Samsonite Employee Reviews

Found 44 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Lehi, UTMarch 30, 2017
A day in a life at samsonite consists of selling luggage and doing paper work my manager is just not a good person so im looking for a new opportunity.
Cons
we dont get breaks only one person works at a time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Eagan, MNMarch 14, 2017
I enjoy being around customers but selling is not my thing. Plus I like my Monday through Friday 1st shift hours. I cannot work 2nd shift because I have a child at home who needs me around at night.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An okay job, but not the greatest.
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  North CarolinaSeptember 11, 2016
If you're looking for something to start your retail career, Samsonite is not a bad company. However, I do not think they are looking to advance anyone in any fields so whatever position you are in, expect to stay there. Coming from 2 years of working with this company!
Was this review helpful?Yes6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Laid back
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ILJuly 7, 2016
Great company to work for at an entry-level retail management level.
Quality products, great atmosphere to work in.
Coworkers are competent and it is not commission based.
Management is flexible and understanding of personal life/work balance.
Pros
Laid back, flexible
Cons
Next to ZERO opportunity for advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and comftable work place
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Oxon Hill, MDMay 20, 2016
we have our busy days and we also have our slow days
we get people from all over the country. My coworkers are great to work with everybody get along and work well with each other. The hardest part about the job we get shipment every week up too 100 boxes or more the most enjoyable part of the job is you get to meet different people from different country's.
Pros
were in the mall diffrent type of eating areas
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A positive environment to work in.
IT Security Audit Consultant (Former Employee) –  Mansfield, MAMarch 10, 2016
A positive work environment that promotes internally and rewards hard work and dedication. Great human resources team that fill the year with fun events.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to start out with
Receiving Clerk/Forklift Operator (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLFebruary 6, 2016
Environment is okay,only a job for someone starting out or in need of a job. Management is alright, What you learn is up to you, the hardest part of the job i would say main shipping, can get stressful trying to full-fill orders.
Pros
Managers are not all over your back
Cons
advancement, no benifits
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Environment; low-stress
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJanuary 12, 2016
Work is repetitive but enjoyable. Teamwork is good. Management is good as they balance well between letting you work comfortably and correcting only when necessary. Coworkers are good. No complaint at all from working with them. It seems there are quarterly events and/or activities for team-building that can be enjoyable. One time there were free massages for some employees.
Pros
Generous company to employees
Cons
repetitive
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Petaluma, CAOctober 5, 2015
Good Sales, thought too small. Did not have trained personal to leave in the store alone. Theses were small stores in strip malls and never had much bacl sock.Other stores traded stock back and forth hard for shrinkage,
Pros
good clean fair stores
Cons
left alove for days to run it
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Environment
Sales (Current Employee) –  Mansfield, MAAugust 28, 2015
Great People to work/Great Environment/ Everyone is focused in doing their daily task. Amazing discount. Management is excellent.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Accounts Payable Senior Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Mansfield, MAAugust 27, 2015
Processed invoices and expense reports. Doing the foreign wires and check run. Very nice people to work with. I learned about the luggage we manufactured.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Supervisor/Key holder (Current Employee) –  Hanover, MDAugust 11, 2015
great benefits. working with customers. Great company. easy and flexible schedule. great hours. professional. fun work place with supportive management
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy and fun, but management needs a little help
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Waikele, HIJuly 28, 2015
Samsonite provides a fun family sense work environment. The customer base are very friendly even though some may not speak english. The hardest part of the job is heavy lifting during shipment and the most enjoyable is definately your co-workers. The only problem I've found with Samsonite is that some managers are behind the times and refuse change.
Pros
Benefits and consistent hours
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy the people i work with
Temporary Employee (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLMay 31, 2015
Good people I work with keep the day going, while all the time we get the job done. The work is not hard its a good place to work,
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great flexible place to work for.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Carlsbad, CAMay 28, 2015
This was a great company to work for. Very flexible in schedules and days off. I enjoyed the conversations and friendships with international customers mostly. The diversity in customers was one of a kind.
Pros
Flexible schedules.
Cons
Pay raises were low.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well established company, good company
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  commerceApril 21, 2015
Well established company was helpful to establish management knowledge. Good benefits and great retirement plan, learned registers and bank deposits.
Pros
bonus
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Frustrating
Full Time Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Cabazon, CAApril 20, 2015
The company is not very smart. They do not pay their employees on payday and it is very frustrating. The company is upside down, sets goals too high to achieve. I love my coworkers they are amazing.
Pros
Employee discounts and bonuses.
Cons
The language barrier between the customer and the worker.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet and simple
2nd Key/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Hanover, MDApril 9, 2015
Most of my days consist of selling luggage and travel accessories to a diversity of cultures. I would have to say that the hardest part of my job position is the waiting for customers to enter the store.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Environment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Jacksonille, FlApril 6, 2015
Hours begin at 8 am and usually end at 5 pm.
Lunch ranges from 30-60 minutes
Demanding customers and sales representatives.
Good work environment.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Line Worker (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLApril 5, 2015
great work enviroment with good people and magement that provides all the tools needed for a great workplace so the customers can be helped
Pros
free lunches
Cons
good heathcare
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Samsonite. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 92 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.8
Management
3.8
Culture
3.9