Find companies:
Saint Paul Public Schools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 reviews

Saint Paul Public Schools Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the Students
Kindergarten Teacher (Current Employee), Saint Paul, MNMay 4, 2014
I have learned much at my job in the Saint Paul Public Schools. I think the most important skills that I have continued to develop are my communication skills. Being with the students everyday is the most enjoyable part of my job and having to test so often is the most challenging part of my job. My co-workers are great; they share ideas and have helped – more... me often over the past year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work with great management
Nutrition Services Assistant (Current Employee), Saint Paul, MNDecember 28, 2013
Pros: it is a job where you get to communicate frequently with others!
Cons: schools out during the summer!
On a typical day I prep and prepare breakfast and lunch for students. At days end I also do necessary paper work for production throughout the day. I have also gained the responsibility to count and put in our milk order which has to be done two to three times a week. I have learned a lot about the food service side of things and if offered would be – more... willing for advancement. I believe management is great and is always looking for ways to teach employees how to succeed! I don't really believe there is a hardest part of the job, you just have to be on your p's and q's because things can get hectic with lunch times and change at any moment with very little notice! I believe the most enjoyable part of the job is getting to see your customers which are the kids and some teachers enjoy your product and want to come back for more! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work with disbiliarty
Teacher Aide (Former Employee), St. Paul, MNDecember 22, 2013
Pros: lunch half of the day
Cons: short break
I work with one client with deaf need to work together and teach to settle down
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work.
Facility Service Worker (Former Employee), St. Paul,MNNovember 18, 2013
Pros: close to home.
In a typical day I would be in my assigned area cleaning. Management was very helpful. My co-workers were also helpful with any questions I had. The hardest part of the job was removing ice from the sidewalks after a snowy weekend. the most enjoyable part of my job was being able to see a finished product wen I was done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All good, except poor training
Teaching Assistant / Behavioral Intervention (Current Employee), Saint Paul, MNJuly 3, 2013
Pros: social environment
Cons: providing support for individuals experiencing high levels of stress.
I am part of a behavior intervention team that supports regular education classrooms for grades K through 3. Since starting there I have learned to work under pressure with individuals who are under a lot of stress. Management provides support and advice when I need it and my job couldn't be done without our management team. My coworkers teach me a – more... great deal of what has helped me to grow and be successful. The hardest part of this job is working under pressure with our young people when they're experiencing high levels of stress. The most enjoyable part of this work is the moments of success and the long term changes and success of the young people I work with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substitute Teacher
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNJune 20, 2013
Fill in when a teacher requests a day off. Can schedule online at least a week in advance, which is convenient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Clubby" provincial administrators at district and site levels; disrespectful unhealthy political environment
Teacher (Current Employee), St. Paul, MNMay 8, 2013
Pros: compensation isn't bad
Cons: poor, political, clubby administration
I have been teaching for St. Paul Schools for 5 years. At the end of this year, I will leave to teach overseas. I have taught for 7 different districts/organizations in different countries and cities in the U.S. Of all of the districts, St. Paul Public Schools is the most dysfunctional in the sense that admin is really a "good ol'boys/girls" club made – more... up of St. Paul locals and lifers, most of whom grew up in St.Paul (most have never lived anywhere else), are very provincial and watch each others' backs at the expense of children. If a teacher (especially a non-entrenched teacher) has an issue with admin., the Workforce Manager (not a teacher) will come with the assumption that the teacher is wrong and do anything in her power to try to "stick it to the teacher" (even though the teacher may have been doing an excellent job as demonstrated by test scores and reviews), in the case that there is an issue with the principal, even if the principal is not acting in the best interest of students. This is a district that bends over backwards to support even the most despicable principals, but that has not respect for teachers who have made a difference for children. It is no coincidence that the positive reviews were not written by teachers, and in one case written by a temporary clerk who was with the district for a short time. The teachers in this district are too provinical, too poorly traveled and too clubby to close the achievement gap in any significant way. I do not recommend this organization for teachers, students or families. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment with nice co-workers.
Teaching Assistant II (Current Employee), Saint Paul, MNMay 2, 2013
Great co-workers. A lot of professional development, heavy workload and large class sizes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy the educational work environment
Campus - Clerk Typist II (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNJanuary 9, 2013
Love working with students, staffs and parents
Answering phones and assisting with students, staff and parents

– January 31, 2013

A clerk typist who thinks it's a "fun" place to work does not reflect the experience of someone involved in the main mission of the organization which is educating students. This review is worthless.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Temporary Inventory (Former Employee), Saint Paul, MNMay 15, 2012
The Co-workers were nice even though, I only worked there for a couple of days. They were very welcoming and nice.

– January 31, 2013

Someone who worked in SPPS for "a couple of days" can't possibly fairly and accurately evaluate this organization. Someone who participates in the main business of the org.- which should be education, but is unfortunately provincialism, cronyism and politics - such as teachers, admin, students, etc. can evaluate such a place. this is an inaccurate reflection of the district and should be removed.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management/Admin lack understanding of teaching students in their schools and do not know how to allocate resources Also very political environment
Teacher (Former Employee), Humboldt SecondaryFebruary 27, 2012
Pros: the students are generally great, many teachers are very committed, school site has a lot of extracurricular offerings
Cons: unmanageable work load, lack of admin support, political environment, unethical admin
I was hired to teach in a subject matter area in which I wasn't actually licensed. This would have resulted in students not receiving credit for courses I taught in this area. After I communicated with district personnel about this, I was targeted by the principal and rated very poorly on a subjective rubric. Some of the things that were rated relatively – more... highly were actually weaker areas, and areas rated poorly were not actually areas of concern, but rather reflected current political incorrectness to be evaluated poorly in these areas. A poor rating in area such as, "All students were engaged in the lesson", is grounds for concern and a reason to place on an improvement plan. i had only worked in a high school setting for 2 months when I was placed on this plan. i had up to 40 students at various levels of proficiency in the subject area and my Educ Assistant was pulled daily to translate for one parent or family. When I brought this to the Principal's attention, he was unable to grasp the fact that one teacher could not teach 40 students who had not enlish language and who were at levels varying from kindergarten skills to college level skills. He refused to support me in any way. He and his AP barely spoke to me for the entire time I was there. His reviews were dishonest, capricious and arbitrary. His suggestions showed a complete lack of understanding of ESL learning theory and his advice and reviews of ESL teachers have no value since he is so out of touch with the reality of second language acquisition. Neither he nor his AP are well traveled and neither speak another language. Both, despite being native English speakers, have multiplce grammar and syntactical errors in both oral and written communication but criticize teachers if a beginning language learner has a grammar error. For me this was an unmanageable job. I worked 65+ hours per week and got no support from admin here. I felt it was an unsafe harrassing environment. When you don't support and when you provide a harassing climate for a teacher, it can't help but hurt students. Maybe that's why this school's scores are among the lowest in the state and probably the lowest in the district. This was a very upsetting and disappointing experience and I am very happy to be in an organization where supervisors create a culture of respect and support. To sum up, the principal at this site is dishonest, lacks knowledge about certain groups (40% of his school site), and is very political and vindictive. For this reason some support this administrator. The truth is, he doesn't have the ethics or knowledge to affect achievement in a large way, even though the teachers at this site are excellent. – less