Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

Found 823 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy and fairly decent job but very poor management
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Bristol, CTJune 24, 2017
Job itself was very simple and quick to learn. Got along well with fellow co workers and good benefits, including a 50% employee discount. Only complaint was poor and sometimes non existent management. Often no communication between managers, as 2 managers would give the same employee 2 separate tasks that were impossible to complete at the same time. Different employees were treated and held to different standards based on manager's personal preference. Despite several attempts to push for my completion, managers took no effort to set up my video training that was required by corporate. Specific managers were also disrespectful and downright insulting to employees.
Pros
50% employee discount, good hours
Cons
Terrible treatment from management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insanity on sales days
Store Manager Trainee/Front End Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMJune 22, 2017
The Store Manager who trained me was amazing. The store I got placed in, not so much. A lot of problems with external theft, and employees talking trash about eachother. Internally, it was like high school all over again. The company itself, does great things for the community and I still believe in what they are trying to achieve. But at store level, its another story. The police were at our store nightly (literally) for all the theft and drug use in our parking lot. I requested security on many occasions, but was told that it wasn't in the budget. But apparently, the staffs safety wasn't paramount.
Pros
Helping the community, less fortunate and homeless
Cons
internal management at store level needs to be addressed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough people to do the job
FRONT END SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Tukwila, WAJune 20, 2017
Some customers are nice but most don't treat it like a regular store. Leaving clothes in the fitting rooms turned inside out, throwing shoes on the floor, opening packages, filling carts full and only purchasing a few items. Employees are usually nice but overworked because other employees won't show up consistently to work. Sale days are crazy but employees get a discount everyday. Company itself is organized in how they process the donated items and they do a lot to recycle.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Job Is Okay But Not A Career
Warehouse Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Wheaton, MDJune 19, 2017
I like this job but i feel as they don't give enough hours. They managers was very nice but I really wanted to move up in the job but opportunity wasn't present it how I wanted it.
Pros
Around holiday times a lot of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun productive place to work
Recycle/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  West Springfield, MAJune 19, 2017
worked for 4 years and quit because false accusation...place people and energy was fun but management could not get it right. wish i could get my position back
Pros
teamwork
Cons
management was unstable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, friendly coworkers.
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Carol Stream, ILJune 18, 2017
The work environment is a very friendly one. Everyone is welcoming and very team oriented. Management is very attentive to employees concerns and needs. Management is also open to moving people up in the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and FunWork Place with Some Co workers
Warehouse Organizer (Former Employee) –  Saugus, MAJune 17, 2017
If i could , i Would go back and work with savers . Time to Put a second application . I enjoyed a day of work because i was able to maintain a clean workspace ad work to my full potential even when it was clustered in the back warehouse area of the store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company to work for
Designated Cashier (Current Employee) –  Mesa, AZJune 17, 2017
Savers has always been one of my favorite jobs. It has a great workplace atmosphere with friendly teammates, and the store itself always has something interesting inside. The hardest part about the job can be the customers though, so great customer service skills are highly recommended.
Pros
Friendly environment, great discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice low stress job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJune 13, 2017
It was a nice place to work. The other employees were always friendly. The customer were also great. And it was a well clea and well organized store with decent management.
Pros
Relaxed low stress environment
Cons
I'm not sure I had a nice time working there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Liberty, MOJune 10, 2017
Savers has a nickname....it is called "Slavers" by many associates who work there because of the amount of work expected combined with the pay rate. The location where I worked was in a state where the minimum wage was 7.35 an hour and everybody there who was not management made 7.75 an hour. We all worked as though we were in the construction industry in somewhat similar environmental conditions. I would not recommend this kind of job for anyone except young people who are just getting out into the workforce and attempting to build a resume.
Pros
Met my wife here
Cons
Pay, work conditions, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work, low pay, harsh management
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Bristol, CTJune 9, 2017
