Sam's Club Employee Reviews in United States

Found 5,793 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience
Tire Technician (Former Employee) –  Gastonia, NCAugust 24, 2016
Good company to work for. well atleast for a tire technician. pay is good but only hire part-time which sucks never know how many hours your going to work because it varies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Cart Associate (Former Employee) –  O'Fallon, ILAugust 24, 2016
I loved working at Sams Club. I had recently worked there about 8 yrs ago for the first real job I have ever had. My coworkers and management were awesome. I enjoyed going to work everyday.
Pros
Breaks, benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent job
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Largo, FLAugust 23, 2016
not great, but not terrible. worked overnights typically 8 hour shifts with 2 paid brakes and an unpaid lunch. manager for overnights was ignorant, but it was alright as long as you avoided him.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Keeps you on your feet.
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Canton, MIAugust 23, 2016
This place is always busy, just in tabacco center alone in one week 1.2 million dollars was made.That is my department and I enjoy every minute of it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
With the right managers Sam's Club can be a great place.
Licensed Optician (Former Employee) –  Naples, FLAugust 23, 2016
Overall Sams was great but when you start making a healthy wage at the Naples FL store the store manager and optical manager will find a way get rid of you. False allegations regarding Hipaa violations or unauthorized customer discounts. Very disappointing. There are other Sam's Clubs that are great, with great mangers who want you to succeed. Unfortunately I was not in a club like that. If you want to work at a Sam's Club watch your back. A lot of back stabbing managers who are afraid of losing their job because you might me good enough to be a managers too.
Pros
Great pay, nice members (customers), 2% raise every year, product not hard to sell.
Cons
No overtime allowed, Inexperienced mangers who are back stabbers, no commission
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working as a Team Leader
Team Lead (Current Employee) –  Thornton, COAugust 22, 2016
Best company i have ever worked. Management is awesome. they are very friendly to the associates. Also they have open door facility for associates in which associates can discuss their problems confidentially.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a Great Job to have but....
Overnight Merchandiser / Forklift (Former Employee) –  Owensboro, KYAugust 22, 2016
One mistake i made was to begin driving a forklift. They don't pay you more for it and you always have to stay over. At least the club i worked for made you! $11.00 an hour isn't a bad salary, but constantly staying over to pick up somebody's slack isn't worth it... try to go Full-time so they can't make you stay over! They don't pay Overtime!
Pros
Fun Work
Cons
Bad Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
produtivity
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Henrietta, NYAugust 22, 2016
it was alright to work there but the management played favorites with employees. the breaks where ok but you had to remind your manager when it was time for your break or youd have to clock out before your work day was done
Pros
fun interaction
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work at
Deli Associate (Former Employee) –  Seekonk, MAAugust 22, 2016
typical day at work was answering phone calls and member assistance and ordering. Responsible for department inventory. data entry....................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Wireless Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Richmond, TXAugust 22, 2016
Good ideas and marketing approach design from corporate office to create fun atmosphere with clear direction. Training and development isn’t a one-time event at Walmart and Sam’s Club. It’s an integral and ongoing part as an associate. They offer unique opportunities for advancement and career growth, including:

Mentoring programs
Leadership courses
Associate Resource Group
Pros
Award dinners when club meets a milestone.
Cons
No discounts for employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exploitation at low pay
Forklift Operator/Overnight Stocker (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXAugust 21, 2016
I worked at the new store (#6188), and while the managers sincerely cared for their employees, the upper management, or the pressure by upper-management strained the relationship between manager and employee, and often you would be asked to work longer hours, or be given impossible (and I mean, impossible!) tasks to finish in a ridiculous short time. If you didn't finish your work on time, you were then given these 'coaching sessions' during your shift, which in turn, would waste more time, and thus make you not capable of completing the task!
I worked as a forklift operator at night, and we were always short-staffed, and so oftentimes we would have to stock the entire store with a team of five or six. I wouldn't have an issue with this if it wasn't a nightly basis, and the fact that our hard work was appreciated. It never was. If we failed, we were talked down to, or accused of wasting time.
Most jobs pay you more for operating heavy machinery, but Sam's club doesn't, or at least this one didn't.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAAugust 21, 2016
I would defiantly work for this company again. It had a great atmosphere and great customers. Even when there was a bad customer experience i made sure that the customers needs were met . This company provided you with stock, 401k and great benefits. i highly suggest anyone trying to find a job in retail to apply here.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job.
Wireless Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Utica, MIAugust 20, 2016
great job. i worked in the tire department for awhile the team was great and would assist you when it was needed. management could be better they could assist you with your problem better. hardest part of the job was getting most of the cars done before closing time. the employees are very easy to get along with and could give you a hand if needed.
Pros
half of lunch, team of your area
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
is a alright place
Retail Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Winston-Salem, NCAugust 20, 2016
i typically pull in carts but some days i zone the store. ive learned how to work well with people. the managers arent that good. co workers are mostly good
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was very hard working alone
Sales Associate/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Altoona, PAAugust 19, 2016
i went in and fixed shelves for 8 hours a day and i was by myself all the time, but i did enjoy the breaks because you could take your breaks whenever you felt necessary
Pros
good pay
Cons
boring work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sam's is ok
Self check out (Former Employee) –  Dublin, OHAugust 18, 2016
Lack of communication towards the employees.
Lack of communication towards managers.
No team work what so ever
Managers was out for themselves.
Half the time the COS's was no where to be found when they was needed.
Work atmosphere was great.
Scheduling not so great.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place and long term employees
Accounting (Current Employee) –  Eau Claire, WIAugust 18, 2016
Associates are very helpful with the members and work together as a team. Management very eager to help show associates how to handle situations that come up and treats everyone equally.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Was fun at time working the other employees
Customer Service Representative/Cafe Associate (Former Employee) –  Fishkill, NYAugust 18, 2016
Taking Care of customers. Being able to multi-task and got along with my co-workers. Working as a team was the enjoyable part. Training a new employee was the hardest part of the job. The management was ok .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Stock Associate / Cart Pusher (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 18, 2016
Decent company to work. typical day includes spotting, zoning, member assistance, and stocking. The hardest part of the job would be keeping up on super busy days.
Pros
great employees and management
Cons
very busy place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sams club
Member Service Desk Associate (Former Employee) –  Casa Grande, AZAugust 18, 2016
The pay is pretty decent. Management is not the best. The hardest part of the job is selling memberships when its not busy at all.
Pros
You learn a lot about sales
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sam's Club. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 6,253 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.3
Culture
3.6