Find companies:
Sam's Club
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,806 reviews

Sam's Club Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sams Club where it's all about member satisfaction.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Normal, ILDecember 17, 2014
Pros: happy upbeat environment, happy customers, seeing different faces
Cons: standing all day, short breaks, heavy lifting
My typical work day at Sams starts at 6:45 am and ends at 3:15 pm. From 7-10 am it's slow in the club because it's only open to business and plus members so at this time I'm usually talking and enjoying the few I always see in the morning. After 10 am it picks up and becomes alive in the club and this is where the fun begins and also when time starts – more... to move fast.

Management is really good and caring in Sams, making sure that every associate gets the job done. I loved all of my co workers because we all truly work as a team during the workday to guarantee member satisfaction. The hardest part of the job is trying to convince members to add a line of credit with MasterCard onto their memberships. The most enjoyable part of the day is checking in with my supervisor and informing them on how many upgrades and credit cards I've sold through the course of the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting quota daily and assisting members needs
Cashier (Former Employee), Fort Wayne, INDecember 16, 2014
Train new employees and meet quota for that day. Advise program specials and credit to make a sale. I've learned that being relaistic and loyal to the consumers you recieve more recognition with staff and management. The hardest part of being a sales cashier is that the time we spend with the members isnt enough time and I dislike feeling rush or to – more... have them feel rushed. Meeting quota's are very hard too because sometimes the members aren't guareentee to say OK sign me up. I would say the most enjoyable is being rewarded with a job well done! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work intensive and fast pace
Supervisor (Current Employee), Ypsilanti, MIDecember 15, 2014
Always ensure that product is up to code and fresh for members. Members shop with there eyes so presentation is key. Space allocation plays apart as well; putting out and expanding on key items for most growth and sales. My associates know whats needed of them and most move with an sense of urgency. I ensure that I order whatever is needed for them – more... so they can produce the product for the members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Pharmacy Manager (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INDecember 15, 2014
Pros: free safety lunches
Cons: angry customers
fill prescriptions
coworkers are great
hardest part of the job constantly training new techs
most enjoyable part of job is interacting with regular customers
I learned the importance of building relationships with customers
hard to interact with management when in the pharmacy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job!
Member Sales/Supervisor-Part Time (Current Employee), Sandusky, OHDecember 15, 2014
I work with members on a daily basis to sell products and upgrades. I also override cashier issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
customer service/cashier (Former Employee), park blvd Pinellas ParkDecember 15, 2014
Pros: nice place to work
Cons: all about management
fun work place see daily members handle members concerns. always do everything to make members happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and productive
PRODUCE ASSOCIATE AND CUSTOMER SERVICE POSITIONS (Former Employee), Woodruff rdDecember 14, 2014
Gained a lot of experience of customer service and working in different positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging work envorinment
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee), Hattiesburg, MSDecember 14, 2014
very demanding job with a variety of responsibilities. I would return for a different position and better pay
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work for.
Bakery Associate (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLDecember 13, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: management, hours, benefits, no room for advancement
Very little room for advancement, Management have their select favorites. Co-workers do not work well together. Typical day was working with members and providing service to them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i love others
Customer Service (Former Employee), Chicago, ILDecember 12, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: long breaks
a nice place to work I learn so much about working with other people my manager is a nice fun loving person.my co-workers always nice there is no hard part about the job longs you get it done the enjoyable part at the job is knowing you did a great job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great place to work
Technology Associate (Current Employee), Richmond, VADecember 12, 2014
Pros: benefits, friendly coworkers, flexible hours
I've been at Sam's Club for over 2 years now and it's been pretty great so far. I started as a cashier and it is somewhat easy to move up in the company as long as you have a positive attitude and good work ethic. I have worked in jewelry, photo, pharmacy, and cell phones (wireless) since I started and I have learned a lot along the way. I love being – more... able to meet new people everyday and build relationship with the "regulars". The managers and supervisors are great as well. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A decent place to work
