Find companies:
Saks Fifth Avenue
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
362 reviews

Saks Fifth Avenue Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great partnership with Store Operations and Sales
Asset Protection Investigator (Current Employee), Palm Beach Gardens, FLApril 12, 2014
Great place to work to build your experience in Asset Protection.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with but very little money.
DVF Specialist / Sales Associate (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 9, 2014
Pros: on site employee cafeteria with food. lots of events, great discounts
Cons: non union work. almost no bussiness in the summer, more associates than clients. draw vs commission.
The job is fun. Tipical retail on a massive scale. wide range of clients. great discounts and benefits. The bad thing is the Draw vs commission system. You have to sell $6200 each week before you start making commission. And no, you don't get paid for the $6200. If you don't sell over $6200 a week, you end up in Arrears and they will discount the difference – more... from your future pay. The job would be faboulous had it not being for this. The turn about rate is pretty high with most associates leaving before one year. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stocking
Cosmetics Supervisor (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 9, 2014
Pros: great benefits
Cons: overnight hours
Learned a lot about shipping, receiving, stocking, and damages.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place.
Fragrance Specialist (Former Employee), Houston, TXApril 5, 2014
*Laid back selling atmosphere.No micro-management. Excellect employee discount.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work enviroment
Sales Consultant (Former Employee), Orlando, FLMarch 31, 2014
Pros: great place to work it
Cons: none.
greet clients and assisted customer. I learn to perform in a higher standard of service for my clients. the management was well organized n very knowledgeable. I worked with great people from all around the world who brought part of their culture and experience with them to make Sacks a great place to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fashion forward, fun, rewarding
Beauty Stylist/Business Manager/Personal Shopper (Current Employee), Boston, MAMarch 31, 2014
A typical day at work consists of clientelling, building relationships, strategically building your business, wardrobing women in both fashion and beauty.

It is a rewarding position that allows you to empower the way woman dress and feel.

I have enjoyed building my business, and working hard to earn associate recognition and awards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Sales Associate (Current Employee), City of Sunrise, FLMarch 28, 2014
Pros: sometimes free food, pay
Cons: bad hours, sometimes no break, and the store gets really messy sometimes.
A typical day at work would be walk in, put on the walkie talkie, check where you are stationed at for the day, and go to that place. The day would consist of helping customers and maybe cashiering depending on how busy the day is. If you are closing you would work on recovery also. The management is okay they just give hours more randomly at certain – more... times of the year. The hardest part of the job would be how much you have to be on your feet and how messy the store can get and the most enjoyable part is all the customers you meet and cashiering. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still on the fence
Not Listed (Current Employee), Out side of NYMarch 21, 2014
Still on the fence if I like working here or not. Time will tell.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
call center atmosphere
Customer service representative (Current Employee), Jackson, MSMarch 20, 2014
I like to interact in person with people and this job does not provide that. It is very hard for me to take up to 900 calls a day sitting in a cubicle.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing perks, lots of drama and gossiping on sales floor
Fine Jewelry Sales Associate/ Assistant (Former Employee), Beverly Hills, CAMarch 20, 2014
You were one of three hundred sales associates, given goals and tools to meet your sales goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst job ever
Fine Jewlery sales person (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 20, 2014
Pros: being around amazing fashion, meeting high end clientele, beautiful store
Cons: unfair commission policy, ridiculous discount program, awful managers
this job could be either great or horrible. there are people who make tons of money because theyre in a good department thats always busy, and there are people who are in a slow department where you basically have to just hope for a good sale (like me). I started saks coming from another high end retail store where i made tons of money, they put me – more... in a department that wasnt doing so well and got barely any traffic sometimes i wouldnt sell anything all day. managers were awful and the bad management is exactly why the department did as bad as it did. I honestly dont think there is such a thing as customer service or a decent human resources department in the city. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for growth
Client Services Associate (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXMarch 18, 2014
Pros: free lunches when you attented product training classes, good insurance packages, great 401k plans
Cons: there was always tension in the store conveyed by upper management, our customers would comment on it on a daily basis
Great co workers and management team, but unfortunately there was little to no room for growth at the store. Upper management however, wasn't very uplifting or positive.

The greatest part of my job was helping an upset customer and having them leave with a smile on their face having solved their problems.

Working for this company helped teach me to – more... have a little more patience in every situation the occurs in life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strictly for retail professionals who give best in class service
Footwear Specialist & Personal Shopper (Former Employee), New York, NYMarch 17, 2014
A typical work day would be to analyze and review the client data in CC Ambassador, while also sending thank you cards to high potential clients. Sometimes, designers would come in and give the shoe team private informative clinics so we could effectively sell their brand. I learned that you have to have composure, patience and high level of organization – more... skills. I learned the importance of a client book, building the client relationship and cross-selling. Lastly, I learned the importance of building selling relationships through the entire store so that your customer was given a high level of service throughout their entire shopping experience.

