Santa Ana Star Casino Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fastpaced environment with poor management
Kitchen Utility Worker (Current Employee) –  Bernalillo, NMNovember 14, 2017
Working here was an interesting experience, there is a lot to learn but the management is very biased and doesn't care for their employees well being.
Pros
Free lunch, new learning opportunities
Cons
Harassment from coworkers, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place, diverse community
Beverage Server (Former Employee) –  Bernalillo, NMOctober 25, 2017
It was fun servicing our quests with drinks. I learned a lot about different people who would visit the casino. Management was great, the workplace culture was fun.

The hardest part of the job was working graveyard shifts after going to school full time and getting off in the mornings to run my kids around, I had minimal sleep.

The most enjoyable part of the job was the great co-workers and meeting a lot of new guests.
Pros
free employee lunches and dinners. Fun work environment
Cons
Graveyard shift, no benefits because I was part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
IT Application Specialist (Current Employee) –  Bernalillo, NMAugust 13, 2017
Great company to work for. Everyone is really friendly. Awesome benefits.
Hardest part of the job is schedule, have to work weekends.
Overall really recommend this company.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Have to work weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Correct
Grill Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Bernalillo, NMJuly 15, 2017
Fabulous place to work! I made a mistake ever leaving! Would sure like to be back in the fold. The fellow employees were a joy to work with and I love the guests.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Challenging Place to work
Human Resources (Former Employee) –  Santa Ana Pueblo, NMJuly 5, 2017
Plenty of work to keep you on your toes but in a fun, easygoing environment. Great employee and community events. Free lunch buffet for employees. Great place to work!
Pros
Free lunch, Fun Employee Functions, Good Benefits
Cons
Schedules are not very flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Bernalillo, NMMay 20, 2017
I really loved working at the Santa Ana Star Casino... Great people, employee cafeteria, shuttle service, all-around a really nice place to work. I miss it!
Pros
free lunch in employee caf.
Cons
Can't leave for lunch, gaming rule..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Recruiter (Former Employee) –  Bernalillo, NMMay 3, 2017
Santa Ana Star Casino is a great place to work. It is a very fun environment. The perks are good such as free employee cafeteria... I would still be there today if not for my immediate manager who is no longer with the company.
Pros
Free employee lunch every day!
Cons
Cannot leave the building for lunch.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy office.
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  Santa Ana, CAMarch 8, 2017
Processed high volume invoices and weekly check runs along with keeping track of monthly lease payments. Also set up vendors and issued 1099s. Great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, okay place to work. Need to more people freindly.
Warehouse Lead (Current Employee) –  Bernalillo, NMJanuary 18, 2017
Just unload vendor trucks, put product away. And pull orders through out the casino... Sweep and clean thru out the warehouse. Make sure we check the produce that comes from the vendors as well.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
bad Managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most fun I've ever had working
Bowling Control Desk Attendant (Current Employee) –  Bernalillo, NMJanuary 9, 2017
Santa Ana is the best job I have ever had hands down. I work in the bowling alley. I'm people oriented and with this job it fulfills that need. Everyone is so friendly and helpful and has really made me feel like part of the team. My coworkers and managers are so nice and I've made friends quickly. I get to listen to music all day and the hardest part of my job is standing there lol So I find little cleaning things to do, simple but makes the day fly by. There's always something going on and I love making amazing moments with guests.
Pros
EDR free buffet lunch meal (one a day).
Cons
you have to wait 6 months in original position till you can apply for full time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report

Want to know more about Santa Ana Star Casino?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Review
Bartender (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJanuary 6, 2016
I was very happy with all of my employers and felt that I learn as a professional in the workplace that it's very important to communicate to all involved in the circle of employment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Director of Purchasing (Current Employee) –  Santa Ana Pueblo, NMMay 21, 2015
Voted two years in a row Top Place to Work in New Mexico. the managment is focused, and has a great vision. The team is Awesome!
Pros
Great managment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day at work
Human Resources Training Manager (Former Employee) –  Santa Ana Pueblo, NMMay 14, 2015
Had fun working in this industry. I enjoyed training and helping adults learn.

The work/life balance was challenging.

I enjoyed working with a great group of people.
Pros
Fun
Cons
no work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyday brings a new adventure
Players Club Rep (Current Employee) –  Bernalillo, NMJanuary 11, 2015
A typical day at work consist of assisting customers with their membership status and signing new guest up for membership. Answer inbound calls from customers with questions about current promotions and transfer calls to the appropriate department.
Pros
meeting different people on a daily basis
Cons
stationary
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a terrible place to work
Accounting (Former Employee) –  Bernalillo, NMOctober 8, 2014
Management does not want to hear about problems - if you keep your nose down and do the work you will be fine, but if you question things you should beware - they totally believe in the Without Cause termination
Pros
free food and drinks
Cons
ability to rely on HR or management for help
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad place to work for under paid
Housekeeper (Current Employee) –  Bernalillo, NMJuly 13, 2014
Don't be a house keeper 8.47 a hour manager favors certain people.Hr wont listen
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Native American Casino joining the larger community
EXECUTIVE CHEF (Former Employee) –  Santa Ana Pueblo, NMMarch 25, 2014
Good work culture.
Friendly co-workers.
Driven to be better.
Needs to listen to their managers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and customer friendly workplace.
Vault cashier and security officer (Former Employee) –  Bernalillo, NMFebruary 6, 2014
As a cashier i would verify previous shift bank. after opening the customer window i would run customer coin and exchange for cash. My main job was to verify cashier banks and replenish them.

As a security officer I walked around the casino or was posted at a spot in the casino to observer and assist with any customer or employee issues. I provided security for all money transfers in the casino. I had a good relationship with customers and employees
Pros
enjoyable customer service, good co workers, good pay
Cons
overnight hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not kept busy
Shuttle driver (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJanuary 15, 2014
When you do just shuttling; it does not keep you buy enough. I like keeping busy the whole time at work. Makes the time and enjoyment of the job much better
Pros
enjoy people
Cons
not enough work
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casino
Slot Attendant (Former Employee) –  Bernalillo, NMDecember 26, 2013
The people made the work great. The downside was short breaks and lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Santa Ana Star Casino. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 24 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.4
Culture
3.8