SANTA CLARA COUNTY OFFICE OF EDUCATION Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Classroom environment working conditions
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CANovember 24, 2015
It was fine being a substitute teacher. I liked the flexibility of taking assignments when I wanted to work. I would have done it for a career if it had benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was treated with no respect and unfair. Former employee
Former teacher (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaFebruary 5, 2016
They let me go and i was treated mean by supervisor. They did not value me at all or have compassion. Supervisor dislike me. Created a hostile environment. They had me under restictions.
Pros
Flexible job
Cons
Very stressful descreminate favor people
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administrative Assistant/Customer Service
Administrative Assistant II (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAOctober 16, 2015
I work in a very busy work environment. The people who I work with to help get my job done are very helpful and knowledgeable. If I have questions I know I can ask and get the answers I need. I truly enjoy working with people and helping people get answers to their questions and feel accomplished. I am able to learn quickly and enjoy change and challenges.
Pros
Provide support to people as needed
Cons
Not enough time in a day to get the job done
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Payroll Manager (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAAugust 13, 2015
There are many amenities at Santa Clara County Office of Education. The salaries are very good and great benefits. Business Services is a great department to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work environment
Assistant teacher (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAOctober 23, 2015
SCCOE is a good place to work. It support its employees and helps the community to do better in many ways.
l like my work , specially love to help others who is in needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away!
Special Education Teacher (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAApril 1, 2015
Working for the County was a nightmare. I was never given an evaluation and had three different administrators in my one year working there. Things are disorganized and expect very little help if you need it. Everyone passes the buck here.
Pros
Good salary, good location
Cons
Poor leadership and support
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer, great benefits, respectful workenvironment
Teacher (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAOctober 2, 2012
This was a great place to work at. I enjoyed my 6 years working for Santa Clara County Office of Education. The benefits were excellent, employees were treated with courtesy and respect. Santa Clara County supplied their employees with excellent resources and advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Para Educator (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAJuly 22, 2015
Working for The Santa Clara County Office of Education has been a great experience! Learned a lot. Great people to work with. Busy/ productive days.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a lot about child development of special children since I started working in SCCOE.
Paraeducator (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAMarch 1, 2014
My work in SCCOE is very challenging, yet rewarding.
A typical day at work involves, either home visits or attending a center-based class for visually impaired children.
Everyday is a learning experience dealing with the special students
and their parents/guardians.
Likewise challenging, is working with Teachers/Specialist and co-Paraeducators.
The hardest part of the job is having three home visits a day, which means driving from one place to another, with a window of just 30 minutes.
The most enjoyable part of my job is working with the children and parents, especially, when you are able to establish rapport with them,
implementing the plan and programs seems easier.
Pros
teachers share their knowledge and expertise on how to educate children with special disabilities.
Cons
short break periods.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very detail oriented organization.
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CASeptember 10, 2012
I was only there for one year and this place was phenomenal, too bad that I was only there as a part time employee. The staff is very friendly and management set clear and reachable deadlines.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding Job
Special Ed. Aide (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CaAugust 29, 2012
I worked with Mentally/Physically handicapped children. We worked on Personal Grooming, self-help skills. I helped they work on education goals to obtain communication skills through computer programs, Audio switch and touch pads. The students worked on feeding skills from learning to tollerate food to being able to feed themselves. At times I worked with Medically Fragile children that needed Tube feeding, oral/trachea suctioning,had seizure protocols and required constant positioning throughout the day to keep muscles and bones stretched and in alligment.
Pros
working with children off all ages, able to help improve their lives.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and entertaining to work with the kids
Special Education Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAJuly 2, 2013
while working for the Santa Clara County of education I taught a group of students who where diagnosed with autism. I helped the kids with basic skills in math, puzzles and reading. The most hardest part of the job was calming the kids in times of anger issues; however the most enjoyable part of job was watching smiles on there faces as they completed there skills was well rewarding
Pros
off campus lunches and fexible hours
Cons
payday was once a month
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Pay / Flexible Hours
Special Education Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAApril 5, 2012
Pay is good and you can pick which assignment and where you want.
Pros
good pay / flexible hours
Cons
not full time
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great opportunity to work with different kinds of students and the staff all work as a team.
Paraeducator (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAOctober 21, 2013
My most enjoyable part of my job is to watch the students grow in many different ways and all while having a good time.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of my favorite places to work
Various Clerical Positions (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CASeptember 6, 2012
I had many typical days as I worked in a variety of positions and departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good overall
On call teacher's aide for autism children (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CAApril 15, 2013
I enjoyed my time here, the flexible schedule, the fact I was able to mentor children was amazing.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work for
Sub- Custodian (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CANovember 2, 2013
fun place to work for and would love to work full time but was a sub
Was this review helpful?Yes5No3

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
4.0

SANTA CLARA COUNTY OFFICE OF EDUCATION Reviews by Location