Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews in United States

Found 501 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Atmosphere
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Taylorsville, UTMarch 15, 2016
For the most part I love my job here. You just need to make sure that you understand you will be on your feet for hours and that it is a physically demanding job. I have learned a lot about how to help customers and it had expanded my problem solving skills. My co-workers are all amazing and awesome for the most part. There is a rather high turn over rate at times. The hardest thing is being on my feet all of the time and not getting to sit down. My favorite part is being able to work with my co-workers happily and to be able to help the customers.
Pros
Advancement, breaks, benefits, bonuses.
Cons
Physically demanding, some difficult customers, can be hard to work with some co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Tonawanda, NYJanuary 23, 2016
The management has taken every opportunity to mess around with my schedule even though I was guaranteed a "set" schedule. They wouldnt give me one day off for a very important doctors appointment. Im a small girl and in my position we move a lot of furniture. I can fully perform my job with some help depending how big the furniture is. BUT 90% of the time I am scheduled by myself and when I need help the most all the rest of the employees are on lunch break. There is usually no one to cover my breaks so sometimes I dont get any. Also, I work in a back garage and a lot of sketchy people come through and make donations. I am not allowed to keep my phone on me and it is a very unsettling feeling. I do not use my phone at work, I would just like to have it on me for emergency purposes because I am pretty much cut off from everyone else back there. I already got written up for having it on me and I wasnt even using it. It was just in my pocket.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
No set schedule, work by yourself, unorganized management
Was this review helpful?Yes9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Needs improvement
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTJanuary 31, 2016
There is no room for moving ahead. When complaints were brought up by employees to management that affected the productivity and the sales of the store,they were ignored.

The pay is low for the work they required on a daily basis. I was told as I was being hired to apply for different healthcare because the one offered through my employment was not good.

Great job for a first time job. But would not recommend if you are looking to support yourself.
Pros
Discounts on items
Cons
Low pay, bad benefits, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to make a career. No Integrity.
Manager (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 21, 2016
Not a fun place to work and or make a career of it. They do not treat team members fairly. To be a store manager you have to wait almost 2 year and then it all depends who you know that would get you there.
Working with incompetent production managers and store managers that the only thing going for them is their title.you will work hard with no rewards. Pay is not great. Pay increases are not based on your performance but on how much they like you.
Don't take my word for it, find out for your self.
Pros
A source of income.
Cons
inexperience upper level management.
Was this review helpful?Yes22No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent benefits and pay
Stock Clerk (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZDecember 29, 2015
Many opportunities for working independently and as a team in Production. Excellent amount of benefits, bonuses, merchandise 50% off and great pay with regular reviews with potential pay raises.
Pros
Bonuses, pay
Cons
Not a lot of time off
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate/ company is out of touch with 21st century.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Taylorsville, UTJuly 28, 2015
Need better card processing machines... would cut down on paperwork/ time spent/ errors.
unpredictable hours late at night in a bad area. if the store closes at 9, employees should know wether or not they'll be getting home before 10:30 or midnight every night.
No raises until you've been there a YEAR is pathetic!
only allowing for 4 mistakes (no matter how long they've worked there) before firing an employee. UGH. Not fair to cashiers, especially.
Pros
great co- workers and managers. Employee discount. Some of the customers. recycling, provding gently used items to customers at a good price.
Cons
out-dated proceedures & card processing equipment, Unrealistic expectations, benefits sucked.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
CDC Ambassador (Current Employee) –  Saint Charles, MOApril 2, 2016
I start my day off with recycling old items from the shelves. I would then price all the items that needed to be priced in the Community Donation Center. As the the store opened, I would take donations curbside and let donors know how much Big Brothers and Big Sisters appreciated their donation. I learned how to price merchandise, how Big Brothers and Big Sisters benefited from Savers, and how to weigh carts when they are done. Management is always quick to fix any issues and genuinely cared for their staff. The staff is always friendly and I can go to any of them for help. The hardest part of my job is removing and placing 75lb boxes up on a 2 tier set of rafters. The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to spend time with my family on the weekends.
