Find companies:
Santander Bank
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
76 reviews

Santander Bank Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Collections Representative (Current Employee), New Bedford, MAAugust 9, 2014
Pros: outbound calls, inbound
Cons: short breaks, low pay for job type
Daily call customers to ensure they're accounts are brought up to date. Handle collecting payments and future payments with customers on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Branch Operations Manager (Current Employee), West Peabody, MAJuly 27, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Cons: wish more overtime
if you have a team that I have its great to work with and comp. always have room for improvement to your carrer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Switch Services Specialist II, Marketing & Sales (Current Employee), East Providence, RIJuly 16, 2014
• Results oriented in completing all phases of the Switch Services process; Direct Deposits, Online Banking Bill Pays and ACH's / Automatic payments
• Excellent / efficient time, scheduling and customer management skills
• Ability to work independently and multitask accurately
• Kept accurate, up-to-date and detailed records of all pertinent customer – more... information in the Switch Services Database
• Results oriented in outbound and inbound marketing efforts to enroll customers in service
• Attention to detail and provided highest quality customer service
• Helped launch and sold new banking products; Extra20 checking & Saving, BRAVO, etc
• Solid track record with meeting and exceeding all goals; Sales, Quality, AHT, Login Time, etc
• Contacted and followed up with Santander branches, customer's, employer's and third parties
• Properly transmitted customer data and documents via e-mail, fax and mail
• Accurately completed multiple online request form's, Switch Authorization forms, Employee and third party biller or direct deposit forms.
• Efficiently notified customer's of all biller and direct deposit updates
• Managed all requests for recurring ACH debits and credits
• Set-up between 1-70 Online Banking Billpays for customers using CheckFree
• Linked customers checking and savings accounts to set-up AutoSave or Extra20 bonuses
• Monitored and managed customer accounts for successful, happy and smooth transition
• Sent multiple Switch Services letter's to customers, branches and third parties; Unable to reach, Thank you letter's, etc – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Work Enviroment
Bank Teller (Current Employee), Langhorne, PAJuly 4, 2014
Efficiently processes both the paying and receiving of customer transactions in a timely manner. I always demonstrate knowledge and dexterity in using computer equipment and systems. I take responsibility for delivering World Class customer service which meets and exceeds the customer’s expectations. Accurately completes settlements on a daily basis – more... with a minimum of errors and within time guidelines. Processes ATM transactions and assists in settlement. Always try to seek out opportunities to learn about products and services in the bank in order to demonstrate basic knowledge of retail products when questioned by customers. I regularly recognize sales opportunities and cross-sells bank products by making quality referrals to team members who are responsible for closing the sale. I also meet teller referral goals and perform other duties and tasks as requested. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales aggressive
Vice President/Branch Manager (Current Employee), Manhattan, NYJuly 3, 2014
Not a lot of room or incentive for growth within.
Policies and way of conducting business doesn't not set them apart from other competitive banks.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Bank with large growth potential
CCAR Team Lead - Commercial Credit Loss (Current Employee), Boston, MAJune 22, 2014
A standard Banking culture with senior management largely taken from the Santander Group in Spain.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales Representative
Service Representative (Former Employee), Arecibo, PRJune 18, 2014
Customer service, orientation, billing transactions, sales strategies, balancing of ATM.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was an experience
Sales & Serv Rep, Branch Ops Manager /Head Teller (Former Employee), Bloomfield, NJJune 16, 2014
Pros: some nice customers
Cons: no understanding from management
coworkers were great. some management was great
enjoyable part of job were my customers. hardest part was bringing on too much to myself
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
...
Business Analyst (Current Employee), Boston, MAJune 5, 2014
• Develop a thorough understanding of all of the operational and functional aspects of the DQSS Loans Settlement area.
• Run and analyze existing metrics on Loans database and report any detected issues appropriately.
• Design and develop new metrics/dashboard as requested or required.
• Develop macros and queries to automate new and existing procedures – more... and control.
• Responsible for achieving critical tasks and ensuring accuracy of data during data movements across IT platforms, or updates within the systems.
• Provide reports adapted to the different audiences and work teams, to ensure that managers in related projects can take decisions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremly busy and hectic work environment.
Online Banking Rep II (Current Employee), Reading, PAJune 3, 2014
My typical day at work and taking in bound calls from customers pertaining to their online banking disputes/errors with the website and or the bill pay service/missing payment. Take about an average of 100 calls a day. This is a very fast paced job and requiries fast learning and the ability to multi-task.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic and poor management
Current Position Teller (Current Employee), DORCHESTER, MAMay 28, 2014
Pros: nothing at all
Cons: poor management
I have very little good comments about the job. It did teach me new mechanics with computers and handling cash. My experience with my branch was not what i expected. They did not put much matter into my outside life when it came in regards of my family. Really poor management and pressuring position for a teller. Would i recommend this job to a family – more... member or a friend? Yes, only after informing them what they'll have coming up. The co-workers are great. The hardest part will be trying to reach the expectations you were required to bring in. Benefits are not the greatest with this bank. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of direction
Personal Banker (Current Employee), Jersey City, NJMay 20, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: no leadership
Too many fire drills, no trust or patience in sales process. Cannot trust superiors (District Executive) lack of leadership in the face adversity. Fair weathered, when things go good, wants to pat you on the back & show support, but when things appear bad, the blame game starts, too many politics. Favoritism plays a hand in who moves up or not. Decent – more... pay, good benefits. Cannot work with a leader like the DE I had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Place to work.
Senior Personal Banking Representative (Current Employee), alabamaApril 24, 2014
I love banking. Love the customer and team members. Micro managed a little and goals were reasonable..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good starting point but not a forever job.
Teller (Current Employee), NJApril 24, 2014
Pros: good starting experience, starting pay, decent benefits
Cons: lack of care for employees, micro-management, power/money hungry, ridiculous goals
Before Sovereign Bank was owned by Santander it was a fairly enjoyable place to work. Now that it is Santander, however, things have changed greatly. Working in a bank it's obvious that referrals are a main task. It's a doable task, except when you have products that no customer wants and you have management breathing down your back and micro-managing – more... everything you do and threatening you with your job to make up for their shortcomings. All this company is interested in is how many accounts and credit cards they can get per day and they won't care which means they use to get them even if it involves lying to and harassing customers and their employees.

