Santa Fe Community College Employee Reviews

Showing all 23 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great student position
Student Worker (Current Employee) –  School of Trades and TechnologyMay 8, 2015
This job was an excellent place to network in the field of sustainable technologies/green energy and provided a very adaptable and flexible schedule which was critical while I was a student. I only wish I had been given more responsibility such as access to the group calendar so I could schedule appointments or access to the online data base which can look up more detailed information for students with questions about classes and details not included in the catalog so I could have helped the regular staff with more responsibilities.
Pros
flexible schedule, minimum wage, compassionate co-workers
Cons
no benefits, no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Student Employee (Human Resources) (Current Employee) –  Santa Fe, NMApril 19, 2016
typical day at work was okay. what I learned was to file productively. management was okay. most co- workers were pleasant. hardest part of my job was demanding co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A active work environment, very friendly
ADMINISTRATOR FOR THE COLLEGE PRESIDENTS OFFICE (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe, NMApril 19, 2016
A active work environment, very friendly. Very help full and knowledgeable work environment. A great stepping stone to my or any ones future. Did basic administrator duties, answering phone calls, filing documents, ect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workspace and love meeting and helping people
Financial Aid Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLMay 9, 2016
Working here was amazing, so sad it ended short. Meeting all the new people everyday and having amazing people working beside you is amazing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Enviornment
Records Technician (Current Employee) –  Santa Fe, NMJune 27, 2014
I enjoy my job, I enjoy meeting new people daily. I especially enjoy congratulating students when they have completed their degrees, and I also enjoy helping students achieve their educational goals.

My management team is outstanding, they support me in decisions that would benefit the student and support me when I look for solutions to help my work flow better.
Pros
paid education
Cons
No compensation for earing a degree
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary employees are a dime a dozen
Temporary Staff (Current Employee) –  Santa Fe, NMFebruary 11, 2013
I really like SFCC but I find that in order to get a job, you need to become part of the temporary pool and then apply for an internal posting. When you do, there are a ton of applicants for that same job. That really cuts your chances. The hardest part of the job is keeping busy. I am a temp that does not do much at all
Pros
free food here and there, two weeks off for christmas
Cons
drama, only hires temps so they dont have to give benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advantage: working where I went to school
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe, NMJune 23, 2013
Working at this school while also attending this school made going to school easier for me as they worked with my school schedule.

I learned a lot while working at this school especially about diversity.

