Find companies:
Sam's Club
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
3,187 reviews

Sam's Club Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall ok
Wireless Sales Associate (Former Employee), Pearl, MSJuly 8, 2014
Company was ok to work for, but wanted more hours and room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Drive Member and Associate Service (Former Employee), North Little Rock, ARJuly 7, 2014
You have to have very good persuasive skills and be persistant. No benefits for part time work ther.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was able to work with some very good people
Cellular Phone Salesman (Former Employee), Great Falls, MTJuly 7, 2014
Pros: good work eviorment
Cons: half hour lunch, upper management
I sold cellular phones, related accessories, cellular service from AT&T and Verizon. We worked out of a kiosk located in the electronics department. As a result of this proximity, I also sold tablets, computers, televisions, and other consumer electronics products.
When I started I did not have a thorough understanding of smart phones and tablets. When – more... I left, I had become an expert in both of these product categories.
My immediate supervisor (called a team leader) was very good to work for. She was a twenty year veteran with Sam's Club and good manager.
All of my co-workers were very pleasant to work with and had the same commitment to top quality customer service as I have.
The most difficult part of this job was dealing with the inexperienced upper management. Our store was a training store for managers destined for larger markets.
As always, with me, helping and dealing with the customer. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and fun work place
Tire Technician (Former Employee), Milwaukee, WIJuly 7, 2014
Pros: knowledge about cars
Cons: discounts
I enjoyed working as a tech at Sams. I like the hands on work and interaction with my customers. I learned a great deal about tires and the importance of timely but correct customer service. My co workers where great people and always helped me when I needed them. The hard part I would say was keeping things in order inside the garage. We would always – more... find a way to make our customers happy and they kept coming back because we excelled together as a team. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everyday was somthing new
Cafe Worker (Former Employee), Folsom, CAJuly 6, 2014
working at sams club was a new and power place to work allways something to do. good people hard working people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great staff
Service Advisor (Former Employee), West Allis, WIJuly 6, 2014
• Performs Technician duties as required by procedure, such as changing oil and oil filters, replacing or rotating tires, balancing tires, repairing flats, and testing and installing batteries while verifying and communicating vehicle information to other technicians.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Optician and Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 6, 2014
This job is fun place to work at and management is goal orient toward an goal in the club also making sure that customer is always happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leadership,teamwork, customer service,
Marketing/Membership manager (Current Employee), Reno, NVJuly 6, 2014
Best of my job are the associates and customers, teamwork involved in making such a large store operate daily.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Tobacco/Cashier/Carts (Former Employee), Oxnard, CAJuly 5, 2014
Pros: bbq's, holiday pay, sunday premium pay, flexible hours, job advancements
Cons: some stores may vary in quality
I worked for Sam's for quite some time. I advanced really fast starting in carts and moving to cashier within a few weeks. I continued to help outside if needed, but was later offered a position in tobacco where I also excelled and became well received by business owners who shopped there. When given the tobacco position I was offered to skip that and – more... go straight to supervisor as my skills with both employees and customers were considered way above satisfactory.

All in all I would say that the job has amazing job advancements and the pay as well as holiday and Sunday premium bonus were great!

Only flaws were when I transferred to Maine. Management was lacking bad and no team building skills offered. Pay was drastically cut and hours went bad. The company did great on my previous experience, but the later store needed work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool warehouse to work
Tire Technician (Current Employee), Merrillville, INJuly 5, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: not able to get full time position
Like working with people and learning new stuff everyday about this company. I excel in new beginnings and like to explore more if i could.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging
Meat/Deli Supervisor (Former Employee), Jonesboro, ARJuly 4, 2014
Pros: free membership
Cons: hiring freezes
A typical day at Sam's Club would include running reports on sales, inventory tracking, throwaways, checking my emails multiple times daily. Training associates on company policies and procedures. Interacting and with fellow associates on job tasks for the day. Following up on tasks and communicating information with associates, direct manager, and – more... club manager. I learned a lot from Sam's Club as a associate, team lead, and a supervisor. How to handle situations, providing great service to members, and the ability to adapt to the ever changing work demands on a day to day basis. I have great respect for the Management team at Sam's Club. The hardest part of my job was the lack of coverage at times. The best part of my job was the daily interaction with associates and members. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee), Mesa, AZJuly 4, 2014
Pros: excellant co-workers
Cons: short breaks
A typical day was operating a cash register. Management was very good willing to work around my schedule. Very nice co-workers. The hardest part of the job was seeing long lines of customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low cost operation that takes a true team effort to be successful.
Associate (Current Employee), USAJuly 4, 2014
Taking care of our members is always our priority. This includes giving our members a clean, neat, and well merchandised shopping experience that has a feeling of the current season, holiday, or special community event. There is a sense of micromanagement that seem to set a strong focus on the less important issues from the home office and the multiple – more... levels of management between the home office and Clubs. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized and hectic work enviroment.
Produce Associate (Former Employee), Fayetteville, NCJuly 4, 2014
A typical work day was never the same you could be performing more than one job on a daily basis but only getting compensated for one job title.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
Demo Specialist (Former Employee), Sanford, FLJuly 4, 2014
good company and good pay but cut hours alot and really strict on work but managers get away with more and do what they tell empolyes not to do
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Audit Team Lead / Front End Supervisor (Current Employee), streameoodJuly 3, 2014
Sam's Club has open oppurnity for you learn every department . You can take there learning experience and take it anywhere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging work place
Club Associate (Former Employee), Brooklyn, OHJuly 3, 2014
Pros: steady hours
fast paced work place, strong work ethic required. daily responsibilities can change rapidly. while the job is challenging you can learn a lot, and gain valuable experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just a typical day on the job
Merchandising (Former Employee), Gurnee, ILJuly 3, 2014
Pros: the actual job was ok
Cons: the staff cliqued like high school, backstabbing and contradictory
This was an overall bad experience from the processes of customer service to the overall organization of the store. The job itself was great but the staff seemed a little too immature to deal with at times and often felt like high school
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love the Atmosphere.
Member Services Attendant (Current Employee), TexasJuly 3, 2014
Pros: meeting new people everyday, flexible schedule, atmosphere. getting to shop where i work is very convenient. benefits
Cons: dealing with unhappy members while giving great customer service, closing shifts (sometimes), pay could be a little better.
As a member service associate it is my duty to assist members in getting new memberships which include personal and/or business. I also deal with helping members resolve any matters they may have with there accounts. Upgrading members from the regular membership to plus status and helping members apply for The Sam's in store credit as well as the Sam's – more... MasterCard is apart of the job as well. I also handle members refunds and exchanges of merchandise purchased. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many Opportunities For Advancement
Cashier (Former Employee), Mobile, ALJuly 2, 2014
Management is fantastic, training is adequate. The company offers many opportunities to advance or work in a different field.

About Sam's Club

Even folks over 21 get carded at Sam's Club, the #2 US warehouse club chain (behind Costco). A division of Wal-Mart Stores since – Read more