Find companies:
Saint Joseph Mercy Health System
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
20 reviews

Saint Joseph Mercy Health System Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learnt hand on by implementing the Meditech live at their facilities during Go live
Integration Test Analyst (Current Employee), Anaheim, CAFebruary 18, 2014
Learnt hand on by implementing the Meditech live at their facilities during Go live
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reliable job with great benefits
Patient Services Assistant II (Current Employee), Ann Arbor, MIFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: no room for advancement
Working at St. Joseph Mercy Health System has been a wonderful experience. I enjoy working with my boss and co-workers. I've learned the ins and outs of healthcare and customer service. The hardest part of my job has been the turn over in staff and trying to maintain consistency with our patients care.

The most enjoyable part of my work relationship – more... has been the wonderful people I've met throughout the years and the great leadership I've been under. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive place and offer good benefit
Material Handler and Mail Clerk (Former Employee), Lexington, KYJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: everything was good
Cons: nothing to complaints about
Nice people to work with and offer good benefits and good environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really great atmosphere
Data Analyst (Former Employee), Irvine, CANovember 14, 2013
Loved the environment here. Lots of places to go to have a quiet meeting or get some 'crunch' time in. People here are very diverse and respectful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Collections Specialist (Former Employee), Lexington, KYOctober 15, 2013
Pros: great environment
Cons: didn't know the billing and coding yet at the time.
I enjoyed my job. It was a learning experience while I was in school. It was complicated but I enjoyed it. Considering I was learning Billing and Coding at the time it was complicated in learning one way at school and then another way at work. But I enjoyed it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good organization to work for
Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MISeptember 27, 2013
Plenty of work
Lots of opportunity to learn and grow
Many wonderful people to work with
Changes continue to take place that create opportunities for growth and upward mobility
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The discounts were great.
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee), Savannah, GAAugust 28, 2013
Pros: discount.
Cons: not enough money for the job.
Getting my assignment, and report while making my rounds and meeting my patients I really did enjoy it. the co-workers were okay. and the hardest part of my job was working short on the night shift and it was so much require to do on the night shift. But I love the job. and what I did.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work enviroment
CPht Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Ann Arbor, MIAugust 23, 2013
Pros: paid vacation
Cons: compete for days off
some times busy, how to deal with customers, co-workers are pleasant people
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A organization that is focused on patient care but does not acknowledge/reward it's employees often enough.
Patient Financial Services (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MIJuly 27, 2013
Pros: some great coworkers, ot availability
Cons: no sick time available for employees, poor management
As with many departments within the facility, it had its share of office politics, favoritism, constantly changing management, unhappy employees. No raise for many years, and when a raise did occur, insurance premiums raised at the same time. There was no room for advancement. Management did not cease the activity of employees not contributing their – more... fair share of job performance and it often fell on other employees. There is no sick time available for employees, which makes it difficult if you become ill or a family member does. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small town hospital with a big heart
Student Radiologic Technologist (Former Employee), Howell, MIJuly 15, 2013
As a radiological technology student I would show up early in the morning and start by cleaning and stocking all exam rooms, dressing rooms, and control area. I would prepare the fluoro room for all the scheduled exams for the day. A variety of diagnostic images would be taken through out the day on outpatient, inpatient and ED patients. All the Technologist – more... were great with the patients and helpful when showing us new or different techniques/procedures. The hardest part of the job is seeing the terminally ill patients. The best part of the job is knowing that I am helping people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hospital but poor work environment
Patient Reimbursement Specialist (Former Employee), Ypsilanti, MIJuly 6, 2013
My experience as an employee was not positive. My manager was unqualified, unprofessional, and an awful role model. I was disappointed that human resources never appeared to investigate any of the numerous complaints made about this manager. We were an offsite location, so I cannot say that this sort of behavior is tolerated within the hospital but – more... for such a great hospital it was surprising. Fortunately, this manager left the organization for another position a few years after I resigned. I would absolutely recommend this hospital for care, but I personally would think twice before working there again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Medical Biller/Coder (Current Employee), Tawas City, MIJune 1, 2013
Pros: work hours
Cons: not enough room for advancement
Busy work day, learned a lot to further my career. Management is alright, but some co-workers are hard to work with. The hardest part of the job is keeping a balance on what is needed, changes from day to day. I enjoy what I do and like learning new things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If only they had better supervisors/managers
Finance Department (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MIMarch 15, 2013
Pros: great co- workers
Cons: horrible supervisors, and management
I enjoyed my job when I was there, left because it moved further away, came back and had the absolute worst trainer, and boss ever!!!!! It`s sad because people like that make it hard for you to even enjoy your work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
ER technician (Current Employee), Brighton, miDecember 28, 2012
Pros: coworkers, management, work environment
Cons: availability of shifts
Co workers are friendly and very helpful. Management very helpful and attentive to needs. I work in the ED and I love it here. Benefits are pretty decent and pay is very reasonable. Equipment is good and repairs get done quickly. I would recommend this company to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, decent pay and benefits.
Transport (Current Employee), Ann Arbor, MINovember 29, 2012
Pros: flexible schedules, and decent benefit packages.
Cons: little to no raises, small margin for advancement within department
Overall a good company to work for. They are very flexible and work well with adapting schedules around personal and educational commitments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend SJM HOMECARE to anyone
RN/ case manager (Former Employee), Ann Arbor,MIOctober 30, 2012
Pros: the patients
Cons: terrible management, zero work-life balance
I completely agree with review above titled "I felt like I was in nursing school again- awful". The management was awful and the turnover of nurses is constant. I was there for under 2 years and was there longer than most nurses. I loved Homecare but working for the management at SJM HOMECARE to be unbearable and the demands placed on us could not be – more... met unless I spent absolutely all Waking hours working- I neglected my husband and young son and that is the reason I ultimately left. – less

