Find companies:
Sam's Club
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,621 reviews

Sam's Club Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unfair environment
cashier (Former Employee), irondale, alOctober 23, 2014
Working in Sam's is all about who you know. You will not move up in the club if you do not have a connect, or know anyone that is high up. The management sucks and is all for themsleves. The coworkers will smile in your face one day and throw you under the bus the next. I enjoyed Sam's for the first half year i was there, but after that the true colors – more... started to show. The are very unfair and I would not advise anyone that I know to apply there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Cashier (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKOctober 23, 2014
Assisted customers Process payment via cash, check, credit card ebt snap
Operated cash register and made change
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just another part-time job
Floor Partner (Former Employee), Brandon, FLOctober 23, 2014
Pros: free membership, some discounts, cafe inside
Cons: switch your schedule, ask to stay late, overfill your work plate for the day
Co-workers are nice for the most park, managers will expect more than time will normally allow, enjoyed the life-long friends I made, hardest part was fighting for my promotion
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Greeter/ Customer Service/ Security (Former Employee), Newington, CTOctober 23, 2014
Pros: working with friendly people
Cons: standing at the door in the winter
A typical at work was standing by the doors and asking to see membership cards, and receipts to prevent stealing. What I learned is, you have to make sure every item in the shopping cart matched every item printed on the receipt. Management was very easy to work for. My co-workers were very friendly. The hardest part of the job was standing in one spot – more... and having to stay there. The most enjoyable part of the job was the friendliness of the co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Bakery/Cafe Associate (Current Employee), Bismarck, NDOctober 23, 2014
Pros: free membership
a typical day is hoping that you made enough pizzas to get you though the day
what I have learned is to do what you can in the shift time that you are given and hope you don't go over your time
the management is good
my co-workers are really fun to work with when we all work together to get the job done
the hardest part of the job is not being able – more... to finish what you started in your shift time and staying later to finish your job
the most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the looks on the members faces when you remember them and what they order and have it ready for them when they come though the line to get the food – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A VERY NICE PLACE TO WORK AND COMFORTABLE WORK DAILY.
FLOOR MANAGER (Former Employee), PROctober 23, 2014
Pros: facilities near the work area.
Cons: almost never had time to drink coffee.
VERY COMFORTABLE FOR DAILY WORK DAY. EXPERIENCE LEARNED ORGANIZATION AND RESPOSIBILITY.GOOD KNOWLEDGE LEARNED AND APPLIED AND CO ARE THE BEST . I CAN SAY THE HARDEST PART OF THE JOB WERE THE 2 HOURS OF TRAVEL TO GET TO WORK AND BACK TO MY HOME. WORK BETTER THAN ALL THE STAFF WERE VERY RESPECT FUL AND DISCIPLINED.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work while looking for something else
Overnight Stocker/Forklift Driver (Former Employee), Bloomington, MNOctober 22, 2014
Pros: work at your own pace
Cons: no chance for overtime, you don't move up in this company very fast
I liked working the overnight shift, you got a chance to work at your own pace.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sams Club is an ok work envirnment
Cashier/ Sales Associate (Current Employee), WIOctober 22, 2014
I enjoy working at Sam's Club for the most part. The way I feel about this job has changed over time. I do feel like the club is a little unorganized when it comes to the way the deal with disgruntle customers and workers. I do not like that they put so much pressure on the cashiers to sell their memberships. I feel like they should give those people – more... different job titles and a different pay. I do not like the transferring policy there either. I feel like its unfair to cashiers that cant lift those heavy items. Now everything about the club isn't bad. They have some good policies, but despite the things i dislike about the club I'm still going to do my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Outside Marketing Representative (Former Employee), Lenexa, KSOctober 22, 2014
Pros: discount
Cons: money
a typical day at work
what you learned
management
your co-workers
the hardest part of the job
the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), Reisterstown, MDOctober 22, 2014
It is a career builder i started pushing carts and worked my way inside good ppl management wusent good back than but it looks better today
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bakery
Bakery Sales Associate (Former Employee), Rock Hill, SCOctober 21, 2014
Pros: good people
Cons: work nights
prep food, then cooled and wrapped and organized stock area
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Policies only matter when it helps management
Overnight Receiving (Current Employee), Lincoln, NEOctober 21, 2014
Plan on working alone alot no matter if you have 1 car in line or 10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun work place