You will work hard for your money, and not get very much at all. Depending on your position, you will be expected to sort through 2 to 6 thousand pounds of donations every day. You will be exposed to dead animals, trash, filthy clothing and products, broken glass, and every other thing that people have thrown away (donated). And if you should be injured on the job, expect a miserable time filing a workman's comp claim-- they will fight you every step of the way. The work environment is harsh-- you are exposed to the outside temperature most of the time because they keep the loading doors open for deliveries. If you can put up with this, you can work here while you look for a better job-- they have a very high turnover rate, so they won't be surprised when you leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disorganized and inconsistent
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHJune 8, 2017
I worked at Savers for 7 months and didn't realize until later just how bad it was. It was my first job, and the management was very disorganized. Some managers were on top of everything, and others didn't communicate whatsoever.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible/god awful work place
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Fort Smith, ARJune 5, 2017
Management is looking for nothing but another penny. They don't care about their employees and they are worked like dogs. Petty write ups and unorganized, unethical, rude, and ignorant people that run this place. Do NOT APPLY HERE. Run the other direction. No room for advancement in this company what so ever. You will be drug by the hair on your head and then some. Run!!
Pros
Occasional free lunch
Cons
Pay, work environment, unreasonable goals, unorganized, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high intensity environemnt
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Downers Grove, ILJune 4, 2017
typical day here would be meeting the goal of the day sorting through a certain amount of pallets of clothes choosing which clothes can go out onto the floor.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and good job
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  North Attleboro, MAJune 3, 2017
My manager is a year older than i am and shes laid back and awesome. The managers are like our friends. You get nice benefits and discounts. If you work in the back, you get 40 hours a week with breaks, so you work a full 8 hours a day. I like the work i do and the staff is nice. You get to see what comes in and i enjoy that. The issues i have is working saturdays and the pay. They dont rush you or bug you, but for the hard work we do, we deserve more. The dress code is laid back and comfy. My manager allows us to hold our cell phones on us and listen to our ipods if we want. You get one 30 min lunch break and two 15 min breaks. If i ever need saturdays off, which is often, my manager allows me to work mondays to make it up. I can even work overtime if there are hours. We also are always into safety, we take good care of each other. You can get free gloves, goggles or ear plugs.
The company is a good company. We recycle unused products to countries who need it!
Pros
Free lunch on sale days, benefits, dress code
Cons
Pay, schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
WorlPlace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Decatur, GAJune 2, 2017
Working at Value Village is very stressful, there was no job security there at all. Management didn't treat their employees with any respect so they would end up quitting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Logistics Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Ontario, CAJune 2, 2017
Manage drivers in 2 different locations. Dispatch and route them using logic to save time and miles when delivering. Being able to make changes on the go.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent work
Donation Processor (Former Employee) –  Portland, MEJune 1, 2017
 Took in donations from donors and packaged them into the storage pod
 Greeted customers and explained our affiliation with Savers and what we do
 Heavy lifting bringing boxes and bags of donations to the truck for transportation to Savers in NH

Learned time-management skills, taking inventory, being productive when working alone, and communication with customers.

Management was located in NH which was an hour and a half away so that was a little inconvenient sometimes.

Hardest part of the job was finding productive things to do when waiting for donators. 3 hours could go by without a single donation.
Most enjoyable part of the job was being a part of the reduce, reuse and recycle process. I appreciated all of my customers and enjoyed working independently.
Pros
Independent work, easy, unpredictable, calm environment, customer relations & regulars, nice to sit outside on a sunny day
Cons
requires a lot of patience, self motivation, and possibly sitting outside under any weather conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and customers always come first.
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Toledo, OHMay 31, 2017
Working there gave me responsibility and helped me come out of my shell. You have to work hard to keep the floor clean. But at the same time , you have to run the register and you also have customers asking you questions which at times can be difficult to answer. The supervisors are there to help you and if you have any problems with customers, call them over to handle it.
Pros
Vending machines
Cons
Working with clothes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Uneasy About Future
Production Manager (Current Employee) –  Orland Park, ILMay 31, 2017
With most of Chicagoland market closing, Savers does not seem to communicate well as far as company direction. This leaves in-store management feeling uneasy and in the dark of any additional growth or knowing employment has longevity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Savers/Value Village. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,559 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3