Find companies:
Sasol
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
148 reviews

Sasol Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Accountant (Former Employee), Sasolburg, Free StateJuly 29, 2013
Pros: a big company with lots of opportunities
I learnt a lot since it was my first job coming from the tertiary. Starting from the cashiers department with just handling cash and cheques processing, to debtors - collecting payments and invoicing, to pension fund department - handling pensioners medical aids and payments, rentals of buildings that Sasol was renting out at that time, to management – more... accounting - dealing with budgets, meetings with internal units managers, checking that costs are processed in the right expense accounts, making sure that expenses v/s budgets are in line – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and serious workplace
Production Shift Manager (Current Employee), Secunda (South Africa)May 14, 2012
Pros: free meals for unplanned overtime
Cons: production workers has no schedule lunch or breaks
Helpfully friendly co-workers who are customer focused.People are knowledgeable about the work and world events.

Bakkie – October 23, 2012

Great company 2 work for.Good remuneration packages.Good allowances eg housing, Transport, Medical etc.lot of opportunities if you want to grow,

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work experience
accounting officer (Former Employee), Secunda, MPJuly 11, 2014
met with allot of interesting people and traveled
the whole Mpumanglanga
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaning and inspection of transformers, substations and yards (filling of batteries with water, changing light bulbs in stations, exchange of silica
Mr/safety Officer (Former Employee), SasolburgJuly 4, 2014
before Commencing work, doing review of the previous work and challenges experienced. doing safety talks, each member of the team is given an opportunity to present toolbox talk. The hardest but challenging part is managing workforce demotivated from home because sometimes the don't open up as some problems are too personal. Change management is also – more... big challenge, workers if used doing daily routine it takes time to reorient them to where they must change and do something differently, in the work situation change is inevitable and to manage that change is exciting and challenging to both employees and the driver(myself) – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Process Artisan (Current Employee), Secunda, MPJuly 3, 2014
Pros: like to eat
Cons: i acn work overtime when needed
Coach learner Artisans
Enjoy everything that I do when i'm at work
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Data capture (Former Employee), Port Elizabeth, ECJuly 1, 2014
Pros: discounts
Cons: standing most of time
capture invoices,I have learned punctuality and patiency.I hardest part was pic time because everyone just come and they all need attention.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average workplace
Specialist Business Analyst (Current Employee), Johannesburg, GPJune 24, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: unclear reporting structure
Committed workers, but management is not strong.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and Client Centric
Specialist HR: Talent Management (Former Employee), Secunda, MP; Sasolburg and Rosebank (Johannesburg)June 18, 2014
Pros: i was exposed in a learning environment, and i had the opportunity to work all over south africa and mozambique.
Cons: leadership teams who are unwilling to change and who could not lead by example.
It was my privilege to be an employee at Sasol Group Services. I was continuously exposed to learning opportunities in all spheres of my career. The five managers I reported to treated me with respect and dignity, and this formed a stable basis for me to conduct my work in the same way. All of them were values driven and walked the talk at all times.

My – more... colleagues eventually became my best friends. We learned a lot from each other especially when working with each other, rendering a service to each other and learning from mistakes. Our working relationship were professional and respectful.

I enjoyed coaching, especially the leadership team. I always value openness, honesty, open mind and a willingness to learn and to develop. Coaching has the ability to discover your full potential and to make the impossible possible. The hardest part of my job was to work with leaders who refused to work on themselves first. The best I could do to overcome this challenge was to start leading by example and to be the role model to them.

My day usually started with a question, namely: What is that one thing that I can do differently to make a difference in people's lives? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worklife is tough sometimes
Technician (Current Employee), Secunda, MPJune 16, 2014
Pros: working on surface, no shifts, bonus system, seeing the world outside
Cons: less pay than underground, bonus system pays less
Typical day includes a morning meeting with my foreman, discussion of safety, work related issues, jobs to be done for the day, complaints if any, breakdown if any and then we go to the different sites to do our jobs.
I learned a lot about downhole motors, survey batteries and tools, drill rigs and how to treat people equally, even though you are a – more... very sought manager.
Management makes life interesting.
Co-workers are awesome, not all, but most.
Hardest part of the job is the tightening and loosening of pipes, bolts, fittings after the men have tightened them.
Most enjoyable part is the freedom with which we can go and do our daily jobs without the foreman or manager breathing down your neck the whole day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and good company to work for
Snr Secretary (Current Employee), Secunda, MPJune 13, 2014
Pros: lunch time
Cons: normal hours
I work for Sasol now for nearly 27 years. I'm very happy to work at Sasol but they busy with Project Phoenix now where some of our people will get packages, I want to go on early retiremane but is still fir enough to work at another company do have a lot of experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making Fuel
Millwright (Current Employee), Secunda, MPJune 8, 2014
Pros: good benifits
Cons: no time for personal life
Day at work consists of maintenance and fixing allot of breakdowns. Machines are old and needs allot of attention.
Learned to make quick decisions and work under extreme pressure.
Management has created a culture to expect high delivery without the input of material needed to deliver.
Co-workers are very good teammates and we work good together.
Hardest – more... part of my job is to stay focused when you are required to do your best without help from management.
Most enjoyable part of the job must be the shower at the end of the day. That really closes of a hard day at work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A workplace fulfilled with chanllenges
Senior Specialist: Business Development (Current Employee), Johannesburg, GPJune 2, 2014
It is endless for career development in Sasol due to its complexity in the industrial sectors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND FUN WORK PLACE
ARTISAN WELDER (Former Employee), Sasolburg, FSMay 31, 2014
Pros: free lunche
Cons: long hours
PUNCTUALITY AND DEDICATION IS IMPORTANT AT WORK.
HONESTY AND TRANSPARENCY ASWELL.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sasol provide healthy and safety
Storeman (Current Employee), Secunda, MPMay 31, 2014
Pros: company give us recognitions
Daily tasks to minimise pressure at work

