Find companies:
Saint Joseph's University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15 reviews

Saint Joseph's University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing opportunities for growth, but limited growth within institution.
Administration (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJune 4, 2014
Pros: tuition remission, work life balance, pto and sick leave, spiritual development
Cons: little room for advancement, low pay.
Great benefits, amazing work-life balance, free higher education, wonderful community. The only problem is that there is no track for advancement, and wages are below industry rates. I know that after I leave SJU I will never find a job that offers so many benefits and a culture that seems to care so much for its employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fast paced environment
Public Safety Lead Dispatcher (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 30, 2014
Pros: health benefits and uniform allowances
Cons: short breaks and not enough vacation time
Majority of the time its busy but I've learned how to multi-task and be proficient with obtaining information. Management is fair for the most part. They try to create a enjoyable work environment. The co-workers are friendly and enjoyable. The hardest part of the job is trying to balance all aspects of the job duties. The most enjoyable part is learning – more... new things about the job – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and challenging.
Security Dispatcher (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMay 23, 2014
Pros: multitasking and challenging.
Must answer phone calls and take calls over the radio. Be able to monitor CCTV. Greet people in a professional manner when they enter the office and assist them as needed. Dispatch officers to emergencies and on other calls as needed. Sold parking permits and handled citation disputes. Handle every crisis in a calm and professional manner. Ensure that – more... all monies are accounted for locked up at the end of my shift. Documented and entered all information into the computer. This job taught me a lot about multitasking and working in a fast paced environment. I worked with a great team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fantastic University
Research Assistant (Former Employee), PhiladelphiaApril 28, 2014
A great university with top notch education. Studying at Saint Joseph's and working here was amazing. P
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 25, 2014
I learned a lot working in the lab, and was able to hone in on my scientific comprehension and writing skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Challenging
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 18, 2014
Pros: learning while support myself
Cons: salary not as good as some other university
Being a Graduate Teaching Assistant is challenging.

Not only do you have to take good care of your students, but also get
your own course work done well.

I enjoy helping others and make progress together with them. I also love my major which always make me full of passion!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Interesting place to work for
Graduate Assistant (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAFebruary 5, 2014
Students are friendly and cooperative
Teachers keeps me up to date with lesson plan
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Institution with a Corporate Structure
Director of Travel Services (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: 4 weeks vacation, educational advancement, winter break
Cons: short staffed department, salaries are lower than corporate
Wonderful place to work. Educational Advancement opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Head Strength and Conditioning Coach (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 30, 2013
7a-5p work day
Great management
Great co-workers
Hardest Part: Early mornings
Most enjoyable: My job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Review
Director, Online and Continuing education (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAOctober 17, 2013
Assisted the Associate Dean in modeling and preparing the annual budgeting and revenue forecasts for CPLS, lead the CPLS implementation of new university technologies, work closely with all of the members of CPLS staff, serve on technological advisory committees and collaborate with administrative and academic constituencies throughout the University. – more... Develop and teach online courses as part of Saint Joseph's University‚Äôs Online Bachelor Degree Completion Program as well as manage its continuing education programs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People are very respectful
Student Worker (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PaSeptember 18, 2013
Peers and co-workers all for the most part are very respectful and helpful to one another.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Atmosphere.
Desk Attendant (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 18, 2013
Pros: good benefits & working environment.
Cons: two months off in summer with no pay or unemployment.
I work the overnnight shift, so a typical night for me is signing in & out all student guests. Taking time to talk with the students so they know that they are safe when I'm on duty.
I learned thru the students how hard college really is. What they learn & take with them in life has me motivated to apply fro a class.
The management at St. Joseph's University – more... are good. They make sure that I have what I may need & responding very quickly in all incidents
I believe the hardest part of any job is what you make it. I don't let the job work me, I work the job. Meaning I do what is expected of me & more in a sufficient about of time where all my duties for that shift is completed.
The enjoyable part of my job is able to get up & go to work. A lot of times I may say "I don't want to go to work!", but I'm saying it as I'm walking out the door on my way to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and busy place to work
Gate Attendant (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAAugust 5, 2013
I enjoyed my whole 9 years of working with S.J.U. my co workers were team players,I've learned to deal with the public,and the hardest part of my job was working through the winter.The management is fair and everything was enjoyable to me at S.J.U..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounting Major Student/IT Department
Student/IT Department (Current Employee), Merion Station, PAAugust 15, 2012
Pros: experience with microsoft excel, word, and outlook, installing updates.
As a student, I take 5 classes a semester, usually including 2 accounting courses per semester.

In the IT Department, I reset computers for donation (installing Windows 7), and I install updates on the computers in each room in a specific building