Pros
weekends off, insurance after 3 months, recycling organization that gives back
Cons
Never off at scheduled time, understaffed, high turnover, poor communication
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Concept, lousy execution
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Liberty, MOJuly 14, 2016
I was hired for the Grand Opening of the store in Liberty, Missouri. I was very excited and had a very high regard for both the company and what it stood for. The people were great, the managers were great. But after the GO buzz wore off, I realized that the management of Savers is a conglomerate of chickens with their heads chopped off. Managers are more interested in numbers and their own advancement than the actual work getting done, and the HR department is less than adequate at holding them responsible. If you have a complaint, it's because you're not doing your job right.

As with any job, there are good days and bad days, but I truly felt like at Savers my quality of life was diminished for having worked there.
Pros
easy work
Cons
frustrating company policies and mistreatment of employees
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is corrupt
Operations/production (Former Employee) –  Avondale, AZAugust 16, 2016
I hate this company with my entire being. I was injured for 5 months from a work related incident and I told my managers every single day for 5 months that I was hurt and I was not allowed to move positions and I got laughed in my face on numerous occasions. When I called HR to report my management I was called a liar and my store manager was defended. I spent every day there stressed out and over worked. I was written up for things I did not do and forced to sign the paper work. I was supposedly going to be promoted but was put on the back burner. I increased sales in my department 121%, my coworkerd asked me for help instead of my managers, customers came in just to see me but none of this was enough. Do not work here.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Job, awful managers.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicopee, MAAugust 18, 2016
Sure, it's an easy job. All you're doing is maintaining a store. But get ready to work a job where if they told you you're closing at 9pm, but you're gonna be closing at 10pm from Spring - summer. Managers don't even know how to communicate with their employees or each other for that matter. The customers are nice but always leaving messes in the most inconvenient places. And good luck trying to work your way up to management, cause you got like 9 people ahead of you for that promotion and you won't even be considered if you're not suckling up to the incompetent bosses.
Pros
Money, Easy Job, Employee Discount
Cons
Incompetent Managers, emotional managers, sloppy stores, miscommunication, sloppy customers, doesn't follow certain policies
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed working with the company, it was my pleasure to work with unique individuals.
hard goods (Current Employee) –  chicago ilJune 21, 2016
Working here I learned about building as a team to accomplish team goals. Qn a daily basis i performed a series of duties such as cleaning the sales floor putting out murchandise as well as preparing it to go out for display.I would also price merchandise . The hardest part of the job was having to work with some people who where not as determined or driven as i to get the job done. Management was very professional and determined to help when it came to reaching our daily and weekly goal. the most enjoyable part was doing something i was really good at and getting to know some of the most amazing people i have ever met.
Pros
vacation, float day, working tuesday-saturday
Cons
no over time opprotunity, no holiday pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard place to work due to other employees
Operations Team Member (Current Employee) –  Redwood City, CAJuly 6, 2016
A typical day at work for me would be overly tired.
What I learn at work is that each Employee have their own work ethic. Some do their job and some do their job and some.
Management at my work place needs a little work, if it was up to me all employees will be supervised to make sure all employees are doing what they are suppose to.
My coworkers are lazy and always complaining, me personally work means ACTUALLY working and not resting or feeling lazy.
The hardest part of my job is having to do it by myself because my coworkers are not doing their jobs.
The most enjoyable part of my job is getting my paycheck.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
very fast pace and tiring
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place to work
Payroll Manager (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WANovember 9, 2015
If you are looking at growing your career, lots of room for advancement here.Parking is limited at the home office, benefits are just ok.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, it was a good experience.
