Savers/Value Village

766 reviews

Savers/Value Village Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slave drivers
Production associate (Former Employee), Nashua, NHAugust 28, 2015
slave drivers, dont care about their employees. when injured they throw them under the bus. even when you try to do your best. they dont care. you are just a machine to them, and if you break down they get rid of you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work space very quiet
QA Tester. (Former Employee), Tukwila,WAAugust 27, 2015
Pros: Free donuts every Friday, and Catered food once a month.
Cons: very quiet, a lot of people keep to themselves.
Great place to work although management was lacking stability, poor judgement's were made by the management team.

All in all, the company was a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Sales Clerk (Former Employee), Overland ParkAugust 19, 2015
Pros: great envorment
Cons: scheduling isnt great
Very fun.The people are great to work with. Both parts of the store have great management. You clock in and you sweep the floor for clothes and toys and empty carts. run racks if there are any or you bid into the cash register. you go on your breaks when they tell you. if you work the night shift you don't leave till 10
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Savers
Recycler (Current Employee), Tempe, AzAugust 18, 2015
rotating schedules are hard to plan around. cant accept any opportunities because of the hours, and I miss out on things because im always at savers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depressing, Draining, and Sadistic.
ALL (Current Employee), Arlington Heights, ILAugust 11, 2015
The only reason I gave it 2/5 on the overall rating was because I know some good and hard working people who are stuck there with no chance to move up.
Bottom line is that this company will hire just – more... about any one. So what is it? A job, that's it, nothing else, not a career, not a friend, not a place that cares about you being dedicated. Owner of the store purposefully has started setting up only the pretty girls with higher pay positions. Yes work there if you absolutely cannot find or qualify somewhere else, but I doubt there isn't another more humane and reasonable company that will hire just about anyone.
I'm dead set on achieving my goals and chasing my dreams. Savers in my opinion is just another speed bump and another part of this nations immoral decay that is slowly killing us and our planet. I will not support it.

Free Lunches - lol.
Healthcare - lol.
Injured on Job - To Bad :( – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting job that never gets old
Cashier/Sales Associate (Current Employee), Danvers, MAAugust 6, 2015
Pros: breaks, nice customers, cross training, halloween
Cons: hours, management, miscommunication
Somedays i wouldn't get out til 11:30, somedays i would get out by 10:10. Management was a bit off, i started working when managers were leaving and switching. My coworkers are very nice, and personable. – more... The hardest part of my job was never knowing when i would leave, you can never really tell. The most enjoyable part of my job was talking to the customers. The customers at savers are honestly one of a kind, and i wouldn't trade them for the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The management DEMANDED Overtime everyday. I was Hired to work 7:30am-4pm Tuesday-Saturday
Sorter (Former Employee), Tonawanda NYAugust 5, 2015
Pros: Hour Lunch
Cons: Harassed by Management, Hours were NOT what I was Hired for
the worst place i EVER worked. Management had their Favorite employees didnt matter how many time they came in late or not at all. When shift was over management Harassed you when you went to clock out saying YOU HAD TO STAY AND WORK. This went on the whole time i worked there. The store opened july 2014.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
standard/nostandard
Pawn (Former Employee), Berkeley, CAJuly 29, 2015
Pros: Discounts
Cons: scheduling, pay
The work ethic from management and DM is horrible. The job itself is easy, its just made hard. There is no right way just what they decide for the day. They say go by standard... but there is no standard. For people who just want to work, its made way too difficult. I learned to keep my head down and turn a blind eye to makes your time go by easier. I really liked the idea of savers at first.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate/ company is out of touch with 21st century.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Taylorsville, UTJuly 28, 2015
Pros: great co- workers and managers. Employee discount. Some of the customers. recycling, provding gently used items to customers at a good price.
Cons: out-dated proceedures & card processing equipment, Unrealistic expectations, benefits sucked.
Need better card processing machines... would cut down on paperwork/ time spent/ errors.
unpredictable hours late at night in a bad area. if the store closes at 9, employees should know wether or not – more... they'll be getting home before 10:30 or midnight every night.
No raises until you've been there a YEAR is pathetic!
only allowing for 4 mistakes (no matter how long they've worked there) before firing an employee. UGH. Not fair to cashiers, especially. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail job, not a good enviroment for advancement.
Sales Clerk (Current Employee), Las Cruces, NMJuly 24, 2015
The fact that is corporation works with charities is commendable and made it worth my time to work there. However, if it had not been for that fact, I would have to say that I would not work in this store – more... again. There is a lot of favortism and trash talking from the MANAGERS. Not from the other minimum wage coworkers but the managers. Only those who constantly brown-nosed the higher up management, were considered for job advancement, while others who were favorite's, were constantly late and were never written up for it. Others have had missing money from their drawers numerous times and have not been repramanded for it. Then there are workers who constantly do their best job and are never rewarded or even noticed.