My co-workers were also result driven. We all had a common goal and it was to be retail professionals.

The hardest part of the job getting returns in a commission environment. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning how to run my own business under the umbrella of Saks Fifth Avenue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No respect for personal life,
Merchandising & Visual Manager (Current Employee), Elizabeth, NJMarch 17, 2014
Pros: merchandise quality!!
Cons: long hours of work no respect for days off.
High volume store
Major objective;
Store merchandising & visual presentation, supervising 86 employees, sales strategies, employee’s development and talent recruitment.
-Visuals: setting up store displays, windows and mannequins following company standards and in season flow & marketing.
-Planning: preparing for new vendors arrivals as per Store configuration, – more... fix Turing, doing adjustments base on store needs, opportunities and business strategies.
-Store department’s set up: Markdowns, return to vendors, transfers, direct vendors inventory and allocations
- Upper management very Unprofessional. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company undergoing change
Omni Planner- Women's Designer Shoes (Current Employee), New York, NYMarch 14, 2014
Good company undergoing change. I've learned how to manage multiple businesses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace workforce with large lunch room
Match Team Coordinator/Trainer (Former Employee), Aberdeen, MDMarch 7, 2014
Pros: large lunch room
Cons: work days not 8 hours only got 32 hours a week
A typical day would start by getting printouts to verify Accounts Payable balances.

I learned how to work well with co-workers to finish projects .

My co-workers were easy to work with as a team.

The hardest part of my job was not getting printouts on time.

I enjoyed being able to clear balances off of the books.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Working place
Retail Associate (Former Employee), Palm Beach GardensMarch 1, 2014
Pros: free lunches, networking, clean atmosphere
Cons: on your feet kind of job
I enjoy my time while I was there. I had to leave due to the planning of my wedding. I enjoyed working with customers individually, coordinating their clothes for big events. My co-workers were competitive just as I was. Clean and professional atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SHOE CARE!
Sales Associate / Denim Stylist (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 28, 2014
NOT BAD FOR MY FIRST JOB,LEARNED HOW TO BE AMBITIOUS AND COMPETITIVE ON THE SALES FLOOR.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
get cafe
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), jackson msFebruary 27, 2014
best job you could ask for.. offers work from home. great staff and everyone got alone great.. never had to leave for lunch the jc cafe was great with breakfast and lunch.. its also a saks fifth located inside the building
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LYING AND DECEIVING.....
anonymous (Former Employee), New York StateFebruary 25, 2014
Pros: there is absolutely nothing positive about this place nothing at all....
Cons: management is deceiving, disrespectful and inconsiderate
MANAGEMENT WILL TEAR YOU APART AND ALL THE COVERING UP THAT GOES ON IN THE STORE IS JUST UNBELIEVEABLE.... THEY PROMISE YOU ALL THESE THINGS WHEN YOU GET HIRED, AND THEN POOF THEY ARE ALL GONE.... THEY ARE RUDE, INCONSIDERATE OF YOUR LIFE COMMITMENTS AND THEY DON'T RESPECT THAT YOU HAVE OTHER COMMITMENTS IE SCHOOL, KIDS ETC ETC.... SAVE YOURSELF THE – more... TIME AND DONT APPLY HERE.... THEY WILL TEAR YOU APART.... THEY PUT ALL OF THIS STRESS ON YOU TO PERFORM TO "COMPANY STANDARDS" AND THEN THEY JUST DONT APPRECIATE ANYTHING FROM THE EMPLOYEES....... MANAGEMENT AND THE WHOLE STORE IS DISRESPECTFUL AND THEY JUST DONT CARE ABOUT THE WORKING CLASS EMPLOYEES.... ALL THEY CARE ABOUT IS WORKING YOU TO UR BRINK AND MAKING MONEY OFF OF IT..... HEED MY WARNING BC I DEALT WITH IT AND ITS SOMETHING TO MAKE SURE U REALLY WANT TO APPLY HERE AND JUST A FAIR WARNING FROM A REAL HARD WORKER THAT EVER DID ANYTHING FOR THEM AND NEVER GOT THE RECOGNITION AND APPRECIATION THAT I DESERVE...... – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Saks Fifth Avenue

Saks Fifth Avenue is a member of the Saks Incorporated (NYSE:SKS) group and operates 62 stores, led by its landmark flagship on – Read more

Saks Fifth Avenue Photos