Save Mart Supermarkets

Save Mart Supermarkets Employee Reviews

Found 318 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Roseville, CAMarch 15, 2017
Everyone walks in with a smile on their face. The majority of the individuals walk and talk to each other about sports and every day life events. There are televisions in the break room, vending machines, and ping pong tables.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace work
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Visalia, CAMarch 8, 2017
The job is fast pace and very challenging. The job can be stressful ay times and also is very rewarding. You get the chance to learn everyday and can advance in the company if you desire.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Selma, CAMarch 7, 2017
a great work environment, perfect employees that are easily to get along with, management that motivates and supports its employees, comfortable working place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people, bad work/life balance.
Night Crew (Former Employee) –  Carson City, NVFebruary 16, 2017
Working night crew, management wont let you leave until the job is complete. Make sure that you have a high tolerance of stress before working here.
Pros
Kind people
Cons
Bad work/life management, Passive-aggressive managers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience out of high school
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Rocklin, CAFebruary 2, 2017
Acted as a good learning period for me right out of high school but there were many issues with the management and other employees that lead to a less than desirable work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job
Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVJanuary 31, 2017
I worked there a year ago and I know they have made several changes over the year, with closing and opening new stores and acquiring employees from the stores that were closing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a good job
Head Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJanuary 27, 2017
company is shrinking thus not much opportunity to advance. Was an ok college job. Every union contract that comes up, they take more pay and benefits away. Hours are all over the place.
Pros
decent pay if u have been there long enough
Cons
less pay and benefits than there used to be
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Service
Service Specialist/Meat Cutter (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaJanuary 25, 2017
The organization of the store was professional and great. I learned to be work as a team and connect with people of all types of ages. I learned how to work as an efficient store clerk.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
savemart store
Service Specialist, multi clerk (Former Employee) –  Sacramento, CAJanuary 19, 2017
its the best store and friendliest employees that i have work. the supervisor is a good and fun person to be with and all the employees is all loving.
Pros
break and lunch
Cons
pushing carts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team Mates
IT Systems Administrator, Windows Server Support (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAJanuary 18, 2017
A typical day you would find that some managers were quite present and gave you good feedback. Other times when asking for more things to do all you got was a smirk.
Pros
Good Benefits
Cons
Terrible Managers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard physical work, Variable weekly work schedule
Grocery Clerk- Lead Frozen Dept (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CAJanuary 6, 2017
Tough, demanding, physical, time sensitive
Management changes every 6 months to 1 year
Co-worker leads good, others come and go or don't care
Low wages even if you join union
Physical labor without proper tools
Customer interaction nice
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard work
Order Selector (Former Employee) –  Vacaville, CADecember 28, 2016
Hard fast paced work environment. Ten to twelve hour shifts four days a week. Safety was a major issue tons of injuries lots of people out of work due to surgery or medical leave due to working conditions
Pros
Great medical
Cons
Very hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a grocery store
Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Sparks, NVDecember 27, 2016
This was my first job with a pay-check. It was fine, but not without the typical retail downsides. No surprises here. Sweep, greet, get paid pennies. !
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Grocery Clerk (Former Employee) –  Manteca, CADecember 21, 2016
Fun, productive workplace. Busy with multitasking and meeting requirements with customer service. Wanted more room to advance. Overall the company was satisfying,
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people and environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Delano, CADecember 17, 2016
Good working system just some management needs to be more effective. Worried different areas. Customer service is a must.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun work place very nice co-workers.
Service Clerk (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CADecember 10, 2016
I would come in and was a service clerk,as well as cart hour and sweep and mop. I also took out the trash and kept the registers clean. When i had a closing shift we did go backs.
Pros
Long lunches
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers are great. Managment is poor and high turnover
Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVDecember 5, 2016
I loved my job. I loved my customers. I can't say the same for the management. Very low moral and poor pay. Lunches are long so that's nice but for the treatment of employees and poor pay it was not worth my time other than gaining experience in retail.
Pros
1 hour lunch break
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employees and work environment
Multi-Purpose Clerk (Current Employee) –  Stockton, CA 95207November 22, 2016
This is a good place for individuals in gaining work experience. The training and staff are very friendly. This place gives good working hours but is not consistent with hours.
Pros
Good hours
Cons
No set schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work enviornment
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Riverbank, CANovember 2, 2016
Working with save mart was a fun time. They are very customer mindful. Work was just that work. The management team was awesome. The hardest part of the job was the nighty clean up. The best part was dealing with the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job great experience
Assistant Manager/Bakery (Former Employee) –  Modesto, CAOctober 25, 2016
I started at Save mart when I was 17 yrs. My first job to legally work. Started as a bagger and is the place I was taught customer service. A year later got promoted to cashier. Then moved to night crew cashier. Milk box was my next move as I ran the Dairy department. I eventually ended up becoming the Barkery Manager that is where I learned management skills. I have kepted that training til now.
Pros
BBQ lunches made by the Store Manager
Cons
Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Save Mart Supermarkets. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 322 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6