Salt River Project Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Department could use more than a few pointers
Consultant/Contractor (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZNovember 29, 2017
Managment is unorganized and clueless about various IT security flaws. I should have left the moment I realized I've been there for a week and had no correct working tools or access.

- For a major company with unlimited resources, they are very outdated, especially in regards to enterprise systems and Business Analytics.

- If you'd like to be taken seriously, I wouldn't take an IT job here, management has delusions of grandeur in regards to how quickly a system can/should be set up in regards to both security and support.

- If you are there as a contractor, take your own notes and cover your own back; management will "scapegoat" you to cover their own lack of understanding of their systems and currently existing issues, making you look like a fool.

- Keep to yourself, people always find a way to "use you" if you're a nice guy/girl.
Pros
Decent coworkers, quiet relaxed, space
Cons
Highly unorganized, lack of integrity, horrible security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
File clerk required (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZNovember 28, 2017
Great company to work for. My time was short due to my role being a temporary assignment, but thoroughly enjoyed my time there. Excellent benefits and people to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and Friendly work environment
PayCenter Technician (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZOctober 26, 2017
Spent my days driving around checking and repairing SRP PayCenters. Was a full time position driving all day under minimum supervision making sure that the PayCenters had the maximum up time so customer could pay ther bills and put money on their mpower cards. Overall a friendly coworkers and management nice self driven job with minimum oversight.
Pros
Good pay for fairly non demanding job with minimum management oversight
Cons
only 2 shifts mornings and nights and if you want mornings you are unlikely to get it, Also 7 day operation so weekends are worked also.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, productive and fun place to work for.
Engineering Technician (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZOctober 12, 2017
I treat my work as my own business. I would work an hour or more than my regular hours to check and make sure that I've done an accurate job and more production everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring work.
Journeyman Lineman (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZSeptember 17, 2017
Overall pretty good company very safe work environment a lot of good employees all the tools and equipment you could possibly need to perform jobs. Only reason I'm considering leaving is the work is boring and company doesn't cover enough area so not much room for movement.
Pros
Nice equipment and tools.
Cons
Not enough area.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress
Zanjero/ Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 15, 2017
Salt River Project pays fairly well but there is favoritism. If a supervisor does not like you or has a friend or family member they prefer for a position they will target a person.
Pros
allowed to work independently
Cons
watched by gps, and in truck cameras
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and learning enviroment
Assistant Material Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Springerville, AZSeptember 5, 2017
A typical day at work included receiving, inventorying materials for many different contractors and filing reports.
I learned a lot about material handling and warehousing.
Management was good, but some competition among supervisors.
Workplace culture was mostly blue collar workers.
The hardest part of the job was it was either boring or super busy. There was no steady work.
I made some great friends and opened doors for another good job.
Pros
Good people to work with, good pay.
Cons
Competition among the supervisors.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance and pay/benefits
Customer Service Analytics (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZAugust 13, 2017
Great work/life balance and pay/benefits, although the culture and management are not quite as extraordinary. Advancement at and into managerial levels is difficult without many years of experience with the company.
Pros
work/life balance and pay/benefits
Cons
culture and advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent job with great pay.
Journeyman Plant Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZAugust 9, 2017
SRP is a great place to work. I have enjoyed my hard work and dedication to the company.The pay is comparable to other power plants in the area. I would recommend this employer to anyone willing to work hard.
Pros
Great pay and benefits
Cons
Too many managers, not enough workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Sr. IT Project Manager, Lead (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZAugust 1, 2017
-great benefits
-always opportunities for advancement
-positive atmosphere
-happy people
-customer oriented
-compensation for education
-can be stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable and Secure Job
Electrical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 3, 2017
SRP is a stable work environment with minimal day to day stresses.
The work culture here can be a little conservative and projects tend to progress slowly. If you're looking for a stable long term position with great retirement and health care benefits then this is the place for you.
Pros
Job security, Work life balance, Management
Cons
Slow pace, conservative attitudes, Located in Phoenix AZ
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family and Local Community loved company
Meter Reading/Field Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZJune 20, 2017
By far it is the compensation of this company and its benefits that keeps people applying for positions. But you have a better chance on obtaining a job if you know some one.
Pros
Excellent place for an education and for a career.
Cons
They are quite cut-throat when terminating ones position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former employee perspective
Sr. Safety Specialist (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 10, 2017
Limit written policies, less accountability
Poor management
Promotions to tenured employees
Average benefits
Continuous reorgs.
Competitive wages
Employees are not engaged.
Pros
Wage
Cons
Management engagement and support
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secure Job With Room to Grow
Senior Engineer (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 22, 2017
-great benefits
-always opportunities for advancement
-positive atmosphere
-happy people
-customer oriented
-compensation for education
-can be stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great utility company
Manager - Systems Applications (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 12, 2017
Loved my job. Had the full support of my senior management and was able to make substantial changes to the organization I managed as well as the systems dealing with IT changes.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Intern (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZMay 8, 2017
I find that Salt River Project is a secure, but sometimes dull and dreary place to work. The workforce is aged so when young individuals like myself come into the office, we feel out of place sometimes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, rewarding work
Designer 3 (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 6, 2017
Great place to work and great people to work with. Like all places, there were difficult people and unnecessary challenges but they were so few in number. In the position held, there were certain expectations which were beyond me initially but I was given all the opportunities needed to grow into the position and provided specific training along the way. I was also encouraged to think outside the box and was rewarded for it. I made friends there.
Pros
Great work, room and opportunity to grow
Cons
Low compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Lead Field Engineer (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZMay 1, 2017
I really liked it there, people were nice! staff that I worked with was great. job was very good. but layoffs happened and the people that were there the longest were let go. I was there 13 years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Sr. Planning Analyst (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZApril 27, 2017
SRP has been around for more than 100 years. There is quite a culture that remains at SRP that is hard to find at other employers. A fantastic employer,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Cable Splicer (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 27, 2017
good company to work for .pay is good and all the benefits are good also but middle management seems to micromanage too much but overall its the best company i have ever worked for by far
Pros
pay
Cons
middle management weak
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Salt River Project. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 104 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0