Sallie Mae Employee Reviews in United States

Found 393 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
College and University Liaison (Former Employee) –  Hanover, PAAugust 22, 2016
learned a lot about the student loan process which is very helpful
now that my children are attending college. Typical day at work
was starting early and spending time taking care of clients on the phone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointment
Loan Consolidation/Origination Sales Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Killeen, TXAugust 16, 2016
Overall this was disappointment due to the way HR handled and conducted interview and investigations. A lot of belittling questions that easily offend people.
Pros
pay was great
Cons
management was awful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to wrok at
Student Loan Collector (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEAugust 11, 2016
it was an educative industry about student loan financing. The was a good team work on the working floor which produced good results on month to month basis
Pros
good
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was the pits!!
Third Party Collector (Former Employee) –  Niles, ILJuly 26, 2016
This company was horrible!!! It closed down go figure no need to review any further. I didn't like the companies management they were terribly unorganized/
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Collections Representative (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 11, 2016
Learned about student loans
The different ways to repay the loans
How to consolidate loans
What a deferment was
Skip Tracing dead account and resolving them
Pros
Bonus
Cons
Slow times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to lay grounds and to build a foundation
Rolling Collections agent (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJuly 9, 2016
Overall this was one of thee best jobs I've held in a while. Besides the short breaks, the team gave supported each other. Management wasn't always available and when that happened it was important that we could rely on each other to get the job done
Pros
strong team
Cons
short breaks, no bathroom breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Greatest Company I have ever worked for!
School Assist Representative (Current Employee) –  Newark, DEJune 23, 2016
I started with Sallie Mae in 2015 and have already added a full page to my resume! The company offers amazing advancement opportunities and really takes care of their employees! Anyone would be fortunate to work for Sallie Mae!
Pros
Advancement, location, scenery, amenities, so much more
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Account Manager for Federally dispersed loans (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEJune 23, 2016
Enjoyed a lengthy career there and almost always surpassed my quota bestowed upon me. Was sad to leave to attend to family matters,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Customer Service Rep (Current Employee) –  Hobart, INJune 19, 2016
a atypical day at work includes me logging in to various systems. I work in the origination department and help customers with applications,loans and troubleshooting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A profesional work and production environment
Customer Service Resolution (Current Employee) –  Newark, DEJune 12, 2016
A high production in a processing environment that emphasizes team work, cooperation with customers and management.
Pros
Bood benefits and pay
Cons
Few advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place to work
Account Manager/Loan Underwriter (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEMay 23, 2016
I was not a fan of calling people collecting money. I wasn't one of those aggressive type collectors so it was hard for me to collect money from someone who I knew was not working and was barely making ends meet.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
great co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work with
Sr. Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 16, 2016
its required lots of hard work to with sallie mae , but it provides good environment . and the cafeteria is awesome. good exposure to new technology and keep you on the toe.
Pros
lots of hard work
Cons
good cafeteria
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Job
Unit Collections Manager (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMay 16, 2016
I loved this job! it had room to move up or lateral. I loved going to work everyday and seeing my co-workers, we all knew that we had a goal to accomplish as a whole and that's what we did. It also had great pay and benefits, I wish it was still here in Las Vegas, NV.
Pros
Great pay and atmosphere
Cons
It can get overwhelming and stressful at times
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Loan Servicing Agent (Former Employee) –  Killeen, TXMay 16, 2016
Good Managerial support, good work environment, great location. Learned more about financial aid and loans for completing your education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sallie Mae Manager Operations
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INMay 5, 2016
The job was challenging and offered a real opportunity to coach, motivate, and develop people on a professional level.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More miserable than not
ACCOUNT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEApril 29, 2016
This is a hard company to work for. It is very large and sometimes you feel like you're just another employee within the company. Dealing with customers on an every day basis can be frustrating as a lot of them refuse to comply with terms they agreed to and there is really nothing you, as an employee, can do about it.
Pros
Cafe, work activities
Cons
extremely large company
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helping People with their loans
Customer Service Specialist I (Former Employee) –  Wilkes-Barre, PAApril 8, 2016
• Resolved customers questions and concerns regarding their student loan accounts
• Kept records of customer interactions or transactions, recording details of inquiries, complaints, comments, and actions
• Applied payments in the forms of personal check, credit and debit cards via computer system
• Completed contract forms, prepared change of address records using computers to update customer information
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Volume Inbound Call Center
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Hanover, PAMarch 14, 2016
Very fast paced inbound calls.Subcontracted work for the Department of Education.I truly enjoyed helping the customers and had a very easy experience being able to relate to them and had very little trouble speaking to them.Always kept the sitiation level never let the situation become escalated.
Pros
Helping others, talking with customers
Cons
Very Little time in between calls.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy work place
Private Credit Specialist (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEMarch 14, 2016
The hardest part of the job was adjusting from working on the floor at another job to just answering a phone with the customer not being there. It was a different but new experience that help me grow a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Risk Mitigation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Newark, DEMarch 4, 2016
The position is stressful & the goals set by management in most circumstances are unattainable. Its very hard to reach the goals set by management unless you work frequent overtime. You have to be prepared to work for 8am till 9pm to meet the goals.
Pros
non
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 394 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4