Find companies:
Save-A-Lot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
396 reviews

Save-A-Lot Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful first job
Night Manager/Cashier (Former Employee), Whitwell, TNAugust 14, 2014
Great first job for any high school student I learned a variety of skills that I can carry on to any job/career
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a very interesting, fun job to work at
Cashier, Stocker, Meat Packaging (Former Employee), Pueblo, COAugust 13, 2014
I had a blast working for the waffle house! I met new, vibrant, interesting people every night I worked! I also had regulars that I enjoyed serving on a nightly basis! The job never got boring for me!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced work environment
Cashier (Current Employee), Columbus, OHAugust 11, 2014
Cons: short breaks, low pay for hard work
Fast-paced work, Working with food and customers daily. Basically the jack of all trades for this company, we don't have people for specific jobs. My job includes: opening store, putting out produce making sure its fully stocked all day long, greet and ring out customers, make sure to answer all questions and if needed help the customer find what they – more... are looking for (this also includes helping customers with disabilities shop), make sure shelves are fully stocked, do hourly store walk (in order to make sure the isles have no hazards on floor), make sure bakery is fully stocked and dated correctly.
I have learned how to multitask, quickly and effectively. Since we have no person designated to certain jobs this is a must. I have learned how to handle customers that are not happy with the store and the products we have, or customers with concerns about anything store related.
As far as management, they do what they can. They work around your schedule which is nice, but the hours aren't guaranteed.
Hardest part of the job, is having to basically do 3 to 4 different jobs everyday on top of my daily duties.
Most enjoyable part of my job, probably would be my coworkers. We have a family environment at this store, we all get along and everyone is there for each other, strong support from my coworkers. The regular customers also are apart of the enjoyable part of my job, the relationship I get to build with them is nice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work meeting new people
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), Thomaston, GAAugust 9, 2014
a typical day of work was coming in and opening the store by making sure the store was clean and everything was in the right spot. The management was good and helpful when there was a problem. The hardest part of the job was when a customer was really upset and there was no way to calm them down. The best part about the job was meeting new people everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Stock/Cashier (Former Employee), Syracuse, NYAugust 5, 2014
good staff nice supervisor cant complain good atmosphere really liked working at save a lot
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pleasant experience
Co-Manager (Former Employee), Alton, ILAugust 4, 2014
Pros: easy work
Cons: short breaks, public relations
Worked there several years without any major complaints, I was young and it got me by. Pay was minimum wage but as to be expected for the work load. I moved up to Co-assistant manager within 6 months and got a small increase in pay. For the amount of responsibility I took on I feel I should've received more but I was young and would accept any raise – more... at that point in my life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work place
Grocery Stock/Cashier/Meat/Produce (Former Employee), Ironton, MOAugust 4, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: snow storms
Stock shelves and interact with the customers. Coming from a small town I already knew most all the customers and It didn't take long to meet and talk to the ones I didn't. I Learned the regulars/ everyday shoppers, what they bought and what we would typically be talking about that day. My favorite part was the customers and giving the best service – more... I possible could. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy
Cashier (Former Employee), Independence, MOJuly 27, 2014
Pros: fast paced, enjoyed our customers
Cons: very short breaks
always had something to do, never boring, always moving, made time go by very quickly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cleaning up the store
Sanitation Worker (Former Employee), Beattyville, KYJuly 17, 2014
Pros: you get to meet new people and the oppertunity to help others
Cons: short breaks and no free lunch
I enjoy cleaning, I am a clean freak. I work really hard and do my best to my extent! the most enjoyable part of this job is I would be able to do what I do best. the hardest part of this job would be having to have it done at a certain time, but I could still do it!! I get well with others so I wont have any problems with my co- workers!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Co-assistant Manager (Former Employee), Upper Darby, PAJuly 16, 2014
Good culture and management. They cared about their people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting new people everyday was fun. I learned to keep my composure and have plenty patience with the public.
Clerk (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 15, 2014
Multitasking is a must when working as a clerk. being able to deal with diffeernt personalities is something that was learned. The hardest part of the job was the late nights.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Coustomer Service (Former Employee), Cleveland Heights, OHJuly 14, 2014
Pros: everything
Great leaders and workers at Save A Lot I liked that place very much.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Sylacauga, ALJuly 8, 2014
Pros: good benefits.
Cons: short breaks
I dealt with customers face to face and helped out when needed on the floor, always greeted each person with a smile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waiting on customer
Cashier (Former Employee), Sandusky, OHJuly 7, 2014
Helping a coworker get carts and stock merchandise. I liked a majority people that came in there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place with neighborhood families.
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee), Toledo, OHJuly 3, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: short breaks
On a typical work day i enjoy working in customer service. I enjoy the fast pace work. My co-workers treated everyone as family. My Managers were very well respected and understanding. The hardest part of working in customer service was seeing family struggle to pay for groceries.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy the daily routines of running the store
Shift Lead (Current Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 2, 2014
A typical day at work consists of checking temps, making sure that the perimeter of the store looks good and is full of product. Ensuring that product is on the shelf for the customer.

I have learned to multi task on many levels. As the manager on duty you get pulled in every direction. During my shift I have to fill shelves, get rid of any empty boxes, – more... help customers find product and handle all cashier issues.

I enjoy working with people who want to take pride in their work. Make the store look organized. The hardest part is most are there to just get a check. I take pride in my work, always strive to go the extra mile. It is a challenge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Assistant Store Manager Florida East (Current Employee), Orlando, FLJune 26, 2014
Very fasted paced work environment, all aspects of job functions are achievable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place, but results may vary
Store Clerk (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJune 25, 2014
Save-A-Lot is a good company to put your foot in the door to building a working career. Working here was very simple: follow directions and go out of your way to help customers feel happy shopping there, and you cannot go wrong. Working with my co-workers makes the 7 1/2 hours of standing in one spot worthwhile.

However, I do not agree with some company – more... policies regarding part-time workers, and the hours my particular store was doling out. There have been issues between co-workers and managers in the past. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Alot of work
Manager (Current Employee), MassachusettsJune 18, 2014
Pros: decent pay
Cons: no work home balance, always getting called or texts from upper management on your personal phone, have to use your own vehicle if supplies are needed from other stores
there is no home work balance, Store managers are required to work 50-60 hours so the Assistants do not go over 40, little to no help in the store to get the work done, a lot of paperwork and manager on duty is constantly called to the front for customer assistant or a void. or to ring the register. bonus program made to be almost impossible to reach, – more... if your piers are not doing there part in there stores then bonus is missed, it is a all of us or none of us type bonus program it seems. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prudctive day
Cashier (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYJune 16, 2014
Pros: non
Cons: non
a typical day would be me a cashier and helping customers find they food even pitching ideas of what the best brand to get for the cheapest prices , or even what to make for dinner .

1 2 3 4 5

About Save-A-Lot

Moran Foods (dba Save-A-Lot, Ltd.) is growing a lot because its customers don't have to pay a lot. The extreme-value grocery chain – Read more

Save-A-Lot Photos