Local and long distance driving.
• 2 million miles verifiable safe driving
Pros
teamwork
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes12No14
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Dock worker/Mentor (Current Employee) –  Burr Ridge, ILOctober 23, 2013
The job has personally trained me a lot about logistic and transportation, The only problem i have with them is that it is very difficult to move up in terms of opportunity. The people i work with are great folks and i will miss everyone if i get a chance to leave Saia when i get another job
Pros
pay
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes10No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job fast paced
DOCK WORKER (Former Employee) –  Little Rock AROctober 22, 2013
loved it! Kept me busy while I was there I have heard they"ve switched to casual labor
Was this review helpful?Yes12No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company!!
Receptionist/Assistant (Part-Time) (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GA 30097October 2, 2013
I worked for SAIA as a receptionist part-time, but decided to retire. It was a fun company to work for, and I had received a very good raise!
Was this review helpful?Yes15No10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostile work environment
Inside Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Duluth, GASeptember 26, 2013
My co-workers are great! The management is the worst I've ever seen!
Pros
great pay
Cons
bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes24No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work envrionment, non- stop work
Operations Clerk (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 17, 2013
Typical day at work was also very repetitious and non- stop work. I learned how to work on their particular system. Co-workers were nice, very friendly work environment. Management were fine. There was no hard part of the job.
Cons
hard to get on full time there
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company & Competative Company
Driver Class (Current Employee) –  Sparks, NVSeptember 16, 2013
Have gained much knowledge through my working years with SAIA.
Benefits are great, Pay is very good.

I would rate this company on the above as a 5 star in all the catagories listed.

I tried to rate the 5 stars but it was not holding the clicks.
Pros
management listens and good working conditions
Cons
the hours are long and hard on family life
Was this review helpful?Yes20No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Management
Driver (Former Employee) –  Dearborn, Mi.September 10, 2013
Hired in for a local driver. Worked for 88 days, and was laid off before the 90 days was up so they wouldn't have to pay benefits. The warehouse loaded many of the trailers as- backwards, with the last load on the back of the trailer, and the first load in the front of the trailer. Multiple drops a day, up to 25, and then I was sent to pick up 5 or 6 more to bring back to the warehouse. Like a pizza delivery boy in a semi truck. Dispatch was very unorganized, she was a office girl given a new position into dispatch, and had no idea what she was doing. Sent out with no lift gate, with 20 delivery's of loaded sun glass cases, going to CVS stores, with no order of the shipment to be dropped. The pay was good, but it wasn't worth the stress demanded from a unorganized system. I heard that Saia, removed the management, and dispatch personal, so hopefully everything is much better now.
Pros
pay was good.
Cons
management & dispatch had no idea of how to run a professional trucking company
Was this review helpful?Yes28No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
money great mangement is a dictatorship,supervisors an operations managers suck
Supplemental Dock Specialist (Former Employee) –  Ellenwood, GAAugust 25, 2013
enjoyed my co workers an some of the management staff but Dan the terminal manger was heartless an ruled like a dictator
Pros
the pay
Cons
management dont communicate, rules change everyweek, an no voice in anything have to call corporate to have things change if any
Was this review helpful?Yes16No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great moner
Fork lift Operator (Former Employee) –  Burr Ridge, ILAugust 12, 2013
load and unload trailers, while using a sit down forklift. co workers were very helpful
Pros
great pay
Cons
dusty and dirty place
Was this review helpful?Yes8No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic start up driving job
City Driver (Current Employee) –  San Leandro, CAJuly 31, 2013
This is a good place if you were not taking care of a family. If you are single, this job is nice. Not to hard, not to stable work all year long. Just a Basic job.
Pros
experience
Cons
no stable work all year long
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work at but management sucks
Dock Mentor (Current Employee) –  Grand Prairie, TXJune 9, 2013
The job has personally trained me a lot about logistic and transportation, The only problem i have with them is that it is very difficult to move up in terms of opportunity. The people i work with are great folks and i will miss everyone if i get a chance to leave Saia when i get another job
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 119 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture