Find companies:
Samsonite
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
27 reviews

Samsonite Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid company, just not alot of room for advancement
Supervisor/Manager (Former Employee), Goodyear, AZApril 18, 2014
Pros: flexible hours
Cons: no room for advancement
Great company, it just was not going places. Eventually had to leave, but really enjoyed those I worked with and the flexability in hours etc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Retail Store Manager (Former Employee), Cabazon, CAMarch 13, 2014
At this time I can not talk about working for this company. I did work 45+hrs and managed up to 12 employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse worker
Team Lead Order Picker (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 21, 2014
leading a group of well trained order pickers, work on being a better lead
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
warehouse worker
Team Lead Order Picker (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLJanuary 17, 2014
self-motivated hardworking work well alone and with others meeting tight deadlines and try to learn more than enough about my job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work hard, play hard
Compliance Analyst (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLNovember 26, 2013
Pros: team building events, early release before holidays, jeans ok all week even in front offices
Cons: be ready to work hard
Samsonite is open to finding ways to improve their company. The old adage of "we've always done it this way" is not what they want to hear. If there is a better way of doing a process, they are open to changing that process.

All the team, including upper management, is interested in work with the employees to find the right fit for each person, and – more... handles employees on a case by case basis. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Samsonite was an AWSOME experience overall
sales associate/ supervisor (Former Employee), Camarillo, CANovember 15, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
My typical day working in Samsonite was Opening up, Prepping the cash register and positioning myself so when the first customer came in, I was able to work with them one on one. Working for this company helped me how to learn to sell product. For example demonstrating its weight, describing material, its strength, quality, and different sizes. From – more... High in Spinner luggage to low priced upright regular luggage, Samsonite became my stepping stool in the start of my selling ability. The management in Samsonite the time was Awesome. The assistant manager was always there.Working with us one on one, helping us when we made a mistake in the cash register, she was literally always there serving us as a true leader. The hardest part of working in Samsonite was when I first became a supervisor. My first week in opening was hard. I didn't know how to do it at first, it took me awhile to learn. The most enjoyable was when e got customers from different parts of the world. it was such a JOY! to hear, and learn of different cultures and languages. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very nice work place
Supervisor (Current Employee), Camarillo, CANovember 5, 2013
A typical work day is managing the look of the store, helping customers in any way possible. I know how to handle money, open and close the register, doing returns and exchanges. Overall it is a good job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
3rd Key Supervisor/Interim Manager (Former Employee), Fort Worth, TXOctober 7, 2013
Pros: great management, excellent training
Cons: long days
While I only worked with Samsonite for a short time since it was a temporary location, I can honestly say it was the best company I have ever worked for. The DM was incredibly nice and helpful. Every day that I had to work, I got up with ease and excitement. Although I did work a lot towards the closing, it did not deter me from going into work. This – more... is honestly a great company to work for! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and reliable place to work.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJune 28, 2013
Pros: flexibility
Samsonite is a great place to work at, it's a big family and a stable and prosperous company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time
Part-time Sales Associate (Former Employee), Myrtle Beach, SCJune 11, 2013
Pros: the manager worked with my schedule at a different job were i was assistant manager.
I was a part-time employee and only worked about 15 hours a week to help during the holidays, but it was a great job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company, Excellent Product
Supervisor (Former Employee), Ellenton, FLJune 10, 2013
Pros: it was going to be my store! :)
Cons: lots of overhead lifting
Loved working there. Was hired to become a Store Manager and trained from the best. I was disappointed when my Manager opted to stay out of retirement and renew her contract for 5 years. When I was hired the store-room was a disaster. However, before I left I had that store running like a Swiss watch. :)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Supervisor (Former Employee), lawrenceville gaApril 25, 2013
Very slow might see 3 to 7 customers on a weeknight
management was good trained very well
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved the managment
Retail Sales (Former Employee), Jeffersonville, OHJuly 15, 2012
I loved taking charge and having my own store. I was hired as a keyholder at first and 4 months later I was assistant manager. My manager walked out one month after that and I became the manager. The hardest part was not having an assistant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sales
Sales-cashier (Former Employee), La Marque, TXJune 8, 2012
selling luggage and warranties on the luggage, customer service, sales
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work independently
Store Manager (Former Employee), Concord, NCMarch 9, 2012
Great employer, fair pay and excellent benefits. Great managers and wonderful opportunities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
PA TO CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER (Former Employee), Hong Kong, HKIJuly 23, 2014
Great company to develop customer service skills and gain exposure to different levels of management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Sales Associate/ Supervisor (Current Employee), Calgary, ABFebruary 4, 2014
Fast pace. Constantly helping customers and dealing with their issues. If specific help needed, I help them find a perfect match to their needs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Summer helper (Former Employee), Stratford, ONJune 17, 2013
Pros: work experiance
Originally I was only to help get luggage from the shelves, make displays and help carry-out luggage to customer cars. Then by watching the manager talk with customers about the products, I started to pick up on a lot of what he was saying and use it to sell luggage as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2YEARS EXPERIANCE
ASSISTANT STORE MANAGER (Former Employee), KOLKATAMarch 18, 2013
Cons: 10.30 to 9pm
THE COMPANY IS GOOD .SALARY STRUCTURE NOT BAD BUT THE STORE OPEN AND CLOSE TIME SO LONG.MANAGEMENT IS OK
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Muy buen clima laboral y apreciacion del empleador
(Retail) Encargada de local (Former Employee), cabaJune 12, 2014
Pros: horarios flexibles - compañerismo
Cons: comida y descanso en lugar de trabajo
Un ambiente de trabajo agradable de parte de mis compañeras y de los supervisores. Trabajo con capacitación constante y herramientas para desarrollar un buen trabajo.