Also advancing within the company is very difficult.

It's a good starting point experience-wise but don't plan on making it a lifetime career because you'll surely drive yourself nuts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with ample opportunities to exhibit your skills in your day to day working
Senior Personal Banking Representative (Current Employee), East Hartford, CTApril 17, 2014
Pros: very good incentive structure and excellent recognition system for any kind of achievements
Cons: since we transitioned from sovereign to santander bank, system upgrades sometimes become challenging.
My day at work is always pre-planned and i work out of my calendar on a daily basis. I am responsible for Monday morning weekly meetings with my whole team and that kind of sets the pace for the whole week. I love my team and my co-workers since we share an excellent working relationship and have always been successful as a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
demanding and sales oriented environment
Assistant Treasurer/Retail Branch Manager (Former Employee), Morris Plains, NJApril 3, 2014
Aggressive sales culture and very demanding environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a learning experience
Branch Operations Manager (Former Employee), Boston, MAApril 1, 2014
Pros: gained a lot of experience.
Cons: distant, communication issues, and most of all connecting with their team.
Working at Santander was interesting. I learned a lot and met some awesome people in the process but good managers came few and far between.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont do it
District Executive (Current Employee), LancasterMarch 28, 2014
Pros: not applicable
Cons: micromanagement
Micro management at its best.

Your good one minute and have job threatened the next.

Your real good and then told you always suck.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Sales Results Culture
BRANCH MANAGER (Former Employee), Watsontown, PAMarch 18, 2014
Worked with a great team of long-term employees
Aggressive Goals with Rewards for achieving and over-achieving
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place to work
Senior Small Business Specialist II (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 5, 2014
Pros: small business banking model is ahead of the bank's capabilities, will be great when the bank catches up.
Cons: read the review.
Bank is transitioning from a smaller regional bank to one that wants to compete with much larger banks, but has a lot of work to do with it's technology platform - numerous glitches in information systems and customer facing technological services such as business online banking outages etc. - and it's predecessor's (Sovereign Bank) standing and reputation – more... in the marketplace. Very difficult for a sales or relationship manager to leverage the bank's competitive advantages and its name when looking to win over fence-sitting prospects that did not have an immediate need that the bank could fulfill. – less

1 2 3 4

About Santander Bank

Santander Bank Plc provides first-class independent mortgage advice to suit your requirements. Founded in 1999, we have established – Read more