I have learned how to operate things on my own without supervision

Good strategic,staff training and commucation skills

Good relations with colleagues for each other

Penalising employees without proper reason

To ensure that each task of the day is completed
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sasol provide health and safe working conditions
Storeman (Current Employee), Secunda, MPMay 31, 2014
Pros: free uniforms and training sessions
Cons: leave hours
Daily tasks are planned accordingly to minimize pressure at work.
I have learned to be independent at work and be able to resove queries all by myself.
Management at sasol always arrange trainings to empower us
My co-workers are all open for which ever problem i come across at work.
Lifting have items during staking and storage
Achieving the highest – more... service levels always – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good exposure and experience
Process Technician (Current Employee), Sasolburg, FSMay 29, 2014
Pros: development in attending workshops
Cons: career development
Meetings and resource management and control. Equipment's commissioning and plant optimization. Liasing with different team members at different levels.

Enjoying daily challenges and problem solving to ensure productivity is increased. The hardest job is working under pressure to meet dead line and submit accurate information.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot to learn if you are someone with ambition.
Senior Analyst (Current Employee), Johannesburg, GPMay 27, 2014
Pros: an understanding and a human being for a boss lady.
Cons: too much flexibility, one could end up being in trouble if you are not disciplined.
My day at work depends on the activity for the time period. I could be having the monthly meetings with the service providers, which each meeting's duration is 1hours 30minutes. I book 2 meeting a day and then when I am done with them, I will start responding to emails to return missed calls etc.
I have learned a lot about Sasol as the company and I – more... ma still learning as there is a lot to learn. When they have to procure something, they have to go to the market and select not less than 3 vendors - there are processes and procedures that are being followed through that process.
I have learnt to meet the people I liaise with in person, this simplifies doing your job. If you request information from someone and they are not responding, pick up a phone and call them- if they are a walking distance from where you work, take a few minutes off and pay them a visit. By doing this, you don't lose anything, instead you get what you are looking for without any unnecessary tensions. You then are able to deliver. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sasol high performance culture
Safety administrator (Current Employee), Sasolburg, FSMay 21, 2014
Pros: team work, great managers
Cons: no opertunity for growth
as a employees at sasol, a tipical day starts with morning meetings and planning of production, then you start with your planned daily and weekly workthat need to be completed. you learn and gain a lot of profesional and private life experiance
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sasol is a very good employer
Clerk (Current Employee), SecundaMay 21, 2014
Pros: recognition when you work safe
Cons: no cons
1.Assist with BBS loading and report (BAPPT TRACK)
2.Scheduling of medical surveillance ( yearly medical examinations)
3.Analyze notifications loaded by production to ensure compliances to work management process (i.e. notification approvals and correct coding used)
4.Assist with information update for foremen Scorecards and preparation of files for – more... Audit.
5.Daily admin activities.
6.Check IMS reports and feedback on outstanding inspections.
7.Drawing and manager shift PPE orders.
8.Assist with Notification loading on SAP system.
9.Establishing and maintaining hard copy files in accordance with IMS Guidance documents.
10. Provide SAP PS2 report to Foreman (i.e. error massages, overtime reports, clock time reports and update personnel overtime spreadsheet on “O” Drive.
11.Searching for stock codes and descriptions (RAMIS).
12.Taking minutes during Foreman meeting with Section Leader\ Area Leader.
13.Assist Foreman with stationary order for their Shift.
14.Assist on daily scorecards information update.
15.Assist with the personnel files for the Foreman for all shift personnel.
16.Receiving of bar coded stock/orders.
17.Assist foreman on loading incidents, near misses and loop closure on SAP.

This is more or less what I do daily
Then there is shut down when we work overtime – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creativeness Allowed
Shutdown Planner (Current Employee), Secunda, MPMay 14, 2014
Pros: high quality professionalism
Cons: high work volume with small durations
A typical day at work requires me to be very interactive and have high level of correspondance with stakeholders who take part in the project that I might be planning at that time. Intense creativeness is a requirement at my work currently. stakeholder focus, integrity, people skills are the must have values.
I have learned that no man is an island, – more... that with a team a lot can be accomplished with a good support from my management team. The most enjoyable part with the type of the job that I am doing is that you always learn something new and you always find new ways to solve problems.
Relationships that I build forms a huge part of who I have and want to become in the future. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Sasol

Sasol is an energy and chemicals company. Sasol adds value to coal, oil and gas reserves, using these feedstocks to make liquid – Read more