MMari – June 28, 2013

I have worked at St. Joes for over 10 years now and am still at the bottom of the pay scale. I would NOT reccomend anyone getting a job here! They hire some of the most incompetent managers. It is all about the money....no one see it but them!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Felt Like I Was In Nursing School Again..Awful!!!
RN case manager (Former Employee), Ann Arbor, MISeptember 10, 2012
Pros: great benefits, many nice co-workers
Cons: type a micromanaging management, rns treated like they are stupid and incompetent, poor equipment, drive more than 100 miles daily
Despite the advice of friends who had worked previously for St. Joseph home care I took a job in their home care branch. I have two decades experience in the position I hired for and felt that I could handle the "difficult management." I was so, so wrong! Within eight weeks all the RNs I attended orientation with had left. Orientation was horrible-no – more... real schedule or evaluation forms, constant change including a call after 10pm the night prior to a class regarding change of site to another building more than an hour drive from the original site of orientation. The educator was constantly late as well but beware if you are late! Their laptops are more than 10 years old and require constant attention and repairs. And despite the need to drive several hours a day to patients homes and to the office we were required to immediately bring in the computers for repairs if needed. At the same time we were expected to have all documentation done immediately and transferred to the office three times per day. I was actually chastised for not doing this despite the fact that my computer never ran correctly and I was in the computer office DAILY. The documentation for a regular visit required as much information as an admit! Documentation is expected to be in full sentences all words spelled out like a novel. A regular note took me a minimum of 45 minutes. All notes had to be proof read by a manager with the writer present (in addition to doing visits and driving more than 100 miles daily) . Almost all staff were new or preparing to leave. This is not the home care I am used to. Expectations are way out of line regarding what is reasonable and there is NO way that anyone can meet them. I actually saw/ heard several employees lie outright to cover up the fact that they could not handle their work load thus making other staff look bad. Some of the management staff are rude and demeaning towards new staff. I felt like I was in nursing school again, an experience that I would not ever care to repeat! Would not recommend this workplace for anyone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A healthcare institution devoted to their patients, but not so much their employees.
Registered Radiographer (Former Employee), Saline, MIAugust 9, 2012
Pros: decent health insurance benefits
Cons: unreasonable rules for employee sick days
I would arrive at work depending on my scheduled time and begin taking over for the previous shift. My co-workers and myself would spend the day taking care of our patients with care and respect letting them know we truly cared and they appreciated it. We did this most of the time with no management available. I learned many things while working at – more... SJMHS, some good, some not so good. What really counts though is that I went to work everyday I was scheduled and did the best job I was capable of doing for the company I worked for. I went above and beyond for my patients. The hardest part of my job was dealing with the politics of hospital business and the best part was the patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An engaging project that used various industrial engineering tools that I learned through my education at Texas A&M University
Capstone Senior Design Project - Team Leader (Former Employee), Bryan, TXMay 15, 2012
By far the best project that I have done so far. Our team, composed of 5 students, had the task to provide a solution to the work flow, inventory placement that St. Joseph presented to us.

This project is done as the last course you take before graduating as an undergraduate and it was a very rewarding experience as we were able to work together with – more... a company that values its customers and employees.

We accomplished our goal of creating a new layout for their distribution center that will reduce the time and distance traveled when order picking the different items around the DC. We also designed a new labeling scheme to identify the items. – less