As far as the work goes, it was just like any other retail job: pick up after customers, take charge of a cash register, be responsible for one specific area of the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Savers
recycler (Current Employee), tempe, azJuly 24, 2015
i like the job, but rotating schedules are not for me. its not enough production recycler's also, i just need a closer job, due to transportaion, savers is 2 far of a commute for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
APPRECIATE THE OPPURTUNITY
PRODUCTION ROOM. SORTER (Current Employee), Toledo, OHJuly 21, 2015
Pros: GAVE ME A JOB, COWORKERS, THEY ARE SUPPORTIVE OF LIFE HAPPENINGS
Cons: PAY
I GREATLY APPRECIATE THIS COMPANY, I LOVE MY COWORKERS. THE ONLY NEGATIVE IS RATE OF PAY, VERY HARD TO MAKE A LIVING. THEY HAVE TAUGHT ME TO WORK OUT IN WORKFORCE, SUPPORTED ME THOUGH MEDICAL ISSUES. GOOD PEOPLE AT MY LOCATION ONLY PROBLEM IS PAY RATE
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No fun
Sanitation Supervisor (Former Employee), Toledo, OHJuly 20, 2015
Pros: none
Cons: i just hate that place
I hated this job they treat people and employees like slaves and are too nosey I had bosses who stalked me all over the place and there is way to much favoritism
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced,and challenging
Warehouse Operatioins (Current Employee), Draper, UTJuly 16, 2015
Pros: Full time hours
Cons: Raises
This is a job for the person who just want a regular job that goes no where, but they do promote from within , but it comes with a big responsibility to follow procol.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grimey, lots of unhappy workers
Cashier, Salesmen (Former Employee), Burien WashingtonJuly 12, 2015
Pros: close to me
Cons: no beneifts
Everyone was so focused on themselves they wouldn't look out for their team members and that is frustrating.
The managers tried to be as helpful as possible for the majority of the time but they had very loose tounges about superiors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but stressful
Customer Service Representative/ Sales Clerk (Current Employee), Las Vegas, NVJuly 3, 2015
Pros: Customers
Cons: No benefits, lack of hours
Typical day consists of me checking what my task would be, bidding into a register in case of back up or being the main cashier for that day and doing what is expected of me and beyond. I learned that – more... having time management and being quality focused is key in the retail department. Management is usually fair with small mistakes but sometimes not so much. My co-workers are great. Most of them do what they need to do so the whole team is not held up by the end of the night. Id have to say that the hardest part about my job is dealing with stubborn and rude customers. Ive had customers try to get discounts with coupons they never had, just plain out mean people trying to make everyone elses day terrible. Ive learned how to deal with the hard customers accordingly and keeping my cool. The most enjoyable part about my job is the customers. Its good and bad depending on the day. I usually have nice and respectful customers that treat the staff and everyone else well. Its really uplifting to see the "usual" customers come in just to say, "hello!" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and workplace fun with flipper game
Sorter (Former Employee), KansasJuly 2, 2015
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
Very good team work, the most enjoyable part of the job was working with coworkers. Learned sorting materials . working hours were very flexible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working environment
Material Handler (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJuly 2, 2015
Everybody was really for themselves when it came to this job. Very fast paced , strictly labor. Have to be physically & emotionally ready .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
steady workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Forest Park, GAJuly 1, 2015
Working here was fairly ok. they all handling things in a organized manner but sometimes it seemed as if some of the managers were slightly confused
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Production worker (Former Employee), Parkville MDJune 30, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Low hourly wage and short breaks
I worked at the Savers in Parkville MD for two miserable months making 7.80 in the production dept. I took the job because I was desperate and was laid off from my previous job a couple months back. I – more... worked there in 2013. They work you very hard for that little bit of pay. The management is horrible and took a very long time to give me my last check. I'm happy to report I work for another company now making literally double the pay. I wouldn't recommend anyone to work there. You can do better! – less
Claim this company page
Headquarters
Bellevue Washington, United States
Industry
    Links
    Savers/Value Village website