Store Team Member (Former Employee) –  Naperville, ILAugust 25, 2016
A typical day for me would include cleaning, stocking and rearranging merchandise on and off of the floor and shelves. I enjoyed my coworkers a lot.The hardest part of this job was stocking for eight hours on my feet.The most enjoyable part about the job I had was knowing I worked for a company that raised money for The Epilepsy Foundation; that hit's home for me. Also, I like that on my days off I could come and shop for antiques with my employee discount. It wasn't much, but it was still nice.
Pros
working for a company that raised money for The Epilepsy Foundation
Cons
stocking on my feet for eight hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People and Fun work Environment
Production Team Member (Former Employee) –  Liberty, MOMay 26, 2016
I would clock in, already knowing what I needed to get done and had a goal to reach by the end of the day. I learned many things and also new ways to go about things I have already learned. I enjoyed working with all my co-workers and it became a family. I would have to say the hardest part of the job was meeting the goal some days because I did not have a co-worker to help and the management even knew that it was not possible to meet with one person. The most enjoyable part of the job was cross training and being able to know that we all could do each others job if needed. It was nice to do something different each day.
Pros
Hours of Operation
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing to really say.
Sales Associate/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXAugust 23, 2016
Everyday you have to receive donations for candle lighters. You have to clean up after dirty people. keep your areas clean. I learned how to work as more than one person, because the work balance was unfair. Management was o.k but they were very rude in how they managed their employees and their situations. Hardest part is constantly having to clean up after the customers, especially the restrooms. most enjoyable part was seeing the many different types of customer and their stories.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
in order to recieve any benefits you must be "dying in order to call in"
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Experience
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 5, 2016
10 to 11 hour days for management, some days are fast paced some days are slow, my co-workers at my location are the best, last wednesdays of every month we have a half off everything sale which can be a very fast paced enviroment. Your dealing with the worst kind of customers, majority of there stores are in the ghettos of Atlanta, and the district manager spends most of his days junking your email up rather than actually talking to you, like many other companies he has his favorites. To sum it all up its a job.
Pros
First dibs on cool donations
Cons
no raises no 401k no bonuses unless your the GM
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place for the strange!
Production Team Member (Former Employee) –  Salem, ORJuly 26, 2016
Production starts with a clean store which includes floors, dusting, and organizing the floor. Once the store is clean and the doors are open that's when the fun began. In the production room at The Village you find some of the coolest and strangest people you'll ever meet and the things you find while sorting through the donations that people drop off, its amazing what we buy and give away. In the almost 5 years I worked there I was trained in almost every department. I learned tons of stuff that can only be used in that type of work. I can price out a garage sale in no time. It was steady work full time at minimum wage or just above it the whole time I worked there. So to say income was my only complaint would not be false. I loved my managers and supervisors they were very quick to settle any issues. Just like every work place there is drama now and then. When all is said and done even with the low wages I would go back a million times you can't beat the strange mix of people that you find in the back room at your local Value Village!!
Pros
Awesome Coworkers and managment
Cons
low wages
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect first job for hands on experience
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Lynnwood, WAJune 12, 2016
Value Village was a job I adapted to quickly. I picked up new tasks right away, and became a productive team member. My daily duties could vary, but on a typical day I was organizing the fitting room and the front of the store, greeting and helping customers, and cashiering or helping out at the jewelry counter. I was often very busy, doing multiple tasks at a time. Fitting rooms were especially busy, I had to keep up on the racks, and keep the area clear at all times.
Pros
good amount of breaks, extra hours, always something to do.
Cons
Cold and dirty break room, bad schedule planning.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and organized workplace
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Riverside, CAJuly 7, 2016
constant costumer service, cleaning the floor, talking to costumers.
i've learned to talk in a louder voice for the costumers, better myself at multitasking, and better my costumer service.
The managment is great always on top of everything.
My co workers are easy to get along with and work with.
The job doesnt really have any hard situations. simple cashiering and costumer service.
the most enjoyable part of my job is talking to outgoing costumers that make my day and organizing the floor.
Pros
free lunches on sale days, great vibes
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 1,030 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3