Find companies:
Sarasota Memorial Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
44 reviews

Sarasota Memorial Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place to work
ultrasound (Former Employee), sarasota,flMay 4, 2013
Pros: the enviroment, the people, oh yeah and starbucks
Cons: short breaks
Typical day at work was productive but the people made it enjoyable. Radiologist were great always ready to teach and keep you up to date on new advancements. My co-workers were awesome. The hardest part of the job I would say is you do stay busy. The most enjoyable part was someone was always willing to give you a hand if needed. I have worked at many – more... hospitals and I will say this is hands down the best hospital I have ever worked for. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am an employee here and its a great place
environmental aide (Current Employee), sarasota flApril 22, 2013
Im glad to be working for one of the best hospitals in the country best place for patient care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large community general hospital in lovely location near Sarasota Bay with off campus in--patient psych facility.
Therapist & Case Manager (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLApril 15, 2013
Work at Bayside Centeer was pleasant, patient care excellent and psychiatrists very talented. Good staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most horrible experience in my life
Surgery dept (Former Employee), SurgeryApril 3, 2013
Pros: you get to say i work for smh
Cons: you work for smh. constantly, being reminded your lucky to have a job.i had a $1 of my pay taken away cause of their remodeling
If you value your self respect and self worth and integrity,do not work for these morons. This place is a joke. Management just cares about there own little clicks.nurses that I worked with we're condescending and disrespectful.you are in fear of losing your job on a daily basis.no real raise for all the extra work. In fact money is taken away due to – more... budget cut....but the workload is still overwhelming.short staff most of the time. I've never felt so let down. Don't believe the hype about this place being a great place to work. It may be in administration but for those who put in the long hours in the evening and on weekends, it's a prison sentence....the sad thing is that it could actually be a great place to work if not for the lousy supervisors(mostly women) – less

Siii – May 3, 2013

I was going to leave a comment but now I don't have to, you summed it up for me. It's toxic there and it feels like a sorority gone bad. There are other rodeos in town that will pay more and their corporate culture is the opposite of SMH, (sorry mother of a hospital) where they are glad to have you not the other way around. I wonder how long before the marketing department pulls the only two negative comments down.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun place to work. Super co-workers
Senior Clinic Nurse - Gulf Gate Walk-In Clinic (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLMarch 3, 2013
Pros: loved being a charge nurse
Cons: travel
Loved being charge nurse. Learned to do different lab testing was very interesting. Management very supportive. Co-workers were the greatest. Loved taking care of all the patients. Hardest part of the job was the 90 mile round trip from home to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Housekeeping
Environmental Aide (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLFebruary 28, 2013
First job and best one yet. Great environment and vibe to work around and complete my work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Magnet hospital not living up to its ideals
Emergency Room Nurse (Current Employee), Sarasota, FLFebruary 20, 2013
Pros: allow for pay differential for bsn and msn
Cons: almost no 15 minute breaks, lucky if get lunch break, health insurance is not good if you don't plan to live near the hospital.
Although the management talks a lot about how nurses opinions are valued, it doesn't really seem to play out that way in reality. The hospital has a long history of caring for the community but it appears the recent financial downturn has hurt it's overall ability to keep nursing staff and techs happy.

My co-workers are great, the management not so – more... much-I am certain my manager still doesn't even know my name after a significant period of time. If you are counting on a hospital that is truely different from others don't bother with this one, however, it isn't worse than the average either. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an okay place to work.
Nutrition Attendant (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLFebruary 18, 2013
Pros: work 4 days a week
Cons: didn't pay much
Sarasota Memorial Hospital is a very nice hospital to have on your resume, but I do feel the hospital could treat their employees better. It's not a terrible place to work, but there is room for improvement there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, I just would like leave my management role.
Pre-Analytical Manager, Laboratory Services (Current Employee), Sarasota FlJanuary 16, 2013
Pros: great facility and close to my home
Cons: long hours and since salaried no compensation.
I am currently in charge of the safety for the laboratory. Also am the manager for about 50 phlebotomy staff that collect, process, and register patients for all aspects of lab testing. During a typical day, I help staff with registration problems, collection issues, evaluate and interview staff, review and write procedures, help nursing with staff – more... education, attend safety committee meetings within the hospital, handle customer inquiries, and monitor day to day budget for 3 lab departments.

I am a type A person, who loves to be busy. This position has given me more than a few challenges, but the staff and management within the SMH system are great. I am just at a point that I need a change in the stress that goes along with this high paced position.