Team Lead/Third shift stocker/Receiving associate (Former Employee), Clarksville, INDecember 12, 2014
Pros: they train willing participants on medium sized machinery
Cons: understaffed, no overtime, no extra incentive for learning how to operate the forklift
A typical day at Sam's club varies, for me. I've worked in many different departments including: maintenance, carts, center section associate, grocery associate, night merchandiser, receiving associate, and as a team lead. I learned various skills such as scanning products into the system, understanding policy, and operating machinery such as: a forklift, – more... cardboard baler, and an electric jack. My co-workers were typically very nice, but always overworked. One of the toughest challenges is meeting the expectations of the corporate office due to being understaffed. Believe it or not, interacting with customers were usually an enjoyable part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, fast paced enviroment
Claims Associate (Current Employee), Lithonia, GADecember 12, 2014
My typical workday could have me in the claims department for which i am coded. I could end up as a door greeter, marketing associate going out in the field, fresh associate (bakery) or coming in overnight on the audit team doing inventory. I try to obtain as much knowledge as i can.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was not consistant
Inventory Control/ Auditor (Former Employee), Salt Lake City, UTDecember 12, 2014
I loved the work. Helping members was a bonus. Being able to manage, was very rewarding for me. I also enjoyed maintaining physical counts of merchandise. Adjusting inventory,printing all reports,and sending out reports. Very busy and hard work, love it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), west palm beach flDecember 12, 2014
fun enviroment to work in. can move up in the company as needed. very resourceful company to work in. the managers are very helpful and caring
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job was easy. A basic cashiers job. Supervisors and fellow employees were the problem.
Cashier (Former Employee), South Point, OHDecember 12, 2014
Pros: easy, average paced job
Cons: unprofessional management and supervisors
I enjoyed the job very much. It was a basic cashiers job. Did require a bit more physical labor than most other cashier jobs because they require you to move everything from one cart/flat to anther. Easy to learn and maintain though. The only problem was the staff. The supervisors were not friendly. The supervisors at the time that I worked there like – more... to profile new employees. One of those jobs that if you didn't fit into the "click", you didn't keep your job long. When I was terminated, they violated the privacy contract that I signed. One of my supervisors told other employees a lie about why I was terminated, when after a termination, supervisors are legally not allowed to talk about the termination. I was terminated on false accusations as well. I contacted the regional corporate manager who told me that I was not the first to call him the same complaint. Was told that he went to the specific store to get to the bottom of the problem. After he did that, I was offered my job back, but I did not want to go back to the job because I knew it would be a hostile environment toward me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
merchandiser
Merchandiser/Sales Supervisor (Current Employee), Warren, OHDecember 12, 2014
Good company to work for. Family oriented and good management. Daily duties include member service and stocking merchandise. Cashier Supervisor i was responsible for about eighty cashiers, door and cart associated evaluating associates performance and guiding them on a daily basis. Seasonal area Team Leader i was responsible for about four associates – more... in my area, stocking, following diagrams for merchandising , and locating products for members. Merchandiser stocking merchandise , loading merchandise for members. Member service helping members with their shopping experience. Cashier if needed i would ring register to help with member service to keep down the lines,, Forklift driver locate merchandise, load and unload merchandise. Butcher I would cut meat and process special orders for members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it just takes time to get acquainted with everyday tasks.
Over-Night Stocker (Current Employee), Cuyahoga Falls, OHDecember 12, 2014
There is not a hard part about working at Sam;s Club, it just takes time to get acquainted with everyday tasks.

Co-working our friendly

The most enjoyable part of the job is when we have lunch in

A typical day at work stock stock stock
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for
Cashier /Door Greeter (Former Employee), Rolling Meadows, ILDecember 12, 2014
Pros: store closed
Greeting customers and assisting customers and operating register when needed.
Had several different managers.
Co-workers were for the most part congenial.
I found nothing about my job hard.
The most enjoyable part of this job was working with the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a strong push to correct issues.
Material Handler (Former Employee), Manchester, CTDecember 11, 2014
Pros: employee parties, fund raising, open door policies.
Cons: off the book labor practices.
I had some bad experiences at the club in manchester, ct. I am not saying all the clubs are bad . I know what you're looking for in comments and trust me , you don't want to hear mine .

1 2 3 4 5

About Sam's Club

A division of Wal-Mart Stores since 1983, Sam's Club accounts for 12% of Wal-Mart's sales. It runs about 610 locations in 47 US – Read more