Find companies:
SBC
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
113 reviews

SBC Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative learning enviroment
Manager/Supervisor (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJanuary 12, 2015
Pros: benefits
Good place to work and grow with a company. Recession and down sizing was my reason for early retirement.

I had no on the job accident while working for SBC. I was a very dependable manager and employee during my stay. I received top team member award several years while employed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced fun selling environment
SERVICE EXECUTIVE, AT&T GLOBAL MARKETS (Former Employee), San Jose, CADecember 3, 2014
Seeing and selling telecommunications products to a base of customers.

People skills

Teamed with supportive co-workers.

Hardest part was not closing a sale.

The most enjoyable was meeting my sales quota for the week.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced Sales Environment
Media Consultant (Current Employee), Hartford, CTDecember 2, 2014
Pros: great customers and co-workers
Cons: poor compensation, benefits and management
This Company has been changing rapidly in the last few years. I enjoy working wtih my customers and have grown and maintained a rapport with them throughout my time with the Company. My co-workers are friendly, supportive and we truly work as a team. They make this job enjoyable.

Unfortunately this company is terribly mis-managed. It has only gotten worse in the past 2 years. Many jobs were outsourced overseas within recent years and those who are left are looking to leave as quickly as possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always Traveling
Crew Lead Foreman (Former Employee), Louisville, KYNovember 21, 2014
This company did not have enough work to support its employees. They also hired people without experience, which put more pressure on the people to train the others without compensation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
telecommunications
Operator (Former Employee), Detroit, MINovember 5, 2014
gave accurate directory assistance service, answered telephones
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
White Pages Directory Technical Associate/Clerical (Former Employee), Detroit, MIOctober 26, 2014
Pros: excellent benefits
Cons: work stoppage for union contract
A typical day at work was busy and productive. Management was clear in directions and procedures. Co-workers worked as a team. The hardest part of the job was the required overtime. The most enjoyable part of the job was learning new procedures
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible professional work environment
Analyst/Computer Programmer (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 18, 2014
Pros: great experience with great office culture
Cons: outsourcing of programming jobs
Wrote programs from specifications, edited and updated failed programs, helpdesk functions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you like to talk great job
Call Center Representative (Former Employee), Saint Louis, MOOctober 18, 2014
Pros: pay
talking on the phone all day in a office is not my thing, but if you like the phone great job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SBC is now AT&T
Senior Technical Architect (Former Employee), San Diego, CAOctober 13, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: burn-out
AT&T is a company that pays well and has good benefits. Decades of downsizing has made it a place where some workers are now trying to cover the workload of many and burn-out is a reality.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stable environment
Customer Service Rep (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INSeptember 11, 2014
This company has excellent benefits, also good company to work for especially if your looking for long term employment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Sales Planning Manager -Enterprise Sales (Former Employee), Los Angeles, CaAugust 28, 2014
Pros: great for self starters
Cons: industry consolidation impacting job security
Reviewed sales results, developed sales promotions and sales tracking tools, management is approachable and open to out of the box ideas. The hardest part was staying impartial when dealing with personnel issues. The most enjoyable part was in helping the branch exceeds it annual goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Telephone Operator (Former Employee), Amarillo, TXAugust 1, 2014
Pros: great place to work
Cons: healthcare
I enjoyed working for SBC and was really upset when they closed office. Everyday there was different you always learned somthing new . I liked everyone that I worked with . They were amazing and I am still in touch with alot of them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Sales (Former Employee), Gastonia, NCJuly 31, 2014
Pros: working when you wanted
Cons: being alone
I worked on line posting ads for the company and helping those with weight loss issues or diet plans.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Network Operations Manager (Former Employee), Brecksville, OHJuly 24, 2014
Learned extensive management and communication skills.
Excellent benefits
Enjoyable work environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Now known as AT&T
Network Operations Manager (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJune 25, 2014
Pros: now known as at&t
Cons: now known as at&t
Now known as AT&T. Numbers culture. It can be stressful and rewarding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Communication Specialist (Former Employee), Detroit, MIJune 12, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule
Cons: working with pacific area of us.
Daily accept and review new applications for consumers. Contact main office for adjuster approval. Send out communications for consumers review. Answering inbound and outbound calls for confrimations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The good old days
Directory Assistance Operator (Former Employee), Culver City, CAMay 22, 2014
Pros: excellent pay and benefits
Cons: down sizing, buy outs
This was a very fast paced job. I would receive over 1500 calls a day for residential and business customers requesting phone number and address.The hardest part of the job was keeping calls under 20 seconds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a fast pace job consisting of over 2500 calls a day
Sales Representative (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 2, 2014
My day would start with calls from 5 states and end with calls from 5 states . I handled requests from setting up new service to cellular service as far as satelite service for homes. My management team there was extreemly helpful in coaching on new products and procedures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay
Network Deployment Technician (Former Employee), Stratford, CTApril 4, 2014
Loved the pay and benefits . Work was a different adventure everyday . great people to work with .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained extensive management and supervisory sklls.
Manager- Real Estate Field Support (Former Employee), San Ramon, CAMarch 11, 2014
Working at SBC was a great period of employment for me. I utilized my accounting and customer service skills and developed more extensive management and supervisory skills.

I would probably still be at SBC but my depatment was outsourced to Texas.

1 2 3 4 5

About SBC

SBC Communications Inc. is a Fortune 50 company whose subsidiaries, operating under the SBC brand, provide a full range of voice, – Read more