Cashier Supervisor (Former Employee), Salisbury, MdOctober 21, 2014
Pros: great work enviornment
Cons: managers can be difficult at times
Supervise and Manage cashiers to ensure great customer services is being provided.The hardest part of the job was time you never really had enough time to get all the work done. The most enjoyable part of the job was how many great people you are able to help everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good hours
Sales associate (Former Employee), La Habra, CAOctober 21, 2014
Pros: great hours and worked around school schedule
Cons: constant pressure to sale extra stuff such as credit cards
a typical day at work would be to check into your station your assigned to and do as assigned. Had a lot of great coworkers and enjoyed being around my shift leaders. The hardest part of the job is the constant pressure to get customers to upgrade their memberships and get them to apply for a credit card.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great start to my job history
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee), Apple Valley, MNOctober 20, 2014
I loved working at Sams club, I started out as a cashier where i held the top seller title. They then moved me to the membership desk where i continued that rank by a long stretch so they promoted me front end supervisor. The management was great they were always there and supportive with any situation or question. I got along with everyone there we – more... were all really close and worked as a very good team. The hardest part of my job was definetly learning how to deal with those difficult customers. As the time went on i did manage to teach my self how to do that in a respectful and professional way. But knowing that each and every member had a different situation or different reason for being in the club is what i enjoyed most because then you have all different kinds of work and not just the same thing so i learned and gained alot of customer service skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of fun people to work with and Sams gave me great work exsperence
photo technician (Former Employee), Southgate, MIOctober 20, 2014
Pros: every two hours you got a break to recharge !
Cons: i felt bad for the part timers they were sent home on slow days at the door, instead of being called ahead so they would'nt have to spend their gas for nothing.
A very busy place to work I loved being busy I was given opportunities to learn different jobs and challenges as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Retail Job
Associate Cashier (Current Employee), Seekonk, MAOctober 20, 2014
Pros: good atmosphere, friendly associates, friendly members
Cons: required to sell member upgrades and credits
Better pay than other retail Jobs, but Associates are required to convince Members to upgrade their Memberships and Apply for Sam's Credit. Very flexible scheduling, excellent co-workers, Registers bug down more than expected. Management is very professional and motivating, and are willing to teach. Based on every 5 and 1/2 hours on the schedule, an – more... Associate is required to sell 1 upgrade. Although, this has taught me to be more friendly and engaging with others, and also is improving my communication and sales skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Associate (Former Employee), Johnson City, TNOctober 20, 2014
I loved the folks that I worked with and would never change this chapter in my life. As anywhere else, you will see the favoritism but not here, everyone was treated equally!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sam's club
Floor Associate/Cashier (Current Employee), murfreesboro, TNOctober 19, 2014
Sam's club has taught me a lot. It's a fun place to work and my co-workers are awesome,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive workplace, Good pay, Opportunities to move up
Tire Sales Associate (Former Employee), Pooler, GAOctober 19, 2014
Pros: benefits, accommodations, positive environment, training
Cons: easy to get fired, store manager can be extremely rude.
A typical day at work is generally pretty simple depending on your shift, you are mainly there to keep your department stocked, help customers, open/close, and perform whichever specialty your department performs. My favorite department was in Tires/Batteries as a Sales Associate.

I received forklift certification (which I actually had to use quite – more... often), was sent to a week-long class at Michelin in NC (all expenses paid and on the clock) and learned the technical side of tires, the different types of tires and differences between tread patterns, how to diagnose types of tire damage (for warranty coverage), how to qualify a customer for the right type of tires (for sales) and much more information.

Management was normally helpful and got along well with their associates in most departments. The actual store manager there could be a little too harsh at times and they go through employees like a pair of socks in certain departments (cashiers especially).

Co-workers were like family most of the time and pretty much everyone gets along quite well.

Sometimes the jobs have a little too much unnecessary stress from emphasis on pushing membership upgrades and credit with scripts to memorize and reviews on your memorization of those scripts on a monthly basis.

The most enjoyable part of the jobs I had there were from the interaction with my customers, and co-workers, learning different positions and the fact that anything you could want to know about the business or your job (to better your career) is easily accessible. – less

1 2 3 4 5