Sanford-Burnham Medical Research Institute Employee Reviews

Showing all 11 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State of the art laboratory!
Lab Technician II (HT/HTL) (Former Employee) –  Lake NonaApril 24, 2017
I absolutely loved working here - overall it gets 5 stars from me. A lot has changed since I have been gone though from what I understand. (I still maintain contact with other current employees). When I was there though, I was able to learn hands on things that most people will go a lifetime and not have the opportunity to learn. The people were nice, the work was fun and I when I went home everyday I felt successful and satisfied with my job. Unfortunately, a feeling I am currently missing... I only left because slowly my hours started going down (I was part-time) and then the other part-time job I had was desperate to make me a full time employee... so overall, in the end, I left. Would go back in a heartbeat if there was a spot for me though.
Pros
Lunch and learns were awesome :) Free food and awesome science
Cons
I just wish when I was there that there had been more work for me!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Senior Communications Specialist (Current Employee) –  La Jolla, CAMay 5, 2015
Sanford-Burnham is a wonderful employer, with a solid financial backing to ensure the longevity of the company. With an academic culture that emphasizes collaboration, it's a great place to work.
Pros
location, financial security, positive work environment
Cons
bi-coastal, revolving leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it's better to have an advanced degree in here
lab assistant (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CAOctober 11, 2014
People are really friendly, but as an undergraduate, I highly recommend you to have at least a master degree. Otherwise it will be hard to balance your life and work.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive environment
postdoctoral associate (Current Employee) –  la jollaSeptember 17, 2014
freedom is the main parameter in research and collaboration is a must to achive results. Burnahm offers that
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative environment.
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CAMarch 4, 2014
Collaborative environment.
Weekly seminars.
Flexible hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enviroment and facility is good.
Research Associate II- Laboratory (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 3, 2013
Researchers were energetic and friendly. I learned a lot of new strategies and skills at there. As the scale of laboratory was small, I could experience several kind of things like management, equipment maintenance and so on. But sometimes those works made me so busy.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Buyer I (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 8, 2012
Caring supervisor, nurturing staff members. They were all very kind to their student workers. They are very flexible about work and class schedules.
Pros
world class medical research. highly collaborative environment
Cons
no cafeteria on premisses
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Basic and Translational Science with internal collaboration
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLSeptember 26, 2012
Highly talented Indivisuals move forward basic research projects seemlessly.

Not Stable.
Pros
great opportunity for international people
Cons
benefit for non-managing position
Was this review helpful?Yes1No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No one day is ever the same
Executive Assistant, Administration (Current Employee) –  Orlando, FLAugust 31, 2012
Been an exciting ride multi-taskng on various projects as I assisted alongside talented colleagues on this start-up organization.
Pros
opportunity to develop and grow in many areas
Cons
initial start-up personnel are being phased out
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and nice place to work
Postdoctoral associate (Current Employee) –  La Jolla, CAMarch 20, 2012
it's not a big place so it's easy to get to know each other. people are really friendly. it is easy to get help and work with others. Research environments are good.
Pros
flexibility to work
Cons
lots of work to do
Was this review helpful?Yes7No6Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sanford-Burnham Medical Research Institute. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 11 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0

Sanford-Burnham Medical Research Institute Reviews by Job Title

Sanford-Burnham Medical Research Institute Reviews by Location