Saint Thomas Hospital Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 28 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting surgeries
Registered Nurse, Operating Room (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHFebruary 26, 2016
Typical day would be 3-4 orthopedic cases, ranging from spine to total joints. Able to communicate with patients, at least for a short time!
Pros
wide variety of surgeries
Cons
no advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment
Certified Nuclear Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNJanuary 12, 2016
Great work and positive environment
and I am proud to say that work at Saint Thomas West Hospital and would recommend the employment to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A well organized and growth promoting environment
Lead Help Desk Support / Computer Operator (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJune 17, 2013
My days at St. Thomas Hospital consisted of taking “Help-Desk” Calls, resolving or rerouting tickets, and running daily jobs and back-ups. The job was very process driven and though it was challenging at times having a strong process in place kept things moving. The company is very focused on “on-job” training to keep up with changing technologies and advancement. Management was always someone I could look to for guidance and support.
Pros
process oriented, on-job training, strong managment
Cons
required to take a lot of "on-call"
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager left much to be desired
Emergency Department RN (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNApril 19, 2015
Pompous docs and overbearing management. Administration had a hard time deducing why satisfaction numbers dropped shortly after each staffing cut back.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back place to work, great staff
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNAugust 11, 2013
A typical night at work consist of a twelve hour shift. Great place for advancement.
Pros
hours, great staff, great management.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pharmacy Tech
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNOctober 13, 2012
I refill Cerner med machines with medications in the morning. Work with CPOE and Cerner along with interacting one-on-one with nurses and clinicians.
Pros
benefits, pay
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telecommunications
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJuly 18, 2015
This was the first telecommunications job I have had and I must say that I enjoyed it. It is a nice place to work. The people are great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and family orientated and good coworkers. The patience was very friendly Management was very understanding and friendly
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJanuary 13, 2015
Fun and family orientated and good coworkers. The patience was very friendly Management was very understanding and friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, flexiblility with schedules
Registered Nurse, Critical Care Unit (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNSeptember 13, 2012
I have been an employee for almost 12 years and the work relationships I have developed with people keep me there more than anything. The job is very hard labor. The coworkers are great team players. The hardest part of the job is the total patient care. The stress of critical care and some days you are saving someone's life your entire 12 hour shift. No breaks, no time to do anything but stay in it. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the great staff members and being able to work together in every situation.
Pros
health, dental, vision, 403b, pension plans, flexible schedules
Cons
front loaded paid time off, changed insurance carrier-more expensive, total patient care becoming more difficult physically and stressful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers were family, helped each other
Dietary, St Thomas Hospital (1985 - 1996) (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNOctober 22, 2012
St Thomas very good place to work, good benefits. Supervisiors
were very helpful. Coworkers willing to help when they could.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job in pharmacy
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee) –  Nashville,TNJuly 12, 2013
I love the fact that I learned so much and was able to meet a lot of great people.
Pros
hours and benefits
Cons
not enough orgaization/accountability
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for profit health ministry.
Property Assistant (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNNovember 30, 2014
Dispatched maintenance team and environment services on routine work orders requested by building tenants. Conducted inspections in common areas of the buildings. Maintained life safety and building documentation needed by tenants for their Joint Commission and State Health accreditation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved this place. Feels like a second home
Patient Care Technician Clinicals (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNDecember 16, 2014
Went here for CNA classes, I;d give anything to go back here to work or just be a student, I actually miss it here.
Pros
my nursing instructor, help me overcome many things.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i would rate it a 9
Phlebotomist (Current Employee) –  Nashville Tn.August 11, 2014
Saint Thomas is a great place to work, if I had to do it all over again I would . my patient is the most important persons to me I love how every day is different.I've learn how special people are,and how to treat people
Pros
be very careful how you treat people .enjoy what you do and do it well.
Cons
stay away from stuff
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Evaluate and administer RT to patients in Nursing home
Lead Registered Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNSeptember 23, 2013
Instructing patients and family on care
Taught BLS and other in services to staff .
Developed protocol for Respiratory Therapy

Loved teaching in services
The hardest part of the job were the late nights and weekends
Pros
set my own hours during the day
Cons
24hr call
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
spent 6 plus years there
BOILER TECHNICIAN, PLANT OPERATIONS (Former Employee) –  nashville tnOctober 5, 2012
enjoyed my time there still adjusting from miltary to civialian life, learned a few more things about equipment there.
Pros
great place to work
Cons
none to comment on
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fulfilling workplace
Auditor/Biller (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNJanuary 29, 2014
would bill insurance and interact with insurance companies and patients on the phone...very respectful workplace and environment
Pros
the work was satisfying
Cons
no cons about it..
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy place to work
Cath Lab Charge Nurse (Current Employee) –  Nashville, TNMay 28, 2014
Managed procedure rooms, staff, physicians, cases is a sometimes difficult juggling act. Do enjoy my co-workers and physicians are always helpful
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RN Emergency Room and Radiology
RN (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNAugust 3, 2013
This was my first experience working in an emergency room. I loved the challenge of discovering the patients diagnosis and treating them appropriately.
Pros
good working environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the values orientation of this company.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNDecember 4, 2013
The most enjoyable part of my job was the ministry of Nursing, which I loved.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 28 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
4.1
Management
3.7
Culture
4.2

Saint Thomas Hospital Reviews by Location