The most enjoyable part of this job was meeting new people and going to school.
Pros
I worked with some wonderful people in a wonderful facility.
Cons
I worked as a full time temp so I did not have benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/Study at College Campus
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJune 13, 2015
I was returning to school at age 45 to learn more about
microcomputers and information technology.
I felt lucky to get the job and I was grateful to my
supervisor for hiring me. It was just 15 hours a week
which allowed me time to for school which was the idea.
The money was provided by Federal Financial Aid, not
a private company of any sort.
That worked for me.
My most important task was taking reams of paper to offices
on the Santa Fe College campus. I got to use a golf cart to do
that which I enjoyed immensely. After that was through though
I had to return to the office which was not as much fun. I was
criticized for my phone voice. It was too low said my critics. I
was a 45 year old male how is my voice supposed to sound?
I and another work/study student were called into the office
manager's office twice, once each semester with this
complaint. I got angry about it and quit. Stupid thing. I should
have just let it slide. I could not get another job after leaving.
It was with News and Journalism and I had a background in
writing and was the editor of my high school newspaper.
I liked my co-workers and I learned about multi-line
telephones, printers and putting letters up on outside
bulletin boards. Actually the instruction on printers and
phone lines was a little foggy and the first go through on the
job the boss spoke rather quickly which actually boosted my
ego when I realized I understood everything she said and was retaining it.
I had not worked in a long, long time so the pay was great
although it was just minimum wage which
  more... then was $5.15.
I wished it could be raised and I wished I could get promotions
but work/study doesn't work that way.
  less
Pros
College environment, paydays
Cons
Criticism, foggy instructions
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed teaching
Clinical Nursing Instructor (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe, NMNovember 8, 2014
I made assignments for nursing students. I enjoyed teaching.
The hardest part was personal issues with the students.
Pros
benefits
Cons
personal issues with students
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stable
Department Secretary (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe, NMAugust 9, 2012
stable up beat consistant work, that was encourage to education
Pros
employee get some benefits in regards to tuition
Cons
have to pay extra for gym use..or enrol in class
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Front Desk Clerk (Former Employee) –  Santa feDecember 28, 2015
Busy, non stop, spontaneous,
Great customer service skill, electronic filing,
okay
okay
dealing with co/workers
working with the students
Pros
very rewarding
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Place to Work
Administrative Specialist (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJuly 6, 2015
SFC was just named the most top rated college in the US. It goes without saying that the atmosphere is family like. A typical day is usually very busy but more than not, fulfilling. The students come in all age groups and it seems everyone who works there is interested in ensuring that the students succeed. The people are friendly and helpful. There really isn't a day that I worked there that I felt it was more than I could handle. I was able to create a wondering working atmosphere for myself and the coordinators around me. I had the best Director and manager I ever worked for at SFC.
Pros
Family like atmosphere
Cons
Healthcare was a bit expensive for insuring a whole family
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is a good job, but I am 62 years old, and is a hard-work to me
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe, NMAugust 14, 2014
A typical day at work in the Santa Fe Community College is a hard day of work, but when I seen clean all College, I feel that all my job be worth the trouble.I learned that there are many different cultures and different races in a work. The management make a good job. My co-workers was a good team, all working in unison. The hardest part of the job is to clean the blackboards. The most enjoyable part of the job is that all workers have the rights to study six credits free.
Pros
All employees can study.
Cons
The cons is that all employees have problems with their arms because of clean the blackboards.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My worked as a caregiver included many challenges and balancing life and work was not very succesful.
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJuly 25, 2012
A typical work at included working with disabled individuals by assisted them with their daily basic needs. I learned patients and to humble myself always because my clients often had bad days as a result, lots of patients on my part was required. I was not looking in any management position because I was in school pursuing my bachelor's degree in social work, and the agency probably was not going to bring me in the office. The hardest part of the job included working weekends and holidays, which was difficult to balance work and life as I would like to.
Pros
the agency worked around my school schedule as it changes every semester.
Cons
working weekends and holidays, which made it difficult to spend quality time with my family.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Met New People Every Day
Office Assistant, Office of Student Development (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe, NMJune 30, 2012
I took Student ID picture of new student and returning student almost every day. Sometimes i got big project like typing up surveys pr organize the office. Organized campus social, cultural and student support events and field trips. Created flyers and posters to promote events. Purchased supplies, decorated event area. I learn how to treat people when their upset about something or when their even happy. My management was good they were always there for me and treat me with respect. Co-Workers were good. The hardest part of the job was when my boss gave me a bunch jobs at once while i was doing student id's on the first day of school. The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting new people everyday.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It feels like a home
Student Worker (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe, NMJanuary 20, 2013
The people there are so nice and they know when you have a problem they try their very best to help you. I've learned a lot about data entry, and taking care of the students there. The management know how to correct you if you are doing something wrong in a nice way, and the coworkers are just fantastic people. The hardest part of the job is when graduation comes. When everyone has to have their documents all filed and set. The Most enjoyable part of the job is that the people are laid back, and support each other.
Pros
flexible hours, free cake every month for birthdays, cook outs that the students and faculty can participate in
Cons
there isn't health care if you are a student worker.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning experience using Microsoft Word every day.
Administrative Assistant/Certified Test Proctor (Current Employee) –  Gainesville, FLOctober 13, 2015
Typical day, scheduling and preparing Professors' exams, while maintaining a quiet environment for all the test takers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great feeder college
Clinical Instructor (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLFebruary 14, 2014
Excellent place to work if you can "get in." Alot of part-time employees with no advancement possibilities. Great facilities and second to none clinical experiences for health science students.
Pros
Excellent programs
Cons
Tends to have a "good ole boy" network.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity to get customer service skills
Financial Aide (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJuly 18, 2012
Worked as an alternative to taking out more in student loans. Work-study.
Was the call center for the whole facility, learned how each department ran, and helped train others.
Pros
was fun to work, part time and not have to go far for classes.
Cons
traveled to far once i was down to only on line classes.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great college!
Educational Aide (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLJanuary 5, 2015
Santa Fe Community College is a great school. The classes are small which makes it easy to access professors for one on one attention. I worked for the Adult Education program assisting students with preparing for the GED, CPT, and TABE tests.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Santa Fe Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.8
Culture
3.9

Santa Fe Community College Reviews by Location