The hardest part of my job is keeping the phlebotomy staff. Unfortunately we do not have a lot of full time positions available so our highly trained staff are always finding jobs in doctors offices and other hospitals. Always happy for the staff, but it means that we have to start over with a new phlebot.

The most enjoyable part of the job is that the staff work together as a team. This organization strives to have all staff from phlebots to doctors adhere to the same set of standards for behaviors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked at the hospital for 12 years.loved my job.The thanks I get is Terminated for no reason.
Sarasota Memorial Surgical Technician (Former Employee), 1700 s tamiami trailJanuary 2, 2013
I loved my job.I loved the people i worked with.Management needs improvement
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
alright
Phlebotomist (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLDecember 18, 2012
i love the sun, the work was good i learned alot from working in big hospital, sometimes i wish i would have never left it was good
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, Great people and managment
Nutrition Attendant (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLDecember 12, 2012
I loved working here, I was given great training and had the tools I needed to do my job well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, long hrs,variety of patients
Radiologic Technologist (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLDecember 5, 2012
Friendly co-workers, fast paced, variety of exams. Hardest part of job
is seeing terminal patients. Most enjoyable part is brightening up
a patients day by simply talking with them as if they were family,
and making them feel that someone cared about them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Phlebotomist TECH II (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLOctober 20, 2012
A typical day at work is fun. Everyday you have a different assignment and areas to work; this way you brake with monotony of the job. Everyday you have a new experience, new challenges
and you meet new people. The most enjoyable part of the job is to know that you are part of a team that is working together to give the best service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very rewarding work place.
Housekeeping Supervisor (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLOctober 3, 2012
Pros: benefits, and chance to grow with company.
Cons: n/a
cleaned patient rooms, was able to transfer in different departments of work. worked in customer service, inpatient and out patient care, physical therapy and the surgical departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best hospital!
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee), Sarasota, FLOctober 2, 2012
I was born in the hospital I work in. I love Sarasota Memorial. It takes a long time to get hired but once you do, your job is pretty secure as long as the employee is punctual and responsible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Employer - Sarasota Memorial Hospital
Compensation and HRIS Analyst (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLOctober 1, 2012
Pros: tuition reimbursement, excellent benefits, and working directly with the employees.
Cons: nothing comes to mind at this time.
There was no typical day at work for me. My position touched all areas of HR and my planned day could change in an instant. I was lucky enough to be part of the HR system implementation in 2000 and was sent to many PeopleSoft/Oracle HR system (Compensation, Benefits, Recruitment, and Payroll) courses. Management was always very supportive and encouraged – more... education which helped my career growth tremendously. My position in HR included training new co-workers on the HR system, interpret hospital policy for compensation and benefits as needed and various other tasks including data retrieval as needed. I feel, if asked, they would describe me as a person that was very knowledgeable and easy to work with. The hardest part of my job was keeping a good balance between my HR duties and my HRIS duties because of logistics and reporting structure. Although my position reported directly to HR, my HRIS duties overlapped many projects with IT and Payroll. These three departments reported to three different VP's and were housed in three different locations. The most enjoyable part of my job was the interaction with the employees at SMH. I was a very active participant during hospital events such as open enrollment, service banquets, and fund raising events. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLSeptember 19, 2012
Pros: bonuses every year !, 12 hrs shift! love it!
Cons: n/a
i have learned a lot at SMH , i worked on a cardiac unit and it was a great experience to me , nurses , managers and pct works together all the time , i think it is a great hospital and a great place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Hospitality Dept./Trainee (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLSeptember 6, 2012
Pros: various things
Cons: breaks were too short
Sarasota Memorial Hospital was a wonderful place to work I really enjoyed the people that I worked for and with. I had a lot of fun working in this environment , with people that really seemed to care about people and their families. I have great friends there still and a great amout of knowledge that I can carry with me always.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a great learning opportunity
LPN (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLAugust 4, 2012
Pros: great learning opportunity
Cons: working nights, difficulty sleeping during the day
I worked at SMH for 4 years all on a cardiac progressive step down CICU unit. I learned telemetry, Care of the post bypass patient, care and management of chest tubes, Code procedures, I became ACLS certified. I floated a lot to the wound care units, and the entire time I was there, I was learning. I enjoyed my job, until my husband had to leave town – more... after Hurricaine Andrew decimated Miami, and I was working nights and needed to transfer to Days, but there were no available positions, so I had to leave to obtain day care for my 5 month old daughter and 5 year old son – less