Find companies:
Santa Rosa Junior College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
16 reviews

Santa Rosa Junior College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a Productive and fun place to work and I learned new skills
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Petaluma campus ofd SRJCNovember 10, 2013
Pros: very nice workspace. it is a beautiful campus.
Cons: i was taking a county bus and it was a long day
They were very fair to me with my school classes. Management is professional and if I had adapted to the bus rides to and from and being gone all day, I could probably still be there.
I learned how to sort and sell textbooks. It was fun working with the students, there was a lot of positive energy and excitement.
The hardest part of the job was keeping – more... the snacks and drink containers stocked. The drinks at the bookstore were nearly $1. less expensive than the cafe.
I really liked learning new tasks and the interaction with the staff and the students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good students willing to learn.
Adjunct Professor (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CAOctober 26, 2013
Pros: learners that wanted to learn and interesting topics to teach to this audience.
Cons: i would have like to work more.
I only taught short management course on such topics as conflict management and human resources. Many of my students were current Sonoma County employees while others represented a vast range of the community. The classes were 6 hours on the weekend for a few weekends in a row. I was able to apply my contextual lens to these varying groups of students – more... so that I could be effective in framing what I was teaching to their learning needs and wants. Management was good. I did not get to know co-workers because I was so part-time. I loved the variety of students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly staff, comfortable work environment
STNC Assistant (Current Employee), Santa Rosa, CAJuly 9, 2013
Pros: not too much time standing
The managers and fellow staff are friendly. A typical day involves setting up computers for tests, answering phones, and confirming testing appointments. The hardest part was answering student questions about other departments in the college - not necessarily stuff you learn very quickly while there. A lot of testers were friendly and very happy - seeing – more... them like that was enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Coordinator and Faculty (Current Employee), Santa Rosa, CAJuly 7, 2013
Pros: confidence in faculty, good staff, great place to be
Cons: healthcare
I love working at SRJC. I am responsible for the teachers in the medical assisting program, and the students. I enjoy managing and teaching a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience in education
Assistant Computer Technician (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CAMarch 18, 2013
This provided me with an opportunity to work with a variety of different people in an educational setting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experience in education
Assistant Computer Technician (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CAMarch 18, 2013
This provided me with an opportunity to work with a variety of different people in an educational setting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
basic office work environment
Student Assistant (Former Employee), Petaluma, CAFebruary 20, 2013
Got to learn a lot about basic office work. Used computers a lot, checked items in and out for patrons and teachers, and had basic cleaning/opening/closing duties. There were issues with the management from time to time unfortunately, but a good work experience overall.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment
Box Office Representative (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CAFebruary 20, 2013
Great and fun place to be. Someone is always willing to help. Meet new people over the phone or in person.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good school to work for and learn
Customer Service/ Stock Clerk (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CAFebruary 11, 2013
starting all the computers set up daily plans and order books for the day
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized program for GED preparation.
Instructional Assistant (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CANovember 18, 2012
Pros: organized, student-centered.
Cons: not enough hours.
My job consisted of working with students on computer assisted learning programs and performing office duties like filing, copying, grading, etc. I learned that I love to teach and I am very organized. The management was professional but somewhat constricted by rules. I had good relationships with my co-workers. The hardest part of this job was that – more... I could only work 10 hours per week. The best part was that I was able to help people learn to read and write and use basic math. It was nice to see their self-esteem grow over the semesters. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Support Service
ESL/General Counselor (Former Employee), 1501 Mendocino Ave. Santa Rosa, CA 95401September 3, 2012
Diverse group of professionals working together to provide superior student support services.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great way to stay in the schooling community
Student Ambassador (Current Employee), Petaluma, CAJune 26, 2012
Pros: work at school
Cons: not so great pay
Nothing is typical about working here, everyday I learn something new. I love helping other people/students with applying for school and helping get financial aid.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable internship with room and minor compensation.
Carpenter/Welder (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CAJune 18, 2012
Pros: invaluable experience, free housing for duration, interesting people
Cons: long hours, difficult work, only minor compensation
This review concerns SRJC's Summer Repertory Theatre (SRT) program, established in 1972.

Students may work 10-hour days depending on department and timing. Most of the program is dedicated to fabricating the set, costumes, props, and the rehearsal and training of the actors and their lines and blocking. After all shows are running, you will only be – more... called for brush-up rehearsals and show calls.

Work is difficult, hours are long, design decisions can be mysterious and frustrating. New, good friends can and will be made, and after the 11-week program, the good memories will settle at the top while the bad ones fade. Difficult in all respects, but worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with practical skills!
Lab Assistant/Tutor (Former Employee), Santa Rosa, CAJune 8, 2012
Pros: semester raises, working where you study, frequent free food, great management
Cons: no benefits (healthcare, paid vacations, etc)
Go in to cover my immediate supervisor, while she went on her lunch brake. I made sure students properly logged in and out of the language lab. I supervised students doing work, taking exams in the language lab. I assisted students setting up interactive language software and DVD's. I answered the phone and took down messages for faculty and staff, – more... including no show or sick leave calls from instructors. I handled the in-comming and outbound postal mail, sorting out the in-comming mail in each instructor's individual mailbox. I took on special assignments as requested by faculty or staff. At the Tutorial Center, I tutored in English, Spanish, ESL, French and Italian. I learned administrative duties, including receptionist skills. I also learned to further develop my tutoring skills. Management at the Modern and Classical Language Lab was down to earth and friendly, but above all top-notch. Management at the Tutorial Center had a professional demeanor, but still friendly. My co-workers at the language lab were all interesting student workers that I got a chance to know. My co-workers at the Tutorial Center were vastly more numerous than at the language lab, so I didn't get to know most, but those that I did became great friends. The hardest part of the job was not smiling, because I simply loved working here. The most enjoyable part of the job was all the skills I learned and the amazing people I met. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and comfortable environment
Front Desk Receptionist/Ambassador (Current Employee), Santa Rosa, CAMay 21, 2012
The feel of this place is great. This is great for students looking for a on campus job