sammons trucking Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Showing all 12 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great truck company
Truck driver (Former Employee) –  Missoula, MTOctober 17, 2017
Started as a driver -owner then transferred to company driver. The company treated me better while I was a company driver . I received adequate time at home, decent pay for miles driven. The management was very supportive and did what they could to help any concerns I had.
Pros
decent pay for work done
Cons
not home as often as needed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun for a few years .
Long Haul Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Missoula, MTAugust 16, 2017
The job was fun as I able to see the country, but it is your life. I missed many family events over the years. The wear and tear on my body caught up with me and had to quit.
Pros
Seeing America and meeting new people
Cons
Hard on the family and body
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
negative
Understudy Dispatch (Former Employee) –  TexasApril 18, 2017
they were good for the most part but when i couldnt find loads for the trucks due to the fact the drivers didnt want the loads because of the pay i was let go
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management was lacking
OD/OW Permit Assistant (Former Employee) –  Missoula, MTMarch 13, 2017
Transitioning from Sammons Trucking to UTI was not a smooth transition for the staff members at Sammons Trucking due to management. Staff was great to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate buy out
Owner/Operator (Former Employee) –  Missoula, MTNovember 16, 2016
Since the Corporate purchase, it seems that the corporation was micromanaging what you could haul and do. Its about maximizing your profitable earning potential.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Company
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Missoula, MTJuly 9, 2014
Wal Mart fills the shoes of a public company. It is a big company and alot of promises that have gone unheard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very family oriented
Billing Clerk (Current Employee) –  Missoula, MTApril 8, 2014
Sammons Trucking is very family oriented. Their philosophy is family, work, money. When my son was in junior high and high school I was able to attend his football and track events with no problems. It is a very busy job that is constant and most days not a lot of down time. In the office itself everyone seems to get along very well. My day starts with clearing loads for driver and taking calls, that usually slows down shortly after lunch and then it is checking paperwork, invoicing and contacting customers and driver on paperwork that is missing. The most enjoyable part of the day is when drivers come in, they maybe ones I know or have only talked to on the phone, it is nice to put a face with the name.
Pros
Lots of long term employees makes for a very stable company.
Cons
Because of the job i have it sometimes can be overwhelming.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rough life
Lease Operator (Former Employee) –  Missoula, MTAugust 19, 2013
You work with brokers within and outside of the company,your livelyhood depends on the freight you can find and not getting stuck with a lemon of a truck.
Pros
you are working for yourself
Cons
no health care package offered
Was this review helpful?Yes 44No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I have ever worked for.
truck driver (Former Employee) –  dallas txMay 22, 2013
The management at this company could care less about you, your just another number in their eyes. The loads were very scarce and home time was next to nothing.
Pros
I realized how bad it was very quick and quit
Cons
That I ever worked for this company
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i just drive all day
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Missoula, MTNovember 27, 2012
its ok if your single and dont want a life other than work. the company is well managed i truly have no complaints its just that you cant do this type of work and have a life out side of it.
Pros
your the boss
Cons
no extra life
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 13Report

Want to know more about sammons trucking?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good way to see the country.
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  MTSeptember 19, 2012
At first, it was a very good place to work, but as the economy went bad, freight became limited. I wasn't making the kind of money as when I first started. I really enjoyed driving across country. You meet interesting people. I miss it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 22Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at sammons trucking. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 12 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.7
Compensation/Benefits
2.6
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
2.7
Culture
2.6

sammons trucking Reviews by Location