Find companies:
Saint Francis Care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
9 reviews

Saint Francis Care Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A critical care unit- that was very rewarding
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), Hartford, CTNovember 8, 2013
worked 12hr shifts. Report, then start with assessments on the most critical pt. including Fluid monitoring, vs, daily hands on care, etc. There were several managers over the last few years the latest this being her 1st Nurse Manager position. My co-workers were a" family". They were there every step of they way in the best of times and in the worst – more... of times. We are forever a part of each other's lives. There are major changes occurring within the system which has made it difficult to work there. When census is low you could easily be staff reduced 2 hrs. before going in and when working nights that is extremely difficult. Then there is the recent new hires that make the shifts also over staffed - leading to reductions. There are little things that seem tedious. The best parts were the co-workers, the pts. and they're families. There are some wonderful memories of the people have met, and many still remember me and will specifically ask for me when they visit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, gaining experience, and great people to work with
Admitting Registrar (Current Employee), Hartford, CTApril 29, 2013
Pros: pay(differentials)
- A typical day consists of dealing with patients and collecting information. some patients are calm and others are uncontrolable bc of drugs or alcohol.
- I'm learning how to deal with all kinds of people and patients.
- The managment is great and does whatever they can to help me out.
- My co-workers are very helpful and answered or helped me out – more... with any questions I had when I first started.
- The hardest part of the job would have to be trying to ask an out of control patient to answer questions and just trying to get any information form them at all.
- The most enjoyable part of the job would have to be the people I'm working with. They were very accepting of me when i started are a good group of people to work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caring Hearts / Struggling Leadership
Mental Health Worker (Current Employee), Hartford, CTMarch 9, 2013
Pros: patient care, group facilitation, socialization, learning.
Cons: lack of consistency, unhealthy leadership standards.
I love helping people. To go home at the end of the day feeling like I might have inspired someone or made a difference in a life, makes what I do worth it. Unfortunately, working for a company where I feel under-valued and under-challenged makes my morale less then stellar. I am the type of individual that thrives very well when I am given a challenge – more... and the autonomy to meet the challenge. Leadership in this facility does not live up to these standards, and it affects the quality of care that the overall team provides, ultimately having the greatest effect on the patient population. My typical day at work involves 15 minute patient observations, vital signs, facilitating a group or two, and fulfilling patient needs. As a bachelors prepared employee, I feel that we are capable of doing much more. I learn the most in my job from the patient population I serve. They offer the most insight through critique and evaluation.
My co-workers all have very good hearts, but I feel they are burned out and affected by hidden leadership as well. Listening to employees verbalizes their frustration, and the transference that takes place in a given day is what I would consider to be the hardest part of my job. Given that I am on a journey to grow as a healthcare leader, using good communication and effective teamwork models as my leadership style, I find it difficult on a daily basis to watch a lack of these important standards take place, most of the time feeling like I lack a voice in my own work environment. With continued employment and a new environment, I hope I can find these important standards that my current employment has been lacking. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and friendly environment on a dual diagnosis unit
Mental Health Assistant (Current Employee), Hartford, CTFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: employees gain earned time off for personal time
Educational because we receive so many different types of people with different problems. Management is fair and coworkers are available for help.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complicated workplace
Emergency Room Unit Secretary (Former Employee), Hartford, CTSeptember 15, 2012
Pros: helping people in need
Cons: management needs to be more well organized
I worked as a Unit Secretary in the Emergency Room/Trauma Room. The position itself was satifying because I was helping individuals. Most of the co-workers were respectful and worked hard to maintain integrity, respect and privacy for the patients. The management did not work well together and created a lot of difficult situations within the workplace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and nice place to work
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Topeka, KSJuly 17, 2012
Pros: loved my job working with mother's and their newborns
Worked in the Nursery, assisted mothers in nursing their babies. Cleaned up newborns, took vital signs, feed newborns.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great group of colleagues, challenging work, too much emphasis on case management, and very little patient contact
Clinical Social Worker (Former Employee), St. Francis Hospital and Medical CenterJuly 8, 2012
Pros: great colleagues, fun environment, rewarding contact with patients
Cons: too much time spent dealing with insurance companies
Loved my job at St. Francis but was unable to continue there when my job became focused on utilization review, rather than direct care with patients. Management was unorganized and sporadic, there were no opportunities for advancement. Insurance companies began to actually sit in rounds and dictate treatment and the clinicians were forced to discharge – more... patients who were not well enough to leave.

I loved being part of a clinical team and everything that entailed. The collaboration of many different disciplines was valuable and rewarding, Direct care with the patients was rewarding and challenging, but it got to the point where we, as clinicians were unable to work with patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to work
Certified Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Hartford, CTJune 11, 2012
Pros: a wonderful place to work
Night Shift
How to work a night shift with ease and comfort
Wonderful management
Awesome people to work with many of whom I became close friends with
Driving through the city at night
Enjoyed my position there completely

About Saint Francis Care

Saint Francis Care, an integrated healthcare delivery system in central Connecticut, is the largest Catholic healthcare provider – Read more

Saint Francis Care Photos